Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Mexican Jumping Beans (south Beach Diet-phase 1 Friendly) Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Mexican Jumping Beans (south Beach Diet-phase 1 Friendly)

    Average Rating:

    26 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 26

    Sort by:

    • on January 06, 2013

      Great stuff! I used canned pinto beans because we have a ton of those. Surprisingly good and wayyyyy easy! Thanks~

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 03, 2011

      way better than expected. i made the mexi baked chicken to go with it.
      http://www.food.com/recipe/low-carb-mexi-baked-chicken-103966

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 11, 2011

      Very flavorful & Yummy Beans! Fixed this while on South Beach but whole family loved them. Had to fix another pot for me to take for leftovers in lunch! Thank you!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 08, 2009

      Very yummy, especially when served with the Low Carb Mexi Bake! Hubby and I really enjoyed it and it will be made again! Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 05, 2009

      Very tasty and the taste of the green pepper wasn't overly strong! I subbed a can of black beans instead of 2 kidney beans. Will use this recipe again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 28, 2008

      The was wonderful. I used Taco Seasoning Taco Seasoning Mix. Even picky dd liked it. She wanted to add some of the leftover Christmas ham.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 09, 2008

      I was very impressed. It tastes waaay better than it looks. I chopped some cooked chicken breasts and mixed red beans with pinto beans. I love it!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 04, 2008

      Very easy! Smelled great cooking - every one wanted to know what we were having for dinner!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 01, 2008

      I really enjoyed this side dish, I think it tastes like chili, minus the sauce. I used goya beans and a low fat mexican cheese blend. The cheese definitly makes this work though, it wouldn't taste as good without it.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 01, 2008

      I really wanted to like this one so I tried it a couple of times. I made it exactly as stated and then also tried it with black beans. I also sampled it using chili powder once and taco seasoning once. The best outcome was with black beans and homemade taco seasoning but it was only OK - not fabulous. Still a worthwhile recipe to try if you are South Beaching it.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 31, 2008

      These are pretty good. I will be making these again. I made this with the Low Carb Mexi Chicken as suggested and it was a good combo. I diced up the leftovers and put it together with the beans for a great leftover lunch. Thanks for the recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 28, 2008

      From such humble beginnings comes this yummy, yummy lunch! I used PACE's medium taco seasoning mix (no maltodextrin) and added 2 tablespoons of tomato paste to thicken it further. I added up the calories and came up with 263 calories per serving (4 servings per recipe and not counting the cheese and dollop of sour cream I used.) This is a keeper and my new favorite lunch. Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 08, 2007

      I have made these several times. Our five year old loves them. We also have a friend that is a veggie and he enjoys this recipe as well. Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 26, 2007

      Thank you for the recipe. Contrary to a few reviews I read, kidney beans are on the "Foods to Enjoy" of Phase 1. It totally hit the spot and filled the void of my starch cravings!(I'm on day 8 of Phase 1) They went great with my Chipotle Adobo chicken breasts. I added 1/2 teaspoon of Cumin for some authentic Mex flavor along w/ the chile powder.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 11, 2007

      Easy and quick! I skipped the olive oil and just sprayed a non-stick pan with Pam and sauteed my vegetables. I used chili powder, but next time I think I'll try the taco seasoning. I love that this is easy to make, low-fat, high-protein and high-fiber, so I will definitely make again!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 08, 2007

      We just started South Beach and I double checked the South Beach Diet book and many kinds of beans including kidney beans are listed under 'Foods to enjoy' for the phase 1 meal plan. I'm glad because these were great and took the place of our usual starchy sidedish. I couldn't use the onion as my DH can't eat them, but they still had good flavor and was very easy to make. I used the taco seasoning and it was just the right amount for us - even my DH liked them alot and he's usually not into these kinds of dishes. Thanks for posting.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 30, 2007

      Hearty and filling, and quite tasty. A nice treat on the South Beach Diet, though it would not be recommended for Phase 1, as you are supposed to avoid beans until Phase 2.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 10, 2007

      It's nice, and something different to add as a side. Thanks for the recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 01, 2007

      This dish is delicious and may be my new favorite SB friendly dish. I also used the homemade taco seasoning recipe. My DH eschews any dish with onions, garlic or green peppers and he actually scarfed down the whole serving without picking out any of the normally "offending" ingredients. I also served it with the Low Carb Mexi Baked Chicken and I'm not sure which dish was my favorite - why choose? Thanks for sharing a simple to prepare and delicious dish.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 01, 2007

      When I first started SB this was my lunch for almost a week straight. It's tasty and the cheese on top makes it feel indulgent!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Mexican Jumping Beans (south Beach Diet-phase 1 Friendly)

    Serving Size: 1 (325 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 306.4
     
    Calories from Fat 25
    31%
    Total Fat 2.8 g
    4%
    Saturated Fat 0.4 g
    2%
    Cholesterol 0.0 mg
    0%
    Sodium 73.5 mg
    3%
    Total Carbohydrate 53.9 g
    17%
    Dietary Fiber 17.9 g
    71%
    Sugars 2.4 g
    9%
    Protein 19.5 g
    39%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites