173 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

I like enchiladas but they can be gratuitiously calorie laden. And the sauce you buy inthe store is not that good. But I had some chicken I wanted to make enchiladas with AND I thought this recipe looked good. The allowed by to avoid over-fatting the tortillas. I just drug them through the warm enchilada sauce and made chicken cheese enchaladas with a little extra sauce poored over the enchiladas. And cheese. I was short of time so I nuked the enchiladas. These were surprisingly good nuked. And since it is just DH and I, I have left over enchilada sauce. Will be making more. And I say that with anticipation.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
MollyJ January 25, 2012

Easy and delicious, so much better than anything in a can! Will make this from now on.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Mgnbos January 08, 2012

If I could take away stars I would. Absolutely the worst I have ever tasted!! I added onion salt, cayenne pepper, more garlic, salt and brown sugar to give it flavor.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
jfpb1965 December 21, 2011

So good! I was looking for a way to use up all of the left over broth from making shredded beef and used that instead of water in this recipe. I used the shredded beef to stuff the enchiladas and gf flour (I have a gluten allergy) and everyone in my house LOVED it! Thanks for posting!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
ellorente September 07, 2011

Very easy and very tasty, all with ingredients I had on hand. Very economical, there will be absolutely no need to buy enchilada sauce again with this recipe in my collection. Thanks Donna for sharing.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
shondad1 August 21, 2011

I will never buy canned sauce again, truely an authentic recipe, I love the flavor and ease of this sauce, It makes alot of sauce, but ive found out it freezes well!!! Thank you

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
supermommy83 June 24, 2011

I add a bit of cayenne pepper for a bit more kick, But awesome recipe.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
violetuk June 13, 2011

This is the best! Many enchilada sauces I have tried are too bitter. This is flavorful and smooth. Thanks for a great recipe!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
YeringtonGal May 13, 2011

sorry me and my family doesn't like this recipe

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
farhat2 May 03, 2011
Mexican Enchilada Sauce