Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Mexican Huevos Rancheros Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Mexican Huevos Rancheros

    Average Rating:

    42 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 42

    Sort by:

    • on February 06, 2003

      Fabulous dish! Everything about this was great - the ease of prep, the clear and accurate instructions, the color and look of the finished dish, and the wonderful taste. Even the amount of heat was perfect - very spicy, enough to clear those sinuses, but not enough to overpower the rest of the ingredients. I did use the full tsp of hot sauce as well as a whole chili pepper (which I partially seeded). Thanks - a real winner!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 05, 2013

      What a wonderful dish! Today is cinco de mayo and my family loved this. What a wonderful way to change up breakfast eggs. I layered warmed up corn tortillas, covered with retried beans, eggs, sauce and Topped with cheese. if I would have had sour cream, I think that would have been a nice touch in top. Cooked exactly as written....used fresh tomatoes...

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 02, 2012

      This was excellent! I substituted fresh cuban oregano from my yard rather than dried. I only had a red bell pepper so used this instead of the green pepper. I served this on top of 4 small toasted corn tortillas topped with 2 tablespoons each refried beans and topped with shredded manchego cheese. It was very delicious-we enjoyed it for brunch but it would make an excellent meatless supper.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 11, 2012

      I had huevos rancheros for the first time at the Coffee Pot restaurant in Sedona, Az on the recommendation of a friend. It was one of the best breakfasts I have ever had. Since then I have looked for a recipe that would get me close to that pleasure. Emeril's recipe was awful; I wound up throwing the whole thing away. So I thought I would give it one more try with this recipe and I had it this AM with tortilla and refried beans topped with 4-cheese Mexican cheese. This was very good and if it wasn't such a long ordeal to make I would cook it often. I will freeze the remaining sauce and look forward to having it one more time. Thank you, Sharon for sharing.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 08, 2011

      I travel to New Mexico quite often and this is the first thing I order. As I am a HUGE fan of salsa verde I substitute this for the standard "red" sauce and poach the eggs separately. I always get requests for this dish when my kids visit for brunch. The refried beans on the tortillas are a nice touch to the dish but not necessary.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 10, 2011

      This is an excellent recipe and I made the sauce and eggs exactly as written. My only deviation was to use tortillas as the "bread" component and I spread the tortillas with a black bean dip before I topped them with the eggs and sauce. I wish that I read another reviewers review about freezing some sauce for another meal before I made them, but there is always the next time. Thanks for another great recipe Sharon!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 11, 2010

      Simple and delicious. And you could smell something yummy cooking a block away. Thanks!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 30, 2010

      i made this for dinner very good recipe my husband is from mexico and loved it i will be making it soon thanks for the recipe!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 19, 2010

      I made this for our evening meal after a busy day. This is so easy to put together, and the results are just delicious! I didn't add the hot sauce in as DH doesn't like much heat, but made sure I had it available for me at the table! Wonderful Sharon! I will be making this again very soon!! Made for KK's Chef's Pick Tag

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 15, 2010

      Wonderful !!! Didn't change a thing, and won't the many times we make this for future breakfasts.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 13, 2010

      I most usually tweak recipes to my liking but this one was made as stated, I may however reduce the oregano amount next time, thank you this was delicious and thoroughly enjoyed Sharon!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 25, 2009

      As a Brit living in Chicago for 5 years, I fell in love with Huevos Rancheros at Lazo's restaurant on Western Ave. Sadly, I had to leave the U.S. when my visa ran out, and am back in rainy Scotland, but I had a little taste of 'home' with this recipe. Absolutle heaven, and I made it for my guy's 30th birthday this morning. Following his presents and breakfast mimosa, the first thing he said after his initial bite was, "Ah, best present so far!!" I've been searching for a great Huevos Rancheros recipe, and the eggs cooked amazingly well in the sauce mixture. I added 1/2 teaspoon of cumin, as I love the taste of that, but other than that, the recipe was perfect. Served with homemade pico de gallo over tortillas with refried beans and cheese. Thank you for posting such an easy and delightful recipe.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 28, 2009

      Makes a lot of sauce. I froze some for another breakfast. Delish! Thanks.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 08, 2009

      I also scaled down this but this is Great! Loved the spices and will make on a regular rotation. Worthy of 5 stars.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 20, 2009

      I scaled this down to two servings and all I have to say is WOW! This was the absolute best of the best as far as huevos rancheros goes. Thank you so much for sharing this recipe :)

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 24, 2008

      What a great breakfast. It tastes just like what we get in mexico at the little mom and pop restaurants. So... good tagged in zaar stars..

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 11, 2008

      OMG, so good!! Honestly tastes like real mexican eggs. I lived there and I started crying as I was eating it b/c it brought back so many memories. I didn't have the oregano or the green pepper and it was still amazing! Enjoy!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 14, 2008

      Neither DH or I had ever had this dish though I've heard about it often. I knew it would be something I would like but was a little worried about DH's reaction. Shouldn't have bothered to worry, DH and I both loved this! So much flavor!! And it was so easy to make. I used 1/2 jalapeno and served it over toast. What a great change for breakfast!!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 28, 2008

      Asesome!!! I doubled the onions, used 1 small can of green chilies instead of the green peppers, and left out the jalapeno. The peanut gallery loved them too, so it will be made again!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 22, 2008

      This Recipe was simple and awesome... The Red sauce it creates could be used for alot of different things outside of huevos rancheros! The eggs turn out nice and runny I used hot peppers instead if green and add a lil more hot pepper sauce.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2 3

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Mexican Huevos Rancheros

    Serving Size: 1 (170 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 6

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 135.0
     
    Calories from Fat 84
    62%
    Total Fat 9.4 g
    14%
    Saturated Fat 2.2 g
    11%
    Cholesterol 186.0 mg
    62%
    Sodium 488.1 mg
    20%
    Total Carbohydrate 5.7 g
    1%
    Dietary Fiber 1.5 g
    6%
    Sugars 3.4 g
    13%
    Protein 7.3 g
    14%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites