18 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

This horchata recipe is delicious and tastes like a good restaraurant version! For best results skip the cheesecloth and pour the blended mix straight through a brand new nylon, works much better. I found that when you strain it several times it leaves less of that powdery after taste. I will be making this every mexican meal i make in the future! Thanks!

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Julesnjoe November 06, 2003

Wow, I think this is better than the restaurants', and so easy to make! Thanks for the recipe!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Frifiporchavio April 28, 2010

So I am giving this four stars for the tastiness of the end result. It loses a star because the recipe could be a little more specific. When I soaked the rice, it must have resulted in a lot more than in the recipe. I used what I had (and I think it was way too much). When straining the mixture through cheesecloth, there was a lot of sediment in there. Also, didn't seem to make enough for 6 people at all. Because it tastes so good, I think next time I will plan on using more milk.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Laughing in the Kitchen March 07, 2010

Fabulous Horchata! I let the rice soak for a whole day instead of just over night... and it just made more! My 4 sons LOVED it. They love horchata at all the taco shops that we go to, and no one thought it possible... but they declared this recipe to be their absolute favorite horchata ever. THANK YOU for sharing this recipe.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Ruby Toozday December 16, 2009

My husband grew up drinking Horchata, and living in Chicago most of our lives, we have had the chance to taste different varieties of Horchata. This is truly an authentic, delicious recipe. It tastes way better than the horchatas we've had at our beloved Chicago taquerias.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Solamega June 05, 2008

This recipe is very easy to make and has a VERY tasty result. The only difficult part for me was straining the horchata through the cheesecloth. Other than that I would recommend this recipe to anyone.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
shane_anderson91 January 31, 2008

I only made this because I had the few simple ingredients in my cupboard. I was wrong to be so ho-hum about this drink. It ended up being quite tasty! I served it over ice but I definitely will be making this one again when our cold Maine weather hits. Only I'll be warming it up. A nice light drink that reminds of a hot tea (chai) that I get once in a while from Dunkin' Donuts.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
smoke alarm jr August 04, 2003

The end result was tasty!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
drinkmore November 20, 2009

I've only had this once at a fast food Mexican restaurant. This is just like I remember it tasting. My daughter loves it and requested I use it as the "base" for her hot chocolate milk. I think she finished it before I had her glass poured. The cinnamon gives it just the right flavor and taste. I'll make again. Thank you.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
truckerboo October 23, 2009
Mexican Horchata