Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Mexican Hot Chocolate Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Mexican Hot Chocolate

    Average Rating:

    30 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 30

    Sort by:

    • on October 26, 2002

      I love this drink!! I make it all the time now instead of drinking powdered hot chocolate every day. I half the recipe and it fills a huge mug almost 3/4 of the way. Must try!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 08, 2004

      This recipe left me very disappointed after having your New England hot chocolate (which I enjoyed very much!). I didn't like the flavoring in this and felt that it lacked the creaminess that I like and I also felt that the subtle taste of the cinnamon was overcome by the taste of cocoa. I'm sorry, but I didn't care for this one much.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 14, 2012

      Soooo good!!!!! Topped with a little bailey's as all good hot chocolate should be!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 24, 2009

      Pretty good. I added more sugar and should've used whole milk, skim wasn't creamy enough for me. Thanks for posting.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 12, 2009

      I just made this, it was very good, except I think it could have used a little more spice, however over all very nice. I'm not feeling well and this did make me feel cozier and better. Thanks for posting!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 06, 2009

      Followed the recipe exact, except I used Dark cocoa...and in one word - FANTASTIC! Love this, and will be making it a bunch this winter, I am sure!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 21, 2009

    • on November 02, 2009

      I scaled this down to 1 cup using 1 cup milk, 2 tbsp. sugar, and 1 tbsp. cocoa. I microwaved the milk for 2 minutes, mixed the cocoa and sugar, and stirred them into the hot milk. I forgot the vanilla and couldn't find the cinnamon in time to mix it in. But it was still good.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 03, 2009

      Really good. I love cinnamon in my hot chocolate. I doubled this and made it on the stove, then put it in the crock pot and kept it warm for the kiddies. It was nice to have it all ready when they came in from the cold. Served with mini marshmallows on top.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 02, 2009

      I told my kids that I would make them hot chocolate before I realized I was out of white milk! I had to come up with a qquick fix, so I used the rest of the store bought chocolate milk (which we always dilute in half with white milk)...It turned out wonderful, and my kids really liked it!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 26, 2009

      What can I say!??? I am hooked, LOVE THIS RECIPE!!! Only one problem, I now live in Tucson, AZ., so it's too hot most of the year for such a "warming" drink. I wish I had this recipe when I lived in Wisconsin! Perfect for cold Winter days...something comforting to drink while toasting in front of the fireplace *sighs*!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 14, 2009

      This is very tastey, especially with some changes. I used half milk, and half whipped cream to make it creamier and richer. It turned out very nice on a very cold night! Made for Comfort Cafe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 08, 2009

      This is what I call comfort food! I just love having cinnamon in my cocoa, so this was really nice!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 09, 2007

      Great hot chocolate . . . to add more cinnamon flavor I added a cinnamon stick! Added flavor and looked 'darn purty'! Thanks NurseDi!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 08, 2007

      Too sweet and not creamy enough. Mexican hot chocolate for me is more sudtle in the chocolate flavor and more heavy with the cinnamon. I enjoyed trying it though.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 13, 2007

      Very good cocoa!! My kids loved it (including my boyfriend, the biggest "kid"!!)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 05, 2006

      This hot chocolate is very easy to make and is excellent! I added a tiny bit of cayenne pepper to the batch I made and served it to myself and two guests - we all loved it!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 17, 2006

      Yummy!! I'm currently out of coffee AND powdered hot chocolate. I'm cold, and tired and knew I needed SOMETHING. I found this recipe, and 10-15 minutes later I'm sipping on some tasty hot chocolate with just a hint of zip in it from the cinnamon. Thank you for posting such a wonderful recipe! I'm going to have to make more when my husband gets home. :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 16, 2006

      Was looking for something warm tonight to soothe my throat... This fit the bill. I have never made cocoa from scratch w/ powdered cocoa before, and I was a bit hesitant- but it turned out great. Only thing I did was to scale it down to 1.5 servings, and I omited the vanilla. Yum! Thanks for sharing your great recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 18, 2006

      This was heavenly on one of the first cold mornings of the fall. It was so luxurious I could hardly finish a mug full. I used skim milk with a bit of half and half. I used a potent saigon cinnamon that really came through. I topped with whipped cream and an extra sprinkle of cinna.mon Great recipe. I can't wait to serve to company.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Mexican Hot Chocolate

    Serving Size: 1 (212 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 3

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 209.5
     
    Calories from Fat 67
    31%
    Total Fat 7.4 g
    11%
    Saturated Fat 4.3 g
    21%
    Cholesterol 26.5 mg
    8%
    Sodium 93.2 mg
    3%
    Total Carbohydrate 29.0 g
    9%
    Dietary Fiber 1.2 g
    4%
    Sugars 16.8 g
    67%
    Protein 7.2 g
    14%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites