20 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

I didn't realize until now (after we finished eating) that this was a Kittencal recipe, but I'm not surprised! It was very very tasty and really easy to make.
I only had about 2 cups of chips, so I cut up some corn tortillas, sprayed them with olive oil and sprinkled kosher salt, then baked them at 400 for a few minutes - voila! chips! So I only ended up with 4 cups, but I think it was plenty.
I also reduced the sour cream by half, partly because of another reviewer's recommendation and partly because one of my son's doesn't care too much for it. The rest of us had some on the side to make up for it.
I had two small red peppers which I used in place of the green, and I didn't use the jalapenos. I used 1 cup of mild and 1 cup of medium salsa. I didn't have a green onion or a tomato in the house, and I didn't want to go out in the icy weather with 3 small kids, so I just left those out too.
We ate this with warm flour tortillas. Some of the kids wrapped it up like a burrito, and others used pieces to scoop up the casserole.
I will definitely be making this one again, probably for the super bowl next month!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
The Portugarians January 28, 2013

Hubby (a very finicky eater) had this on the second night of reheating and said "that was really awesome".

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Tohaveaplan2 June 02, 2009

Very good! I omitted the jalapeño and lo and behold my husband said it would have been perfect with jalapeños! Next time! The ingredients make ALOT of filling so unless your 9 x 13 pan is deep, I suggest using a larger pan. Having leftovers tonight. Yum!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
CarRod March 24, 2014

I look forward to making this soon with a few adaptations which I use with a similiar recipe. I am sure it is absolutely delicious as written, but, sigh, I have to save some calories. The adaptations I have in mind really have more to do with preference than function. I have used ground turkey and reduced fat sour cream and cheese with no difficulties. I use corn tortillas torn into bits instead of chips and refried beans (just because I like them). Maybe it is the cheese I use but I have decided that I cannot taste or detect the cheese when it is mixed in( it just kind or disappears) so I will experiment with putting it on top when I reheat a portion. I figure, that way, that I can taste and enjoy it more. As long as I'm indulging, I may as well as enjoy it! Also, since layering is more work for me, I just mix the ingredients together. Tastes good to me. Really just depends on your tastes and how you want the dish to look. Terrific recipe, very flexible and forgiving. Thanks for posting, Kitten!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
marion01 March 12, 2014

Very good. I made a half recipe of this hot dish. Instead of adding the chips we ate this on corn tortillas . I mixed everything together and topped it with shredded pepperjack cheese.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Posiespocketbook May 18, 2013

Fiesta time! Great recipe for that south-of-the-border occassion. I used sharp cheddar cheese and 1.5 pounds of beef. Super way to use up those end of the bag tortilla chip pieces. This recipe makes enough for a family meal. Thanks for sharing.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Aric Ross July 12, 2012

I thought the sour cream over-powered the dish. I think I will try it again and use the sour cream and salsa as condiments/toppings instead.

The beef/taco-seasoning/bean/pepper/onion/garlic mixture tasted great PRIOR to adding the sour cream and salsa. After adding the sour cream, it really diluted the great flavors that were developed.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
alkghayes_12496611 March 14, 2012

This was fantastic!! Its gotta be in my top 5 casseroles ever made. The whole fam devoured it. I did use an entire packet of taco seasoning(reduced sodium)and added a little extra sour cream.I can't wait to eat the leftovers! lol

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
taraluvsspicy82 November 10, 2011

Yummy casserole! I made half a recipe and I guess due to portioning I only had two layers of the meat mixture so the crushed tortilla chips and cheese were on top but it came out with a crispy nacho-ey topping that was delicious!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
zephanie April 06, 2010

OMG. This is the best. I have made it many times and it is always good. I use extra lean ground beef, Fat free or light sour cream, low fat tortilla chips, and low fat cheese. You would never know if you weren't told. My hubby hates low fat and he still doesn't know I make it this way. He loves it.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Hotcooking_21 July 26, 2009
Mexican Layered Beef and Bean Casserole