Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Mexican Enchilada Sauce Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Mexican Enchilada Sauce

    Average Rating:

    172 Total Reviews

    Showing 161-172 of 172

    Sort by:

    • on December 31, 2006

      The use of cocoa in the sauce made it attractive to me, since I love Mole. It added smokiness and depth, but did not make the sauce sweet. Since I knew I was making the recipe for chicken enchiladas, I boiled 3 extra large chicken breasts in water to cover, and used 3 C. of the remaining "broth" to replace the water. Replaced garlic salt with 1 tsp. jarred, roasted garlic. Added 1/2 tsp. cocoa powder and 1-4 oz. can diced green chiles to deepen the smokiness flavor. Next time may cut the chili powder a bit. My fiance and I have a high tolerance for heat/spices -- but to me, the chili powder flavor predominated. This may be the result of the brand of chili powder I used. McCormack brand seems more powerful than bargain powder, and McCormack is what I used. For the recipe: corn tortillas, shredded chicken moistened with the sauce and shredded cheddar inside, sauce on the bottom of the baking dish and over the top of the assembled enchiladas, and extra shredded cheddar on top. This sauce is much better than canned sauce, and low fat too! If my fiance liked sour cream, I would've added a bit to the sauce. Next I'll ry add a bit of cream cheese to thicken, and mellow the overall flavor.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 18, 2006

      Yum! The cocoa powder adds a nice touch. I was able to keep the spice under control so that my 6yo would even eat it! We really enjoyed this on our enchiladas and will be doing it again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 07, 2006

      I also like this sauce it didn't come out to thick as I like next time I will cut down water and maybe try tomatoe paste instead. I doubled cocoa powder and chili. Nice taste. Better than canned and not to spicey for the kids.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 16, 2006

      I loved the flavor of this sauce! My husband is allergic to garlic so I had to make a chili powder mixture without garlic and skip the garlic salt. The cocoa in this recipe made such a nice rich flavor that I didn't miss the garlic.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 25, 2006

      Excellent! I used with Easy Cheesy Ground Beef Enchiladas and they both complimented each other. Thanks so much for a great dinner!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 19, 2006

      I too try to stay away from canned items when cooking due to all of the preservatives and found this recipe to be a great substitute for enchilada sauce. I had tried three other recipes prior to trying this one and this is the only one that comes close to the flavors served at authentic mexican restaurants. I would love to see other recipes from grmil, if you have any please send them to me.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 02, 2006

    • on April 02, 2006

      Very different from the canned version. It is darker and richer. I like it and will make it often.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 11, 2006

      I hate canned enchilada sauce but always thought making your own would be a huge complicated ordeal. Enter this recipe...super easy, very tasty and the recipe makes enough for a large meal. I will definitely make this one again!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 02, 2006

      This is the most amazing enchilada sauce ive ever had, I will never buy it in a can again. Although I did add 2 more tablespoons of chili powder (I like spicy) the recipe couldnt have been more perfect. I appreciate the recipe and I will definitely reccommend it to others

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 18, 2005

      This sauce was really good. It sure beats the expensive cans of preservative and sodium filled sauce at the store!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 24, 2005

      This was great in my enchilada casserole! My daughter who hates spicey foods loved it... I did cut back on the chili powder by 1 tablespoon... My husband wasn't sure about the cocoa powder but he said he really liked the sauce and wouldn't leave it out...

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    1... 4 5 6 7 8 9 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Mexican Enchilada Sauce

    Serving Size: 1 (165 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 3

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 72.6
     
    Calories from Fat 13
    17%
    Total Fat 1.4 g
    2%
    Saturated Fat 0.2 g
    1%
    Cholesterol 0.0 mg
    0%
    Sodium 538.1 mg
    22%
    Total Carbohydrate 14.8 g
    4%
    Dietary Fiber 4.4 g
    17%
    Sugars 3.8 g
    15%
    Protein 3.1 g
    6%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites