Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Mexican Lasagna Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Mexican Lasagna

    Average Rating:

    77 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 77

    Sort by:

    • on July 30, 2002

      My family loved this dish! (Even the picky eaters ate it all! This did not taste or look like a "low-fat" dish! The recipe was very easy to make but I did alter it somewhat. I made my own corn tortillas, but I don't think that changed the taste or texture. I also used the 16 oz. bottle of salsa, but did not add additional tomato sauce. In addition to the ground turkey, I added one 16 ounce can of pinto beans.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 29, 2010

      I've had this recipe saved for awhile and just made it last night for the first time. What a hit! My whole family loved it (not always an easy accomplishment). I used 1.25 lbs. of ground beef & also made the cottage cheese (about 12 oz) blend with two eggs instead of the egg substitute and also mixed the shredded cheese right in with the cottage cheese & eggs. And what's Mexican lasagna w/out chili powder & garlic powder. This will be a regular dish at our table from now on!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 11, 2010

      I really liked this, as did my two year old and husband. I cooked the turkey and kept it separate. I simmered the other things together and only put turkey on half (meatless side for me) and also used eggs (3, but 2 would have sufficed). Used hot enchilada sauce instead of tomato sauce - thanks for a good recommendation there! Thanks I liked the soggy tortillas! That is the way they are supposed to be in mexican casseroles!!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 09, 2010

      I made this tonight and my family did not enjoy it. The tortillas got soggy in the middle of the dish. I guess we just prefer pasta lasagnas.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 31, 2010

      Really good. Used black olives on top. Next time I'll use more tortillas for extra body.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 20, 2009

      This was a great, simple recipe. It didn't take long to make and turned out quite flavorful. Like some other reviewers, I made some minor adjustments. I added cilantro to bump up the flavor, seasoned the ground turkey, and added onion and garlic powder. I also mixed half enchilada sauce with half tomato sauce. Based on what I had in my cabinet, I used flour tortillas and 2 eggs. I'm definitely keeping this recipe!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 05, 2008

      This was really delicious - and simple to make! I did make a few changes...I used taco sauce in place of tomato sauce because that's what I had. I also added olives, and used flour tortillas. YUM!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 12, 2014

      very good thanks for posting

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 01, 2014

      I had this recipe saved for a while, but hadn't made it because corn tortillas were hard to find in our area, but now Dempsters makes some tasty ones. I used ground beef instead of ground turkey because that was what I had. I also mixed in a little lime juice and zest with the cottage cheese. I had a few fresh jalapeños that didn't seem very hot to me so I sliced them and layered them in with ingredients. When serving, I added a dollop of sour cream. My DH inhaled his piece and went back for a second...and so did I. Even with hot salsa (and the jalapeños), it wasn't that hot - the flavours really blended. Thanks for a recipe that I know will become a regular at our house!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 23, 2014

      Well, I'm in the minority here. After all of the great reviews, I really looked forward to trying this casserole. I made the recipe as written, except I did not use low fat ingredients. Coming out of the oven, it looked impressive and smelled delicious. That's where it ended. This casserole had no texture, unless you call 'mush' a texture. I had a 9x13 pan of squishy gushy mush that no one in my family would eat, after trying a few bites. I even drained and patted the cottage cheese with a paper towel to reduce the liquid, so i have no idea..it's like the corn tortillas liquified? I even tried heating up a bit for lunch the next day, but it was worse. I am not a picky eater. If something is just okay, I'll eat it anyways. Very rarely do i find something so repulsive in texture, I cannot eat it. This is one of those times. This recipe was not inexpensive to put together. I really hate throwing away food, but this was hopeless. The entire 9x13 casserole went into the trash.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 07, 2013

    • on August 08, 2012

      Very good! I have made a lot of tortilla-layered Mexican casseroles; this one is set apart by the cottage cheese. It is aptly named, because the taste is a combination of Mexican food and Italian lasagna.
      I do prefer it to be more 'solid' than 'soupy'. I had picante sauce on hand, and of course that is more juicy than salsa, esp. fresh salsa. So I only used 1 cup tomato sauce, and then still simmered that mixture for 30 minutes so that some of the liquid would cook off. I followed another reviewer's suggestion and used 2 eggs with the cottage cheese, but that also was a much runnier mixture than what would be made for lasagna, so I ended up adding more cottage cheese. Anyway, I made this in 2 8" square pans and it is 2 meals for us!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 02, 2012

      Very, very good! I added a can of drained black beans and a can of drained hominy to the meat part. Used diced tomatoes instead of tomato sauce since I was out. I did use more cottage cheese and added olives to both cheese layers. If you are concerned about soggy tortillas, I think it would taste fine using lasagna noodles. Love a recipe that is perfect as listed but just as good making changes to suit your preferences!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 29, 2012

      Best mexican lasagna ever! I was glad the photo showed the olives on top because I added them as pictured and it was a GREAT touch... I served it with a little green sauce and sour cream on the side and WOWSER - SOOOOOOO GOOOOOOOOOD! Thanks so much!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 21, 2012

      YAY I found it! It's been a while since I made this delish recipe and I couldn't find my copy anywhere. Will have my 11 year old son prepare it for tonight's dinner. It will be "reviewed" and featured on our blog www.cookonbrothers.blogspot.com. I love that it's light, tasty, easy, nutritious, & quick! Perfect for the WHOLE family. Thanks for sharing and thanks to food.com for not losing it! :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 06, 2010

      I just made this tonight and my family loved it. I also used eggs instead of egg substitute. It went over very well with my husband and 3 toddlers! I will definetely make this again (by request of my husband!)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 25, 2010

      So great! Subbed a can of diced tomatoes, fat free cottage cheese & egg whites. Totally awesome and a nice sized portion for 250-ish calories. The whole family like it!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 13, 2010

      Yummy! Everyone loved it.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 01, 2010

      Very good. Had my parents over and they loved it. However, the recipe needs to have more meat added as well as cottage cheese and egg. There wasnt enough for the second layer with the meat and egg mixture. Other then just adjusting those couple things, the recipe was very easy and simple to follow. I served the lasagna w/ Mexican cornbread.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 15, 2010

      Absolutely best Mexican Lasagna I've had ... definitely replaced the one I was using!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2 3 4

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Mexican Lasagna

    Serving Size: 1 (247 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 8

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 219.2
     
    Calories from Fat 56
    25%
    Total Fat 6.3 g
    9%
    Saturated Fat 1.9 g
    9%
    Cholesterol 42.6 mg
    14%
    Sodium 1164.6 mg
    48%
    Total Carbohydrate 21.2 g
    7%
    Dietary Fiber 4.1 g
    16%
    Sugars 6.0 g
    24%
    Protein 21.3 g
    42%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    light monterey jack cheese

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes