Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Mexican Enchilada Sauce Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Mexican Enchilada Sauce

    Average Rating:

    172 Total Reviews

    Showing 101-120 of 172

    Sort by:

    • on January 04, 2009

      I use pasilla chili powder for dark, delicious sauce. You won't be able to find this wonderful, authentic sauce in a can. I followed the directions exactly with great results. Like any sauce, it's even better the second day. Thank you, Donna!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 03, 2009

      Great recipe! I used the exact ingredients and just added cilantro! Tasted great on shrimp enchiladas! Will use again and again!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 02, 2009

      This is the best enchilada sauce I have ever had the pleasure of making AND sampling. I've made this 4 times now with reliable (and delicious) results every time. Thank you so much for sharing Donna!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 01, 2009

      Wonderful enchilada sauce with the cocoa adding depth of flavor. I made a half batch of this to serve with some purchased tamales. I will be making this again with enchiladas.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 10, 2008

      This is a great enchilada sauce recipe. I made my chicken enchiladas last night and used this sauce and they tasted great. I will be using this from now on instead of buying it in the store. I didn't have garlic salt, so I used garlic powder and salt. Thanks for the recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 09, 2008

      This is a wonderfully delicious and easy enchilada sauce. I will never buy the package mix or the canned variety again. My hubby does not like his dishes overly spicy and he thought this one had the perfect amount of heat. My beef and cheese enchiladas tasted like they had come from the kitchen of our favorite Mexican restaurant. Thank you for a great recipe

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 01, 2008

      This is a great enchilada sauce recipe. Like many others have said "This is the one" it is excellant. Thank You

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 19, 2008

      My family and I enjoyed this on our enchiladas so much that we are going to have them again next week! Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 26, 2008

      Such a good sauce recipe Donna! I use it all the time in my cooking. The flavor is perfect for all our favorite Mexican dishes! Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 20, 2008

    • on July 28, 2008

      This is the best and most simple. I use 15 oz. can of tomato sauce (not to waste) and reduce water by seven ounces. The cocoa is key to the flavor.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 27, 2008

      Missing one star only for the extra time it took me to get this to reduce at all...about 10 minutes or so. Otherwise- completely delicious, great consistency, nice depth of flavor and definitely better than the canned stuff. Thanks for posting!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 26, 2008

      Excellent. Mixed with beef/pork/onion/garlic mixture and that froze beautifully. Thanks so much!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 22, 2008

      I needed to make homemade enchilada sauce for another recipe because it called for canned sauce and I didn't have any on hand. Luckily I had all the ingredients on hand for this one except I used Mexican Oregano instead of regular. This is the best enchilada sauce I've had and it was so easy to make. I had leftovers so I will definitely be using it and making it again. Thanks for the great recipe, Donna!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 19, 2008

      Amazing recipe!! I LOVE enchilada sauce, but the stuff in the cans and jars doesn't come anywhere close to what you get in a restaurant. This recipe is exactly the flavor I have been hoping to find. THANK YOU!! I made it exactly as written, didn't change one thing about it.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 16, 2008

      Wow! This was EXCELLENT. We halved the recipe and sauteed it with zucchini, yellow bell pepper and tofu. This was an excellent sauce to accompany our meal, thank you so much for adding an easy and inexpensive twist to our everyday meals.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 07, 2008

      This was my first time I've made enchilada sauce from scratch. Much better then canned. We loved it! Its a keeper. Thank you!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 01, 2008

      I had some leftover cooked ground turkey I needed to use up and decided to make enchiladas. I sauteed onions, peppers, and garlic to the meat, added some of this sauce. They came out delicious although a little salty. I always season up any meat I make so the next time I make this I'll sub out the 1/2 tsp. of garlic salt for garlic powder. Very easy to make. Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 07, 2008

    • on May 03, 2008

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Mexican Enchilada Sauce

    Serving Size: 1 (165 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 3

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 72.6
     
    Calories from Fat 13
    17%
    Total Fat 1.4 g
    2%
    Saturated Fat 0.2 g
    1%
    Cholesterol 0.0 mg
    0%
    Sodium 538.1 mg
    22%
    Total Carbohydrate 14.8 g
    4%
    Dietary Fiber 4.4 g
    17%
    Sugars 3.8 g
    15%
    Protein 3.1 g
    6%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites