Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Mexican Ground Beef Tortilla Layer Casserole Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Mexican Ground Beef Tortilla Layer Casserole

    Average Rating:

    14 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-14 of 14

    Sort by:

    • on January 24, 2011

      Having this for dinner as I type. Very good. I omitted the bell pepper, tossed in a box of drained chopped tomatoes, and went with the 4tsp. of cumin. I also used Mexican Blend cheese along with some Chihuahua and Oaxaca cheese. I do believe that the next time I will decrease the cumin a bit and add double the tortillas. Thank you!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 29, 2008

      I made this with flour tortilas as one other reader suggested. I left out the green pepper and jalapeno. The dish was okay - it needed more spice. And I think that corn tortillas would be better. Or, make it without tortillas at all and then serve it burrito style. That is what I will do next time. It is easy to make and really yummy.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 29, 2007

      This recipe was easy and delicious. I did not have a can of enchilada sauce, so I made a recipe for the sauce found on this site. I subsituted flour tortillas and red kidney beans. I topped it with lettuce/tomatoes/salsa and sour cream. Served up great as a leftover, too.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 30, 2011

      This was an awesome recipe. Loved the texture of the corn and black beans.Okay Kit so I tweaked it just a little. I substituted about 8 chopped, roasted, Anaheim green chiles that I had frozen from last fall's harvest instead of the green pepper. I added about a teaspoon of chili powder, a little more cumin beacause I like the flavor, and a tablespoon of Worchester sauce to the meat. Thanks for posting this one, it's a keeper.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 29, 2014

      Absolutely wonderful! The only thing that I did was half the recipe (six servings are too much for my wife and I), and fry the corn tortillas before creating the layers. I would change anything else, or recommend anyone to fry the corn tortillas.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 07, 2013

      This recipe was loved by my family! I followed the recipe exactly, except I left out the jalapeño and bell pepper because I did not have any. Oh and I also used 4 corn tortillas on each layer, instead of 3 and 1 lb. of ground beef I thought was plenty. This was simple and turned out delicious! I wanted enchiladas, but don't always want to take the time rolling them up, so I'm VERRRY glad I came across this recipe! Will definitely be a keeper :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 11, 2013

      Made this for my college son to take back with him after a visit home. Got a call the next day that his room mate and he LOVED it and were drooling just thinking about leftovers that night. So he was my guinea pig! I'm going to make it tonight for the family but I'm going to use chicken instead of beef! I took the advice of some others on this site and added a can of diced tomatoes....I bought petite diced tomatoes with chipotle peppers! And as far as the enchilada sauces?....I bought one can regular and one can hot! Oh....and I only used 1 lb of beef. Thanks for sharing this recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 03, 2013

      This was well liked at my house! I only had 1 lb of ground beef thawed and that was fine. Would be good with chicken instead of beef also.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 09, 2009

      We loved this! Very flavorful! I did change things just a bit - instead of laying out the corn tortillas, I actually tore them into pieces. I also added a can of diced tomatoes. Other than that, I followed the recipe and it was soooo good! Definitely a keeper... I cant wait to taste it tomorrow as things always seem to taste even better the second day!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 13, 2008

    • on September 01, 2008

      This was fast & easy! My entire family loved it. It stored well and was also good as leftovers. This will make a great pot-luck dish!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 05, 2008

      Great dish.. Mexican lasagna-ish! I was worried about the corn as DH hates corn, but he loved it in the dish! Followed recipe to a tee except I used canned corn so added at the very end of the 20 minutes in the saute pan. Great dish - will def make again!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 04, 2007

      I enjoyed this recipe and like Chef #523608 i added kidney beans and it tasted great. I cooked the meat with half a can of extra hot rotel chili and tomatoes instead of jalapeno and it gave a nice kick. To make a "low fat" version i only did tortillas on the top and bottom, kinda like a sandwich. I topped with light sour cream and green onions which added nice flavor.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 20, 2007

      This is a WONDERFUL Mexican casserole. I used ground chicken in place of the beef, added some chili powder, and used approximately 3 cups of shredded cheese. This is yummy comfort food at its best! We topped ours off with picante sauce and a dollop of sour cream.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Mexican Ground Beef Tortilla Layer Casserole

    Serving Size: 1 (343 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 6

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 708.3
     
    Calories from Fat 293
    41%
    Total Fat 32.6 g
    50%
    Saturated Fat 15.4 g
    77%
    Cholesterol 123.3 mg
    41%
    Sodium 1415.5 mg
    58%
    Total Carbohydrate 65.2 g
    21%
    Dietary Fiber 11.9 g
    47%
    Sugars 10.4 g
    41%
    Protein 42.7 g
    85%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes