Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Mexican Lasagna With Black Beans and Corn Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Mexican Lasagna With Black Beans and Corn

    Average Rating:

    35 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 35

    Sort by:

    • on April 09, 2010

      Tastes really good..... except for the flour tortillas! You have to use corn and lightly crisp them to hold up in the moisture of the dish. The flour ones turn into the texture of wet paper. I added cooked chicken to the mix and less sour cream and cheese.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 24, 2009

      Very good, pretty easy, and good for leftovers too! Amazing how the simple combination of 1 egg, sour cream, and mexican cheese makes a filling that seems like ricotta cheese. We used whole wheat tortillas and no-sodium black beans to make it a bit healthier. Next time will try it with black olives.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 09, 2011

      This is an awesome recipe. I did tweak it just a little though. I used corn tortillas instead of flour. Flour tortillas get too soggy for me. I also added a small can of dices green chilies for a little extra kick...amazing!! Then I added 1 lb of ground beef and cooked it as if I were making tacos..meaning...I used a taco seasoning packet to season the ground beef and then added it to the tomato sauce mixture. IT TURNED OUT FABULOUS!! This is not nearly as difficult as it may seem. We served it with Spanish rice and a small salad! Excellent idea for a weeknight meal for families! Enjoy!!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 17, 2009

      Followed directions and turned out great!! Kids loved and the boyfriend did too. Had tons of yummy leftovers.... OH! and make sure you use a large pan or place a cookie sheet underneath pan just in case it bubbles over, i was too excited to make this and forgot about the bubbling over!! whoops! ENJOY!!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 16, 2014

      I tried these last night and they were amazing. My husband who is a person who doesn't really like new foods, was into this recipe too. I made a couple changes to make them more to my diet and what we eat in my house. Instead of adding the spices, i used a taco seasoning package. I also substituted corn tortillas instead of flour ones. My husband can not eat sour cream, so instead of sour cream, I used non fat plain yogurt. I also added meat to mine, but this of course it optional.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 30, 2013

    • on December 26, 2010

      Sorry, but this was really runny. I'm not sure if I did something wrong. I did leave the egg out b/c I halved the recipe and I noticed that other people said that they left it out too. If I were to make it again, would probably add double the corn and black beans and possibly just leave out (or at least reduce) the sour cream. I only had one flour tortilla, so used corn for the rest and I really didn't see much of a difference--both were soggy. The taste was good, but I ended up just eating it with tortilla chips. Was easy and pretty quick to make.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 10, 2010

      This was delicious, easy to make (like the author says, don't let the all the "steps" scare you away), and everyone loved it. I used corn tortillas because that's what I had and it was yummy. I will definitely make this again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 27, 2010

      I liked this very much, but I felt it would be even better with corn tortillas. Thanks for sharing.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 21, 2010

      I cook for 2 men who were raised carniverous. I keep searching for vegetarian entrees that they like. They both liked this. I made it exactly as written. I'm going to try making this vegan by substituting for the sour cream a blend of tofu and pureed pine nuts (which I often use in lasagna) and omit the egg and cheese.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 13, 2010

      had pretty good flavor. the tortillas were a little soft, but overall my family liked it. it was not as spicy as i thought it might be. next time, i think i will add something to take the heat flavor up a notch

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 17, 2009

      Good recipe. Used whole grain tortillas, light cheese and egg white instead of a whole egg. I also left out the sugar, and think I would use less sour cream next time. Added sliced jalapenos and then some Tabasco after it was cooked because we wanted it with a little more kick. Thanks for posting Connie!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 20, 2009

      This is a good recipe. I did not add egg to the sour cream and I thought it turned out fine. The last time I made it, I substituted ground turkey for the black beans. It's good both ways!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 04, 2008

      Pretty easy, and fast too! I loved the flavors, but added some tortilla chips on the side to give some crunchy texture to it (I'm all about texture in foods, and sometimes can't get past certain dishes because of it). DH loved it, commented "9 stars" (...watch a few Simpson's episodes)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 12, 2008

      I made this as direced and it was very good. I think next time I will add some shredded chicken to add meat to the meal. Thank you for posting. :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 22, 2008

      Excellent! We loved this recipe! I added some browned hamburger and instead of the spices, I used 1/2 a pack of taco seasoning on the beef and 1/2 in the sauce. I also added some taco sauce to the tomato sauce. It was excellent and the flour tortillas did end up a bit gummy but we didn't mind. I bet if you used corn tortillas, the textur would be a little more firm.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 05, 2008

      It was okay. My husband didn't finish his plate. The flour tortillas came out pretty gooey. I won't make this again. It did smell great in the oven and looked really good too. The sauce was really good.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 11, 2007

      For what its worth - This is great! AND I goofed it up! :) I have no excuse but I accidently dumped the egg in the tomato part of the dish...so then I just spread the sourcream and sprinkled the cheese but I used 1 c. for the first layer, so then I only used 1/2 c. on the next two so my topping might look sparse. I didn't have olives :( The chili powder had clumped and thus made an avalanche so it was a wee spicy :) I'd like to add chicken the next time but as it is, this is a great version!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 05, 2007

      Wow. I didn't expect much out of a casserole that was mostly canned things mixed together, but this one is GREAT. I used half as much sour cream, because that's all we had, and I also left out the sugar. We used corn tortillas, to make this a gluten-free dish. Definite keeper!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 29, 2006

      Both my boyfriend and I said the same thing about this dish, "interesting." But neither of us liked it very much. Adding the sugar to the tomatoes made the dish sweet in a strange way. And overall it just didn't hit the spot.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Mexican Lasagna With Black Beans and Corn

    Serving Size: 1 (400 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 8

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 605.9
     
    Calories from Fat 259
    42%
    Total Fat 28.7 g
    44%
    Saturated Fat 14.8 g
    74%
    Cholesterol 89.0 mg
    29%
    Sodium 1383.5 mg
    57%
    Total Carbohydrate 68.8 g
    22%
    Dietary Fiber 8.4 g
    33%
    Sugars 8.2 g
    32%
    Protein 21.7 g
    43%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes