Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Mexican Fudge Appetizer Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Mexican Fudge Appetizer

    Average Rating:

    17 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-17 of 17

    Sort by:

    • on August 15, 2012

      I found this recipe on a jar of salsa and coudn't imagine anything more disgusting than fudge with salsa in it. Then, I read the recipe. It is wonderful although I generally just use a pound of cheddar cheese.

      I have tried it with low-fat cheese which takes care of the oil problems, but then it sticks to the pan. For best results, I use ? a pound of full-fat cheese on the bottom and then ? a pound of low-fat cheese on the top.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 09, 2007

      Probably the easiest appetizer I ever made other than pouring salsa in a bowl and dumping chips in a basket! It was very tasty although it was a little too warm when I served it...should have let it cool off more, but that was my fault. It was definitely better after it cooled some, far less greasy. Thanks for sharing this recipe!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 25, 2006

      This was one of the items in our Mexican pot luck luncheon, and everyone wanted the recipe. Nobody could believe that it was so simple to make. We always have way too much food, but this one disappeared completely. Thanks Stewie!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 18, 2006

      These were very tasty...I used pepper jack instead of regular monterey jack to add extra zip!!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 09, 2004

      Good grief, this is SO good!!!!!!!!! I made this for a Mexican-themed dinner & this was inhaled in no time!! I had numerous requests for the recipe & it is now in my keeper file. Thanks!!!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 15, 2003

      Made this for an Italian family party. They all loved it. Have made it many times since and am always asked for the recipe. I did kick it up a notch with some cayenne pepper. The name is really clever!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 05, 2002

      Very good. A little oily, but hey, it's cheese! Next time I will sprinkle some chopped black olives on top for color and variety, but this recipe is wonderful without any additives.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 04, 2011

      I was a little nervous making this for a group of people after reading the last 2 reviews, but went ahead and made and boy am I ever glad I did. This is wonderful. Everyone asked for the recipe. The only thing I did different was I used 1 1/2 cups of homemade salsa instead of just 1/2 cup. We will be making this again and again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 15, 2009

      I really wanted to like this. I made it to take to a party of around 100 people and it did not go over well at all. It was extremely oily and didn't look appetizing. The texture and taste weren't special either. Sorry Stewie...

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 20, 2008

      Made it for my book club tonight. Used shredded cheddar cheese and monterey jack cheese. I didn't like it and neither did anyone else. Sounded good but didn't appeal to the 12 of us.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 23, 2008

      This was easy and quite tasty. I made it with hot prepared salsa, sliced black olives, and fresh parsley on top; also, substituted white and medium shredded cheddar blend for the cheese to mix with the Monterey Jack cheese. Doubling the recipe makes sense, as it will give one a full platter for a party. Thanks for a really good alternative to other appetizers.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 06, 2008

      Terrific little appetizer!!! Guests raved over it, and I can't wait for an opportunity to make it again! Thanks for posting this! :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 30, 2008

      This was a very good and easy recipe. I took it to a pot luck and got many requests for the recipe. I think it may need a bit more "kick" though. I might consider adding some green chili peppers next time.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 12, 2005

      So easy, so good. My guests raved so about it that I hated to fess up to how easy it was. We had it at room temperature and it was excellent!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 05, 2004

      Made this for Super Bowl and it went over very well. Added a little more salsa and used taco cheese as suggested above. Sprinkled some chopped parsley and pimentos on top to make it look a little more appealing. Will definitely use this again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 09, 2003

      Soooo easy to make and a different type of appetizer. Everyone was skeptical of it but enjoyed it once they tried it. No one could guess that salsa was an ingredient. It did remind folks a bit of pizza. Ate it cold. Might try it next time with some Mexican cheese.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 06, 2002

      Made this for our Cinco de Mayo party. Big hit with everyone. I will definitely make this again. A wonderful recipe. Thanks!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Mexican Fudge Appetizer

    Serving Size: 1 (748 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 1

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 114.6
     
    Calories from Fat 81
    70%
    Total Fat 9.0 g
    13%
    Saturated Fat 5.4 g
    27%
    Cholesterol 56.1 mg
    18%
    Sodium 205.1 mg
    8%
    Total Carbohydrate 0.7 g
    0%
    Dietary Fiber 0.1 g
    0%
    Sugars 0.3 g
    1%
    Protein 7.5 g
    15%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites