Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Mexican Fish Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Mexican Fish

    Average Rating:

    39 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 39

    Sort by:

    • on February 02, 2010

      Wow, this is really awesome! I used green enchilada sauce for the green chili sauce, since I was not sure what that was. Like other reviewers, I skipped the flour and decreased the cheese. I also used a quarter of the butter with great success. I could see this working super with chicken too. Served this with Cafe Rio Cilantro Lime Rice to use up some of the enchilada sauce.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 22, 2009

      Oh my, Oh my, Oh my! The cheese on top defeats the purpose of trying to eat healthy, but the taste is phenomenal! I prepared this for one, using a small grouper fillet. The green chili sauce and chilies are wonderful underneath the monterey jack cheese...I used pepper jack because I like it spicy! I topped this with some pico de gallo with lots of cilantro in it, and it worked very well. This will be a regular rotation for me...I loved it! Made for ZWT5. Thanks so much for this fabulous recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 16, 2010

      Yum! I really love this recipe! I used Tilapia. Custom made in individual serving dishes according to kids taste - went light on the salsa verde I used for green chile sauce for theirs. Even my picky eater was scraping the bottom of the dish. Served over brown rice.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 25, 2006

      I modified this a little bit only because I didn't have all of the ingredients on hand. I used pollock because I had it in the freezer and didn't know what to do with it. Didn't have the green chili sauce so just used salsa, added sliced jalapenos and black olives over the top. This was an easy dinner and I'm sure I'll make it again! thanks for the recipe!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 18, 2013

      Delicious!!! I cut the recipe in half, used cod and pepper jack cheese for the cheese and followed the rest of the instructions. This is such an easy recipe to make and one that will go into our rotation. Topped with homemade salsa and cilantro. Thank you for posting. Made for Cooking Tag Mania.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 05, 2012

      Oh my, this was delicious! I love fish and I will make this many times! I used Tilapia and it was perfect and so easy! Thank you for posting it Pot Scrubber!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 12, 2012

      Awesome recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 07, 2011

      Can't believe I forgot to review this- I make it fairly often, and it's yummy! I've used tilapia, flounder, and snapper... all work well. And I always garnish with fresh cilantro- the flavor is awesome!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 15, 2010

      Made it tonight, and it is easy and delicious. My only caveat is to watch the salt. Mine turned out a bit salty. The only salt I added was blended with the flour, and I didn't think it was that much, but combined with the butter, green chili sauce and cheese, it was too much. Next time I will leave out the salt and add at the table.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 02, 2009

      I have been completely converted, this fish was delicious! I'm not really a big fish lover, but love this I did. In the past, the only way I would eat fish is by battering and deep frying it. We had some fresh Atlantic Haddock filets brought in for my fish loving husband and father, so I wanted to try something different that maybe would appeal to me. I can honestly say that this is the first time I have ever said "I love this fish" and really meant it! We made it exactly as written, with the exception of having to use plain cheddar cheese as I had no jack. Flaky fish without a fishy taste, the flavours of the chili sauce and cilantro make this a gorgeous dish, I served it with your recipe for Mexican rice, another winner in my household. I've always known I should have more fish in my diet, and now I will. The next day for lunch we made fish tacos with the extra filet that was leftover, yummo. Thanks my dear friend, I'd give this 10 stars if I could! :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 13, 2009

      This is the best fish I've ever had. No exaggeration. I used Halibut and the entire family cleaned the fish off of their plates. Thanks for posting a great, quick dinner!! Made for ZWT5.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 10, 2009

      This was delicious and really easy to make. I used tilapia too, and it turned out great, thanks! Made for The Rail Riding Rowdies ZWT5.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 25, 2009

      Really delicious. I used up some tilapia fillets I had in the freezer. We all gobbled it up and I'm looking forward to making this again soon.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 24, 2009

      Made this for dinner last night and it was amazing! Had 2 smaller portions of True Cod left in the freezer and I only wish we had more. :) We sauteed them in 1 tbsp butter 1 tbsp olive oil. Sprinkled very lightly with cheese. Recommending for my non-fish eating mother to try this! Thanks so much for posting Pot Scrubber. :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 25, 2009

      Wow! My husband said this tastes just like it came from a Mexican restaurant. I used Hatch chili cooking sauce--put 1/2 c. over cooked rice I placed around the fish. I topped it with the grated cheese and cilantro. Ever so easy and so tasty, this will be a regular in our house. We think pork or chicken would work equally well.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 16, 2009

      Loved it. Big hit with the men in my house too. It's going in my favorites file. Thanks Potsie!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 12, 2008

      I've been dying to try this fish, and I wasn't disappointed! I have to admit to being a bit skeptical considering the list of ingredients is so short, but the flavors blend very well together. I didn't change a thing other than keeping it in the skillet to finish cooking. I served it with Roasted Green Chilies in Cumin-Garlic Cream and Quick Spanish Rice. Thanks for an awesome recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 08, 2008

      I added this to my cookbook months ago and finally made it last night. My partner and I loved this! Hubbie liked it so much he's taking the leftovers with him to work for lunch today!! Thanks for sharing Potsie!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 10, 2008

      my hubby and daughter seamed to like this, but the red snapper was WAY too strong for me. I will try again with tilapia instead, a more mild fish.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 02, 2008

      I made this tonight after finding the recipe on line. I used talapia and it was delicous. So easy to make. This will be a recipe to prepare for company!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Mexican Fish

    Serving Size: 1 (252 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 6

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 542.0
     
    Calories from Fat 294
    54%
    Total Fat 32.7 g
    50%
    Saturated Fat 19.7 g
    98%
    Cholesterol 140.9 mg
    46%
    Sodium 713.2 mg
    29%
    Total Carbohydrate 10.6 g
    3%
    Dietary Fiber 1.0 g
    4%
    Sugars 1.5 g
    6%
    Protein 49.8 g
    99%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites