Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Mexican Horchata Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Mexican Horchata

    Average Rating:

    18 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-18 of 18

    Sort by:

    • on November 06, 2003

      This horchata recipe is delicious and tastes like a good restaraurant version! For best results skip the cheesecloth and pour the blended mix straight through a brand new nylon, works much better. I found that when you strain it several times it leaves less of that powdery after taste. I will be making this every mexican meal i make in the future! Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 28, 2010

      Wow, I think this is better than the restaurants', and so easy to make! Thanks for the recipe!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 07, 2010

      So I am giving this four stars for the tastiness of the end result. It loses a star because the recipe could be a little more specific. When I soaked the rice, it must have resulted in a lot more than in the recipe. I used what I had (and I think it was way too much). When straining the mixture through cheesecloth, there was a lot of sediment in there. Also, didn't seem to make enough for 6 people at all. Because it tastes so good, I think next time I will plan on using more milk.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 16, 2009

      Fabulous Horchata! I let the rice soak for a whole day instead of just over night... and it just made more! My 4 sons LOVED it. They love horchata at all the taco shops that we go to, and no one thought it possible... but they declared this recipe to be their absolute favorite horchata ever. THANK YOU for sharing this recipe.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 05, 2008

      My husband grew up drinking Horchata, and living in Chicago most of our lives, we have had the chance to taste different varieties of Horchata. This is truly an authentic, delicious recipe. It tastes way better than the horchatas we've had at our beloved Chicago taquerias.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 31, 2008

      This recipe is very easy to make and has a VERY tasty result. The only difficult part for me was straining the horchata through the cheesecloth. Other than that I would recommend this recipe to anyone.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 04, 2003

      I only made this because I had the few simple ingredients in my cupboard. I was wrong to be so ho-hum about this drink. It ended up being quite tasty! I served it over ice but I definitely will be making this one again when our cold Maine weather hits. Only I'll be warming it up. A nice light drink that reminds of a hot tea (chai) that I get once in a while from Dunkin' Donuts.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 16, 2013

    • on November 20, 2009

      The end result was tasty!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 23, 2009

      I've only had this once at a fast food Mexican restaurant. This is just like I remember it tasting. My daughter loves it and requested I use it as the "base" for her hot chocolate milk. I think she finished it before I had her glass poured. The cinnamon gives it just the right flavor and taste. I'll make again. Thank you.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 28, 2009

    • on October 24, 2008

    • on October 18, 2008

      I love horchata, w/almonds without, hot or cold....this recipe is one i'll be trying Thankyou

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 15, 2007

      I loved this recipe... I agree with the pouring it through the nylon, cause it does work better... And, I've made it twice, and I preferred when I used a low fat milk, so then you taste the horchata flavor more, and less of the milk. But, overall, it was a really good recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 01, 2007

      instead of ground cinnamon i took a cinnamon stick and toasted it a little in a pan other than that i followed the directions exactly. It was great, next time i would cut back on the sugar a little bit, it was just a little too sweet

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 14, 2006

      this Is delisious, I have a mexican party to go to this weekend and you can bet that is will definately be on the menu. Thanks for posting.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 21, 2006

    • on November 06, 2005

      Wow! I made this for my older brother, who is a huge Mexican food fan and has had and loved Horchata at many restaurants. He said it was better than the restaurant versions! I used skim milk, and it was still delicious. I have a feeling this will be requested often, and I won't mind, because it's so easy to make! Thank you for posting. :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Mexican Horchata

    Serving Size: 1 (214 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 6

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 283.6
     
    Calories from Fat 55
    19%
    Total Fat 6.1 g
    9%
    Saturated Fat 3.7 g
    18%
    Cholesterol 22.7 mg
    7%
    Sodium 81.3 mg
    3%
    Total Carbohydrate 49.1 g
    16%
    Dietary Fiber 0.5 g
    2%
    Sugars 16.7 g
    67%
    Protein 7.5 g
    15%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites