Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Mexican Layered Beef and Bean Casserole Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Mexican Layered Beef and Bean Casserole

    Average Rating:

    20 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 20

    Sort by:

    • on January 28, 2013

      I didn't realize until now (after we finished eating) that this was a Kittencal recipe, but I'm not surprised! It was very very tasty and really easy to make.
      I only had about 2 cups of chips, so I cut up some corn tortillas, sprayed them with olive oil and sprinkled kosher salt, then baked them at 400 for a few minutes - voila! chips! So I only ended up with 4 cups, but I think it was plenty.
      I also reduced the sour cream by half, partly because of another reviewer's recommendation and partly because one of my son's doesn't care too much for it. The rest of us had some on the side to make up for it.
      I had two small red peppers which I used in place of the green, and I didn't use the jalapenos. I used 1 cup of mild and 1 cup of medium salsa. I didn't have a green onion or a tomato in the house, and I didn't want to go out in the icy weather with 3 small kids, so I just left those out too.
      We ate this with warm flour tortillas. Some of the kids wrapped it up like a burrito, and others used pieces to scoop up the casserole.
      I will definitely be making this one again, probably for the super bowl next month!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 02, 2009

      Hubby (a very finicky eater) had this on the second night of reheating and said "that was really awesome".

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 24, 2014

      Very good! I omitted the jalapeño and lo and behold my husband said it would have been perfect with jalapeños! Next time! The ingredients make ALOT of filling so unless your 9 x 13 pan is deep, I suggest using a larger pan. Having leftovers tonight. Yum!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 12, 2014

      I look forward to making this soon with a few adaptations which I use with a similiar recipe. I am sure it is absolutely delicious as written, but, sigh, I have to save some calories. The adaptations I have in mind really have more to do with preference than function. I have used ground turkey and reduced fat sour cream and cheese with no difficulties. I use corn tortillas torn into bits instead of chips and refried beans (just because I like them). Maybe it is the cheese I use but I have decided that I cannot taste or detect the cheese when it is mixed in( it just kind or disappears) so I will experiment with putting it on top when I reheat a portion. I figure, that way, that I can taste and enjoy it more. As long as I'm indulging, I may as well as enjoy it! Also, since layering is more work for me, I just mix the ingredients together. Tastes good to me. Really just depends on your tastes and how you want the dish to look. Terrific recipe, very flexible and forgiving. Thanks for posting, Kitten!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 18, 2013

      Very good. I made a half recipe of this hot dish. Instead of adding the chips we ate this on corn tortillas . I mixed everything together and topped it with shredded pepperjack cheese.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 12, 2012

      Fiesta time! Great recipe for that south-of-the-border occassion. I used sharp cheddar cheese and 1.5 pounds of beef. Super way to use up those end of the bag tortilla chip pieces. This recipe makes enough for a family meal. Thanks for sharing.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 14, 2012

      I thought the sour cream over-powered the dish. I think I will try it again and use the sour cream and salsa as condiments/toppings instead.

      The beef/taco-seasoning/bean/pepper/onion/garlic mixture tasted great PRIOR to adding the sour cream and salsa. After adding the sour cream, it really diluted the great flavors that were developed.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 10, 2011

      This was fantastic!! Its gotta be in my top 5 casseroles ever made. The whole fam devoured it. I did use an entire packet of taco seasoning(reduced sodium)and added a little extra sour cream.I can't wait to eat the leftovers! lol

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 06, 2010

      Yummy casserole! I made half a recipe and I guess due to portioning I only had two layers of the meat mixture so the crushed tortilla chips and cheese were on top but it came out with a crispy nacho-ey topping that was delicious!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 26, 2009

      OMG. This is the best. I have made it many times and it is always good. I use extra lean ground beef, Fat free or light sour cream, low fat tortilla chips, and low fat cheese. You would never know if you weren't told. My hubby hates low fat and he still doesn't know I make it this way. He loves it.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 03, 2009

      Great Casserole! I made half a recipe and I did change two items, used spicy nacho tortilla chips and Awesome Pinto Beans for black beans. It has great flavors and is very filling.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 28, 2009

      Tried this recipe for my daughter's birthday party and it made a huge hit with my family!! I did not make any changes to the recipe and it turned out great. I wouldn't change a thing! To save some time I assembled it the night before and baked it the next morning for the lunch. Thanks so much for such a fantastic recipe!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 06, 2008

      This was great! I omitted the jalapeno and used mild salsa because I was serving this to kids who don't like spicy food. Even without the heat, we all loved it.I also used pinto beans instead of black beans. We had the sour cream, salsa, beans and corn in a mixing bowl waiting for the meat to finish, and we all thought it was a great dip! The kids had fun helping to layer the cheese and chips, which was a great way to get them involved with making dinner. The final product was beautiful, and tasted great. I'll definately make this again, and will likely use it as a go-to for potlucks! Thanks for posting!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 20, 2008

      entire dish gone in one serving! definite keeper.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 03, 2008

      My family loved this and only one small piece was left in the corner of the baking dish. DD came into the kitchen and said I was to rate this at 5 stars without me even asking! I used ground sirloin, omitted the jalapeno pepper for us, and had dark red kidney beans on hand so used those instead of black beans. DH bought the Frito's Scoops and they worked a lot better for crushing. Thank you sweets for a great recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 30, 2007

      Very easy to make and everyone loved it! Thanks so much! We will make it again!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 13, 2007

      Nice one, Kittencal....Next time I will add a bit more Salsa and Sour cream so that when it re-heats there is a bit more juice

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 24, 2007

      Loved this! It was very easy and SO delicious... we might make it a weekly recipe. Fed us for two meals.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 23, 2007

      Bravo!- Very easy to make, yummy and oh so filling. I'll definately make this again!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 10, 2007

      This is a great Mexican casserole. It makes a lot, but the leftovers were great for lunch or a quick snack. I used one jalapeno pepper and substituted 1 can of kidney beans for the black beans because that's all I had. I think 1 can of kidney beans was plenty, though! Another winner, Kitten!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Mexican Layered Beef and Bean Casserole

    Serving Size: 1 (440 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 6

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 932.4
     
    Calories from Fat 490
    52%
    Total Fat 54.5 g
    83%
    Saturated Fat 27.2 g
    136%
    Cholesterol 162.1 mg
    54%
    Sodium 1782.3 mg
    74%
    Total Carbohydrate 71.4 g
    23%
    Dietary Fiber 14.4 g
    57%
    Sugars 12.7 g
    50%
    Protein 45.1 g
    90%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes