Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Mexican Enchilada Sauce Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Mexican Enchilada Sauce

    Average Rating:

    172 Total Reviews

    Showing 81-100 of 172

    Sort by:

    • on August 28, 2009

      Quick and simple to make on the spur of the moment. It was great to pour over our enchiladas! I can't imagine not liking this sauce :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 22, 2009

      Thank you! This is the best. Great flavor.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 14, 2009

    • on August 08, 2009

      Awesome! I've been looking for this recipe forever! I love the sauce they put over the enchiladas and tamales in the Mexican restaurants but I've never been able to duplicate it.... until now. Thank you Donna for posting this recipe. I'll be using it over and over again for years to come!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 01, 2009

      This is my go-to enchilada sauce recipe. Thank you for posting!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 30, 2009

      Incredible! And that is all that needs saying!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 08, 2009

      I thought that 3 cups of water with only 8 oz of tomato sauce sounded odd compared to other enchilada sauces I've made, but this really works! Good stuff!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 07, 2009

      This sauce is delicious and simple to make! I added a touch of cumin and salt and it was great! Next time I may add a little more cocoa to see how that is - but overall, this recipe is a keeper!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • This sauce was the perfect addition for my Enchiladas! My DD's and I really enjoyed them very much. The sauce had great flavor!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 27, 2009

      I love this recipe because the ingredents are ones that most of us would already have in our cabinets. I wish I would have used less chili powder or perhaps a higher quality one or a couple of different types for more depth. I ended up needing to water down the sauce. The sauce has a wonderful color and I plan on making the sauce in the future.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 25, 2009

      Thank you Donna- this sauce is so good I could cry. I grew up in California with mexican food a staple in my diet. However for the past 20+ years have been living in north eastern Canada. Needless to say Mexican cooking is a rarity here as most ingredients are difficult to find. This recipe has expanded the repitore of meals I can serve family and guests and it gives me a boost when feeling homesick. I added the chili powder one T at a time but ended up using it all ;) I also used fresh garlic, and a bit of cumin and cinnamon. Wonderful!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 17, 2009

      Great enchilada sauce! I don't need to buy canned anymore. Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 04, 2009

      Very good sauce. We used hot chili powder which gave this a bit of a kick. Thanks for a yummy recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 02, 2009

      Fabulous--the first sauce I have ever made that did not taste overwhelmingly of tomato. I will be making it this way from now on! Always trust a Mexican grandmother to know!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 18, 2009

      Easy and really good flavor. I used ancho chili powder and 1/2 tsp garlic powder with 1/4 tsp salt instead of the 1/2 tsp garlic salt. This went really nicely in a chicken tortilla casserole. We liked it better than any other enchilada sauce I've tried, canned or homemade. Thanks for sharing.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 07, 2009

      Thank you Donna for a great sauce. I make it and freeze it in 1 cup portions to use in the oven-baked chimichangas (#28148). I haven't actually used it for enchiladas yet, but I will! I'm out so I need to go make some right now.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 03, 2009

      I had to get an account just to comment on this recipe. Thanks Donna! I don't often make enchiladas, but it was "time" and I had forgotten to buy canned sauce like I usually do. I found this recipe and had all the ingredients. This sauce is so fabulous...and easy...and affordable. I'll definitely be making enchiladas more often, and I will never buy another canned sauce! Better than any restaurant sauce I've ever tasted...and infinitely better than what I used to make.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 19, 2009

      My boyfriend and I had tofu enchiladas last night. Neither of us are fans of canned enchilada sauce (our first encounter with it made our dinner taste like a tin can). So I looked for a recipe and this is what I chose! It was nice to have a thick and spicy sauce for a change. I added some cayenne pepper to the spice mixture as well because we like hot hot hot. :) Thanks for sharing!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 08, 2009

      Made for the Comfort Cafe game. This was excellent and it makes a lot. I do have my own enchilada sauce, but its on the hot side and this was a nice change from a hot sauce. Used about 1/3 of this recipe in Enchilada Chops. Thanks for posting this Donna, I will be using this again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 07, 2009

      This was a good recipe for enchilada sauce. I have everything on hand so it's great to use when you don't have any canned sauce. I was leery about the cocoa but you can't tell! Thank you for posting!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Mexican Enchilada Sauce

    Serving Size: 1 (165 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 3

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 72.6
     
    Calories from Fat 13
    17%
    Total Fat 1.4 g
    2%
    Saturated Fat 0.2 g
    1%
    Cholesterol 0.0 mg
    0%
    Sodium 538.1 mg
    22%
    Total Carbohydrate 14.8 g
    4%
    Dietary Fiber 4.4 g
    17%
    Sugars 3.8 g
    15%
    Protein 3.1 g
    6%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes