173 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

I made this for my husbands parents from El Salvador. Though the Salvadoran variation is a little different, they loved it PHEW!. My husband and kids decouverd in ontop or this masa tortillas and shredded chicken. I highly recomend this as an authentic latin amrican dish. So says my in-laws.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Abby, Sarah & Eli's Mom February 22, 2010

I made this sauce for the first time about 4 months ago. I have not bought canned enchilada sauce since! This is the most amazing enchilada sauce recipe I have ever come across/tasted! I would give 6 stars if I could! Thank you Donna for sharing this!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
smcandella February 19, 2010

Both delicious and easy!! I did sub 1 can low sodium beef broth for water (about 2 cups) and only needed another 1/2 cup of water. I was tempted to make other tweaks (like adding cumin or smoked paprika, or using a roux to thicken it...) but this recipe is excellent exactly as written, and SO easy to make with ingredients I always have on hand. It was a big hit.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Gatorbek February 17, 2010

This is so easy to make & incredibly good! I will never buy canned enchilada sauce again! THANK YOU! nancy

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
n.long1 February 06, 2010

I used this last night on our enchiladias....delicious. This is easy to put together and I have the ingredients on hand at all times. No more boughten sauce, thank you for sharing.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
mommyoffour January 21, 2010

I made beef enchiladas and was looking for a sauce to bake them in. This was so good and exactly what I was looking for. Great taste, and made for a fraction of the cost of store bought!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
karens2kids January 19, 2010

I made this to go with tamales I got from Central Market. I love it! I made some chicken enchiladas a few days later and used this to top them. Oh so good!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
chefpam January 14, 2010

Wow, that was delicious! I used some chili cocoa powder rather than separate ingredients, and sauteed some onions to mix in with it, but yum yum yum yum yum!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Timmy Mac January 10, 2010

Great sauce! I was a bit worried about the tomato in it, but I thought with all the good reviews it was worth a try. The tomato flavour just adds something to the background without lessing the key flavours of the sauce. I quite like Mexican sauces with cocoa and this is a great example of how well it does work in savoury sauces. I made it for Dad's Favorite Chicken Enchiladas (Dad's Favorite Chicken Enchiladas). Will do again for sure!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Tea Girl January 02, 2010

Very good recipe with a very authentic flavor. Don't skip the cocoa powder (it's not sweet, used Hershey brand) it really is an essential ingredient in this recipe! I used Mexican Oregano rather then oregano because it does have a different taste. I doubled the recipe and made 5 cups of sauce. Used one cup today and then put the rest in 1 cup bags to be frozen for a later date.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Donna S. December 29, 2009
Mexican Enchilada Sauce