Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Mexican Flan (Baked caramel Custard) Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Mexican Flan (Baked caramel Custard)

    Average Rating:

    67 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 67

    Sort by:

    • on February 15, 2002

      I baked this while my little boy was watching tv .It took me only 10 minutes and the result was very satisfying .The dessert was very light and refreshing .The only thing I shouldn't have done was cut down on sugar in the custard (I always find American desserts too sweet for my taste )Next time I will put the stated amount .Thanks for the recipe .Its a keeper

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 06, 2002

      This is absolutely delicious! I dont have a 'ring mold' (dont even know what it is actually..lol) so I used a pie dish that i have and set it in a larger dish in the oven, worked fine and had no problem getting it out of the dish. Loved the syrup and the orange rind gave it a lovely flavour. Thanks for posting Bergy! =)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 06, 2002

      I made this for dessert for Cinco de Mayo Recipezaar Day. It was the perfect ending to a day of heavy eating! Light, sweet, and melting in your mouth! Served it with fresh strawberries, but the flan really didn't need it, it is perfect all by itself. Thanks Bergy! :o)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 29, 2002

      DH's work was having "Mexican Night" at work where other co-workers already signed up to bring taco dips, enchaladas, tacos and rice and beans; so I knew the dessert had to come from me. On short notice, I was able to whip this up having all ingredients on hand, as I should. I wasn't able to get my hands on fresh fruit to in time slice for a garnish, unfortunatly. I probably would've done strawberries or papya and mango. I searched Zaar for "Mexican Desserts" and this recipe was the easiest to prepare and had all ingredients on hand; staples. Thanks, Bergy!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 07, 2002

      i will admit i originally made this recipe to go along with other mexican dishes because it was fairly easy to prepare, with very little ingrediants. it's not a dessert i would typically prepare, i ended up really enjoying it, as did our other guests. great dessert!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 04, 2004

      Delicious,Creamy flan, My Family loves flan, I make it often, So thought I would try your recipe. I made it like the recipe stated, EXCEPT I used splenda in the custard, also added a little orange flavoring along with orange zest, Very good.I baked it in a pie plate like I usually do. I will be making this again , thank you Bergy.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 29, 2002

      My family has used this recipe for ages, it is a great favourite, but with a piece of lemon rind instead of the greated orange rind.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 19, 2003

      Turned out great! A real authentic recipe as per me husband, from Mexico. Thank you so much for sharing!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 22, 2002

      I use a very similar recipe in a regular flan tin. I usually double the caramel amount as everybody wants some. A regular dessert at Christmas or at special meals.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 29, 2002

      I found this to be the easiest and best recipe for flan yet. The orange gives it incredible flavor. I increase the amount of vanilla by twice as well and add cinammon.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 25, 2002

      We call this recipe in the Philippines "leche flan". To make this recipe more creamy and smooth in texture you have to use a fine strainer or sieve or better yet an unused stocking before transfering it to a llanera or a flan container. Thanks.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 22, 2003

      A big winner for my dinner party. It looks so professional! I probably cooked it a bit too long in the oven because it looked so wobbly that I was sure it couldn't be done. Eventually I just took it out and it was fine after it set. The extra cooking didn't seem to harm it, but next time I will cook it for only 1 hour, as the recipe says, and not worry about the wobbly-ness. I also worried that the caramel wasn't coating enough of the pan (step 2) bit it melted again during the cooking, so it wasn't a problem. Like another reviewer, I don't know what a ring mold is, so I used a pyrex casserole dish, which worked fine.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 11, 2003

      I made this dish last night for a family gather. It was fantastic! I used brown sugar for the caramel instead. In the beginning, I thought the sugar might be insufficient but it's okay, not too sweet. The texture is just right. Those who have tried, liked it very much. I for one am head over heels in love with it! Will make again tonight. I'm already overweight but I'm craving for it right now and will start baking once I reached home from work.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 01, 2004

      I couldn't believe how well this turned out!! I, like the others, have no idea what a metal ring mold is, so I just used 2 pyrex dishes and that worked great. Also, I used 1 tsp of lemon extract in place of the orange rind (just didn't have any on hand), and that also worked great. Thanks a bunch!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 29, 2004

      I made this as a dessert for a Spanish Wine evening, last night. Others also took "caramel custards", as desserts. however, this Mexican Flan was eaten before the other desserts had even been started on. Of course, it looked good, I made it in a ring mould, turned it out onto a large glass plate, put chopped strawberries in the centre and all around the flan. Very easy to make too. Thanks a lot.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 27, 2003

      I had a Mexican themed party Saturday night and served this for dessert and it was a big hit. Really delicious and easy to make actually. Like the others I didn't have a flan ring so I used a pyrex dish and it turned out fine. Didn't use any fruit this time but it really didn't need it. Great recipe Bergy!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 06, 2003

      The most amazing dessert I have served. I made it for my guests at a dinner party. They could not stop raving about it. The best part was I decided to make this one at the last minute and put it together at 11:00 PM the previous night.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 26, 2003

      This dessert was fabulous - with strawberries and cream on top -yum!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 22, 2007

      The best one I've tasted so far.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 07, 2004

      Very good, just the right texture and the flavor is very good. I used a pyrex pie dish and it worked fine. Thanks!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2 3 4

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Mexican Flan (Baked caramel Custard)

    Serving Size: 1 (124 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 10

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 169.1
     
    Calories from Fat 49
    29%
    Total Fat 5.5 g
    8%
    Saturated Fat 2.6 g
    13%
    Cholesterol 121.8 mg
    40%
    Sodium 78.7 mg
    3%
    Total Carbohydrate 23.7 g
    7%
    Dietary Fiber 0.0 g
    0%
    Sugars 20.1 g
    80%
    Protein 6.1 g
    12%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites