Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Mexican Enchilada Sauce Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Mexican Enchilada Sauce

    Average Rating:

    172 Total Reviews

    Showing 141-160 of 172

    Sort by:

    • on December 05, 2007

      Great recipe! I added a little cumin and it was perfect. So easy! It goes great with beef and onion enchiladas. Sautee onions in a little oil and add fresh chopped garlic and ground beef and cook until done. Add a little sauce to the meat mixture and roll it in tortillas and cover with sauce and cheese then bake until bubbly. This has become one of my family's favorite meals!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 24, 2007

      Quick and easy. I added some cumin and onion powder and reduced the water to 2 cups as I like my sauce on the thicker side. I love that it can easily be made with ingredients from the pantry.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 24, 2007

      I reduced the amount of chili powder by 1 tablespoon and it was perfect for my family. I like hot food, they do not. I made onion and cheese enchiladas with the sauce and one of the comments made was "Those enchiladas were the bomb!" I've always wanted to know how to make my own Enchilada sauce, but have been slightly afraid to try. This recipe was authentic!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 18, 2007

      i will never buy canned enchilada sauce again! my 4 yr old son even loved it, and he hates everything!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 13, 2007

      So easy and SO delicious!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 31, 2007

      Unbelievably great. I am currently in Mexico where you can not find pre-made sauce. I will never use the can again. I have been healed! Kudos to you for sharing.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 29, 2007

      I used whole wheat flour, left out the oregano, used 2 TB chili powder, doubled the tomato sauce and used a little extra 'milk chocolate hot cocoa mix" because I didn't have cocoa powder. It came out sooo yummy. Thank you, Donna!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 29, 2007

      This is absolutely delicious enchilada sauce. The cocoa powder really does give it great flavor. Would make again for sure!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 27, 2007

      I have made this recipe three times now and it just gets better and better; and so easy to make! Once you try it, you will NEVER use canned enchilada sauce again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 23, 2007

      Fabulous!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 22, 2007

      This sauce is delicious. It’s very close to what I’ve had in Mexican restaurants. I used it on cheese enchiladas, and the dark color threw me off a little bit. At first I thought I had burned it, but it was from the coca. I made one change to the recipe. I only had a 14 ounce can of tomato sauce, and because I didn’t want to refrigerate half a can, or double the recipe, I added the whole can. The flavor was still rich with just the right amount of spiciness. I will be using this sauce again and again. Thank you for the recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 05, 2007

      Delicious!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 14, 2007

      I'm addicted to this sauce!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 08, 2007

      Makes a beautiful sauce!! I upped the chili powder by a tablespoon.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 06, 2007

      The sauce really added to the Enchiladas I made last night. I made it as posted and I thought the results were great. I ran out of regular chili powder so I also used some ancho chile poweder. I really liked this because it was not sweet and the amount of tomato sauce was perfect for us. I will definitely use this recipe again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 15, 2007

      This sauce was perfect. I was sceptical about the 3 cups of water and only 8oz of tomato sauce, but gave it a try. I'm glad I did. Praise to the girl from Mexico City who gave this recipe to Donna Matthews. Equal praise to Donna for sharing this with the rest of us.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 27, 2007

      This was EXACTLY what I was looking for. It's a rich mahogany brown color and you cannot taste the tomato sauce at all. This would also be a terrific base for chili. A mexican friend of mine suggested to dip the tortillas in a simmering mixture of water, oil and chili powder.. this worked perfectly with out making the tortillas greasy. Terrific authentic recipe.. thanks Donna!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 23, 2007

      I was having Mexican tonite and fixed this just in case. I did add a little cumin otherwise followed the recipe. DH said OMY this is so good and its the sauce that makes the meal. Don't buy Enchilada Sauce ever again. I doubled the batch and divided it for the freezer. Thanks for the good and cheap recipe. I think it cost me the price of a can of tomato sauce for about 6 servings. I'm freezing most of it. Gloria

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 02, 2007

      This is the one! I was looking for a enchilada sauce that tasted as good as what our favorite Mexican eatery serves. This is it! I used chicken broth in place of the water, but used the full amount of spices called for. It was just right. My dh and sons agreed that we want to use this for not only enchiladas but also tacos and all other Mexican meals that need a sauce. This is a real money saver too. Tonight I used this sauce with(Mexican Manicotti). Thanks Donna for this delicious recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 14, 2007

      Fantabulous sauce! My hubby and I ADORE this sauce, and when I made it I doubled the recipe. I gave away two small bottles of it to friends, and then we had part of it for pork enchiladas, for enchilada nachos, and for sauce on our burritos. This is excellent sauce, and I recommend it to anyone looking for a fast, and yummy sauce for enchiladas, or just to dip your chips into! ;)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Mexican Enchilada Sauce

    Serving Size: 1 (165 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 3

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 72.6
     
    Calories from Fat 13
    17%
    Total Fat 1.4 g
    2%
    Saturated Fat 0.2 g
    1%
    Cholesterol 0.0 mg
    0%
    Sodium 538.1 mg
    22%
    Total Carbohydrate 14.8 g
    4%
    Dietary Fiber 4.4 g
    17%
    Sugars 3.8 g
    15%
    Protein 3.1 g
    6%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites