Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Mexican Enchilada Sauce Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Mexican Enchilada Sauce

    Average Rating:

    172 Total Reviews

    Showing 21-40 of 172

    Sort by:

    • on March 04, 2013

      My go-to sauce for enchiladas! No yucky preservative liked the canned ones and super quick and easy to make.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 19, 2013

      Excellent. Loved that it didn't use oil. I was nervous about the cocoa powder, but it was so good. I changed up the spices for my preferences. Glad i made lots extra.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 27, 2013

      I just made this. I used fresh minced garlic probably more salt than called for, and T of ancho chili powder rather than 3 of generic chili. OMG. You just gotta love those rare occasions when the very simplest is also the very best. This is, hands down, the best enchilada sauce I have ever made. Finally, the secret recipe! Thank you, thank you, thank you for posting it.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 09, 2012

      nice recipe. so easy. better than can sauces

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 22, 2012

      This is definitely worth the extra effort to make, as it's so much better than store-bought enchilada sauce. Thanks for sharing- this made my enchiladas taste great :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 17, 2012

      Was a great recipe.. although might cut back on chili powder to 3 tablespoons..

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 20, 2012

      Yummy! I made this to put on chili stuffed enchiladas. This is by far the best recipe for enchilada sauce I've found. I made it as written and wouldn't change a thing. Thanks for sharing.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 16, 2012

      I made this just as it is written. By far the best enchilada sauce I've ever had! I'm thinking of making up a huge batch and canning it.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 25, 2012

      I like enchiladas but they can be gratuitiously calorie laden. And the sauce you buy inthe store is not that good. But I had some chicken I wanted to make enchiladas with AND I thought this recipe looked good. The allowed by to avoid over-fatting the tortillas. I just drug them through the warm enchilada sauce and made chicken cheese enchaladas with a little extra sauce poored over the enchiladas. And cheese. I was short of time so I nuked the enchiladas. These were surprisingly good nuked. And since it is just DH and I, I have left over enchilada sauce. Will be making more. And I say that with anticipation.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 08, 2012

      Easy and delicious, so much better than anything in a can! Will make this from now on.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 21, 2011

      If I could take away stars I would. Absolutely the worst I have ever tasted!! I added onion salt, cayenne pepper, more garlic, salt and brown sugar to give it flavor.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 10, 2011

    • on September 07, 2011

      So good! I was looking for a way to use up all of the left over broth from making shredded beef and used that instead of water in this recipe. I used the shredded beef to stuff the enchiladas and gf flour (I have a gluten allergy) and everyone in my house LOVED it! Thanks for posting!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 21, 2011

      Very easy and very tasty, all with ingredients I had on hand. Very economical, there will be absolutely no need to buy enchilada sauce again with this recipe in my collection. Thanks Donna for sharing.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 24, 2011

      I will never buy canned sauce again, truely an authentic recipe, I love the flavor and ease of this sauce, It makes alot of sauce, but ive found out it freezes well!!! Thank you

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 13, 2011

      I add a bit of cayenne pepper for a bit more kick, But awesome recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 13, 2011

      This is the best! Many enchilada sauces I have tried are too bitter. This is flavorful and smooth. Thanks for a great recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 03, 2011

      sorry me and my family doesn't like this recipe

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 03, 2011

      Found this recipe kind of by mistake. What a wonderful mistake! The cocoa intrigued me. I had to make it. I was planning enchiladas for a future night, but I couldn't wait. I love that all the ingredients are those that you have on hand. I made them tonight and we loved this sauce. I will never buy a can again. I made it a little spicy, but we like it that way. Very much like what I had in Mexico. I didn't have any trouble with it thickening. And yes...it freezes very well. Enjoy!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 16, 2011

      This is a keeper, although I did very slightly alter it to suit my taste. It also makes WAY more than I can use, so I found a solution that works for me. I take all the dry ingredients, double or triple, and put them in a spice jar. When I want to make this I can use the amount that works for me - just add a squirt of paste & the water. Canned sauce today was $1.58. My little spice jar - that will go mucho further - much less. Not to mention that in a small kitchen the spice jar takes up far less space than a can.

      Don't skip the cocoa.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Mexican Enchilada Sauce

    Serving Size: 1 (165 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 3

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 72.6
     
    Calories from Fat 13
    17%
    Total Fat 1.4 g
    2%
    Saturated Fat 0.2 g
    1%
    Cholesterol 0.0 mg
    0%
    Sodium 538.1 mg
    22%
    Total Carbohydrate 14.8 g
    4%
    Dietary Fiber 4.4 g
    17%
    Sugars 3.8 g
    15%
    Protein 3.1 g
    6%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites