Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Mexican Lime & Bean Soup Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Mexican Lime & Bean Soup

    Average Rating:

    7 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-7 of 7

    Sort by:

    • on August 10, 2007

      A wonderful amazing soup. After tagging I found out our supermarket has stopped carrying corn tortillas, so I just used crumbled white-corn tortilla chips instead. Otherwise, I made it exactly as directed. There were only 3 of us and we made pigs of ourselves and ate the whole thing at one sitting. Definitely, this will be one of my regulars from now on!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 04, 2007

      This is outstanding! I knew I would like it because it has zucchini and garbanzo beans and lime. All the flavors are perfect together. Easy to follow recipe. I love the tip about dipping the tortillas in water before baking. They came out perfect. My family said this is a 5 star keeper. Thanks mikekey!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 20, 2011

      DH really enjoyed this but I really didn't care for it to much. It was easy to prepare and cooked up quick. I think I was expecting more Mexican flavors at the same time I thought it would have more heat. I did add some chopped cilantro during step 7. Thanks for posting. :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 04, 2010

      loved recipe. I used green onions as by mistake I purchased a bunch when I already had one. I used better than boullion and water rather than broth as it is so much easier to have on hand when I run out of broth. I used ginger, clove, cinnamon substitution for allspice. I loved having a tortilla soup that was quick to make. I have another that is good but since it takes time I have only made once. Not this one, It is quick so I can make it when I want. Watch the cooking on the tortillas you don't need to cook them as long as stated unless you like crispy burnt chips Update: I cooked additional tortillas probably 6 altogether. 450 4 minutes turn then 3 minutes. a couple were burned a few underdone but most were perfect.I like cips with each bite.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 24, 2010

      Easy and Good. I love lemon and lime but DBF is not a fan. This recipe worked perfect for us because I got to add as much as I like and he didn't add any. We both loved the flavor of "our" soup! I added some avocado and appreciate the greaseless method for making the tortilla strips. And one more great thing about this soup is that it comes together effortlessly. Thanks Mikekey!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 09, 2010

      LOVE THIS SOUP :) Made as written except I had to use pre-made tortilla chips and I used black beans instead of garbanzo beans as that was all I had in the pantry. Wonderful flavor with a bit of bite from the jalapenos and the lime shone through quite nicely. I also used Lime & Cilantro flavored Rotel tomatoes instead of plain and I think this added a bit more flavor. We loved this refreshingly different soup, and it will go into the keeper cookbook. Thanks mikekey ~ made for SOUP'S ON ~ JANUARY DIABETIC FORUM TAG, Janary 2010!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 24, 2008

      WONDERFUL! I LOVED everything about this soup! I made it as directed with pickled jalapenos. I think the garbanzo beans were a nice addition that went perfectly with it. Usually I would like cheese and sour cream on this type of soup but it was so flavorful that it didn't need any. Freddy Cat says thanks for the chicken! Made for the Photo tag game.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Mexican Lime & Bean Soup

    Serving Size: 1 (414 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 6

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 247.7
     
    Calories from Fat 73
    29%
    Total Fat 8.2 g
    12%
    Saturated Fat 1.9 g
    9%
    Cholesterol 30.9 mg
    10%
    Sodium 493.7 mg
    20%
    Total Carbohydrate 27.2 g
    9%
    Dietary Fiber 5.2 g
    21%
    Sugars 3.5 g
    14%
    Protein 18.3 g
    36%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    lime zest

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites