43 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

Fabulous dish! Everything about this was great - the ease of prep, the clear and accurate instructions, the color and look of the finished dish, and the wonderful taste. Even the amount of heat was perfect - very spicy, enough to clear those sinuses, but not enough to overpower the rest of the ingredients. I did use the full tsp of hot sauce as well as a whole chili pepper (which I partially seeded). Thanks - a real winner!

5 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
HeatherFeather February 06, 2003

What a wonderful dish! Today is cinco de mayo and my family loved this. What a wonderful way to change up breakfast eggs. I layered warmed up corn tortillas, covered with retried beans, eggs, sauce and Topped with cheese. if I would have had sour cream, I think that would have been a nice touch in top. Cooked exactly as written....used fresh tomatoes...

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Big Sis May 05, 2013

This was excellent! I substituted fresh cuban oregano from my yard rather than dried. I only had a red bell pepper so used this instead of the green pepper. I served this on top of 4 small toasted corn tortillas topped with 2 tablespoons each refried beans and topped with shredded manchego cheese. It was very delicious-we enjoyed it for brunch but it would make an excellent meatless supper.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Kiss The Cook! December 02, 2012

I had huevos rancheros for the first time at the Coffee Pot restaurant in Sedona, Az on the recommendation of a friend. It was one of the best breakfasts I have ever had. Since then I have looked for a recipe that would get me close to that pleasure. Emeril's recipe was awful; I wound up throwing the whole thing away. So I thought I would give it one more try with this recipe and I had it this AM with tortilla and refried beans topped with 4-cheese Mexican cheese. This was very good and if it wasn't such a long ordeal to make I would cook it often. I will freeze the remaining sauce and look forward to having it one more time. Thank you, Sharon for sharing.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
BuffaloWingMan February 11, 2012

I travel to New Mexico quite often and this is the first thing I order. As I am a HUGE fan of salsa verde I substitute this for the standard "red" sauce and poach the eggs separately. I always get requests for this dish when my kids visit for brunch. The refried beans on the tortillas are a nice touch to the dish but not necessary.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
ronnieholliday May 08, 2011

This is an excellent recipe and I made the sauce and eggs exactly as written. My only deviation was to use tortillas as the "bread" component and I spread the tortillas with a black bean dip before I topped them with the eggs and sauce. I wish that I read another reviewers review about freezing some sauce for another meal before I made them, but there is always the next time. Thanks for another great recipe Sharon!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Eldeevee February 10, 2011

Simple and delicious. And you could smell something yummy cooking a block away. Thanks!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
digsblues July 11, 2010

i made this for dinner very good recipe my husband is from mexico and loved it i will be making it soon thanks for the recipe!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
dana.upton March 30, 2010

I made this for our evening meal after a busy day. This is so easy to put together, and the results are just delicious! I didn't add the hot sauce in as DH doesn't like much heat, but made sure I had it available for me at the table! Wonderful Sharon! I will be making this again very soon!! Made for KK's Chef's Pick Tag

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
kittycatmom February 19, 2010

Wonderful !!! Didn't change a thing, and won't the many times we make this for future breakfasts.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
MTDavids February 15, 2010
Mexican Huevos Rancheros