175 Reviews

OMG ~ never buy enchilada sauce again. I found a copycat recipe for Taco Bell's Enchiritos and it tasted identical using this sauce. Yum Yum Yum. I can't say enough about this recipe. Thank you so much.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Mrs.Chilton February 26, 2010

OMG!!! I made this recipe because I had a pound of lean ground beef in my fridge, 7 corn tortillas in a bag and no money for the next couple of days. The sauce reminded me of the food I had in Mexico a few years back. Absolutely SUPER, easy to make, and altogether wonderful. I used a 5.5 oz can of V8 to make the paste, cut the chili powder back to 2 instead of 3 Tbsps. and cut the water by 1 cup. It's fabulous and I can't thank you enough!!!!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
rphammons February 09, 2010

Thanks so much Donna, your recipe has changed my life. I now use this in almost anything Mexican I cook.. works great if you add a cup to your Mexican rice too.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
JLENAKER January 30, 2010

I debated and debated about how to review this recipe. First I want to say that it is delicious and it seemed to get better the next day. However, I did take some liberties in how I prepared this. I was cooking some pork strips (shoulder cuts) in the crock pot, found some tomatoes that had been cooked down in the freezer so I wanted to use up both of them together. Was thinking Italian until I saw this recipe and immediately switched as I have all ingredients on hand. I omitted the water and tomatoe sauce in lieu of the cooked tomatoes. Put everything in the crock pot except the flour and cooked on low until i got home from work (9 hours or so). I then took the pork out and let it cool, prepared the flour by making a slurry with water and added that to the crock, turned it to high. I shredded the pork and made enchiladas with the pork and this lovely dark rich colored sauce. They were good that night, but even better the next day! It makes a mighty tastey enchilada. I will be passing this on to my daughter as it fixable for a vegetarian. Thank you for posting this wonderful sauce Ms Mattthews :)

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
:)Shirl(: July 20, 2008

I must admit that I tasted the sauce before I put it on the enchiladas and wasn't impressed, but I didn't have any choice but to move forward with it. I'm so glad that I did because something magical happened in the oven; the enchiladas turned out great. I used Easiest Beef Enchiladas Ever!. What a winning combination! Thanks for the recipe, Donna! I will use it whenever I make enchiladas.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Pixielicious January 30, 2008

Exquisite! Only made a few tweaks. I used masa instead of flour, two types of chili powder and added onion powder. It's magical! Thank you so much for this recipe! I hope you don't mind me tweaking it a bit. ;)

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
aebwyatt January 23, 2016

Awesome! I doubled the cumin and increased the chili powder. I'm going to save this recipe and I'll probably never buy canned enchilada sauce again.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
AmandaMcG November 24, 2015

Great recipe. Only addition was a tsp of cumin, otherwise followed recipe exactly. Heat can be controlled by type of chile powder used. Much better than canned enchilada sauce!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
duke246 September 27, 2015

Simpler being better, this is really good as is. Albeit, like most humans, I find myself unable to escape meddling and "leave well enough alone;" thus, I have to say a touch more garlic is indeed an enhancement. I also replaced a couple teaspoons of water with ketchup to afford enough sweet to contrast the aromatics and salt--a bit of brown or white sugar would suffice. Finally, an ever so small--I'm talking teensty-weentsy pinch; in fact "pinch" is too much--just the tiniest nearly unoticable hint of chinese 5 spice actually improves upon this recipe's excellence. Just my humble opinion.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
David S #2 March 20, 2015

I liked this recipe a lot. You can't taste the cocoa exactly, but it really adds that special something to the flavor profile. I used this sauce when making the <a href="http://www.food.com/recipe/leftover-chicken-enchiladas-302370">Left Over Chicken Enchiladas Recipe"</a> - it's a good combination.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Heather'sCookin February 15, 2014
Mexican Enchilada Sauce