40 Reviews

Wow, this is really awesome! I used green enchilada sauce for the green chili sauce, since I was not sure what that was. Like other reviewers, I skipped the flour and decreased the cheese. I also used a quarter of the butter with great success. I could see this working super with chicken too. Served this with Cafe Rio Cilantro Lime Rice to use up some of the enchilada sauce.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Maito February 02, 2010

Oh my, Oh my, Oh my! The cheese on top defeats the purpose of trying to eat healthy, but the taste is phenomenal! I prepared this for one, using a small grouper fillet. The green chili sauce and chilies are wonderful underneath the monterey jack cheese...I used pepper jack because I like it spicy! I topped this with some pico de gallo with lots of cilantro in it, and it worked very well. This will be a regular rotation for me...I loved it! Made for ZWT5. Thanks so much for this fabulous recipe!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
breezermom May 22, 2009

Yum! I really love this recipe! I used Tilapia. Custom made in individual serving dishes according to kids taste - went light on the salsa verde I used for green chile sauce for theirs. Even my picky eater was scraping the bottom of the dish. Served over brown rice.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Julie F September 16, 2010

I modified this a little bit only because I didn't have all of the ingredients on hand. I used pollock because I had it in the freezer and didn't know what to do with it. Didn't have the green chili sauce so just used salsa, added sliced jalapenos and black olives over the top. This was an easy dinner and I'm sure I'll make it again! thanks for the recipe!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
browniepie May 25, 2006

YUM! I used red snapper and salsa verde with the green chilies. I skipped the flour but still sauted in butter first. Excellent new recipe for fish. I can see it on chicken as well. I served it with corn salad and refried beans. Thanks for a great new fish dish!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
tanial72 January 24, 2016

Delicious!!! I cut the recipe in half, used cod and pepper jack cheese for the cheese and followed the rest of the instructions. This is such an easy recipe to make and one that will go into our rotation. Topped with homemade salsa and cilantro. Thank you for posting. Made for Cooking Tag Mania.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
mama smurf October 18, 2013

Oh my, this was delicious! I love fish and I will make this many times! I used Tilapia and it was perfect and so easy! Thank you for posting it Pot Scrubber!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Gingin7 August 05, 2012

Awesome recipe!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chef Weezy March 12, 2012

Can't believe I forgot to review this- I make it fairly often, and it's yummy! I've used tilapia, flounder, and snapper... all work well. And I always garnish with fresh cilantro- the flavor is awesome!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Kizzikate February 07, 2011

Made it tonight, and it is easy and delicious. My only caveat is to watch the salt. Mine turned out a bit salty. The only salt I added was blended with the flour, and I didn't think it was that much, but combined with the butter, green chili sauce and cheese, it was too much. Next time I will leave out the salt and add at the table.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
digsblues April 15, 2010
Mexican Fish