173 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

OMG ~ never buy enchilada sauce again. I found a copycat recipe for Taco Bell's Enchiritos and it tasted identical using this sauce. Yum Yum Yum. I can't say enough about this recipe. Thank you so much.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Mrs.Chilton February 26, 2010

OMG!!! I made this recipe because I had a pound of lean ground beef in my fridge, 7 corn tortillas in a bag and no money for the next couple of days. The sauce reminded me of the food I had in Mexico a few years back. Absolutely SUPER, easy to make, and altogether wonderful. I used a 5.5 oz can of V8 to make the paste, cut the chili powder back to 2 instead of 3 Tbsps. and cut the water by 1 cup. It's fabulous and I can't thank you enough!!!!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
rphammons February 09, 2010

Thanks so much Donna, your recipe has changed my life. I now use this in almost anything Mexican I cook.. works great if you add a cup to your Mexican rice too.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
JLENAKER January 30, 2010

I debated and debated about how to review this recipe. First I want to say that it is delicious and it seemed to get better the next day. However, I did take some liberties in how I prepared this. I was cooking some pork strips (shoulder cuts) in the crock pot, found some tomatoes that had been cooked down in the freezer so I wanted to use up both of them together. Was thinking Italian until I saw this recipe and immediately switched as I have all ingredients on hand. I omitted the water and tomatoe sauce in lieu of the cooked tomatoes. Put everything in the crock pot except the flour and cooked on low until i got home from work (9 hours or so). I then took the pork out and let it cool, prepared the flour by making a slurry with water and added that to the crock, turned it to high. I shredded the pork and made enchiladas with the pork and this lovely dark rich colored sauce. They were good that night, but even better the next day! It makes a mighty tastey enchilada. I will be passing this on to my daughter as it fixable for a vegetarian. Thank you for posting this wonderful sauce Ms Mattthews :)

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
:)Shirl(: July 20, 2008

I must admit that I tasted the sauce before I put it on the enchiladas and wasn't impressed, but I didn't have any choice but to move forward with it. I'm so glad that I did because something magical happened in the oven; the enchiladas turned out great. I used Easiest Beef Enchiladas Ever!. What a winning combination! Thanks for the recipe, Donna! I will use it whenever I make enchiladas.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Pixielicious January 30, 2008

Simpler being better, this is really good as is. Albeit, like most humans, I find myself unable to escape meddling and "leave well enough alone;" thus, I have to say a touch more garlic is indeed an enhancement. I also replaced a couple teaspoons of water with ketchup to afford enough sweet to contrast the aromatics and salt--a bit of brown or white sugar would suffice. Finally, an ever so small--I'm talking teensty-weentsy pinch; in fact "pinch" is too much--just the tiniest nearly unoticable hint of chinese 5 spice actually improves upon this recipe's excellence. Just my humble opinion.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
David S #2 March 20, 2015

I liked this recipe a lot. You can't taste the cocoa exactly, but it really adds that special something to the flavor profile. I used this sauce when making the <a href="http://www.food.com/recipe/leftover-chicken-enchiladas-302370">Left Over Chicken Enchiladas Recipe"</a> - it's a good combination.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Heather'sCookin February 15, 2014

Made this sauce for our enchilada dinner tonight. I love it. Didn't change anything and really like the heat! I will make again!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
feelikecooking February 05, 2014

This has got to be the BEST sauce I've ever had, it is sure going into my BEST of 2013 Book. Was making recipe 121147 and didn't have any canned so choose this one to try. You are so right about the cocoa being a much needed for this recipe. The only thing I did differant was cut it in half as it was just DH and me but should have made the full amount to have on hand. Next time I'll also try the cumin but don't know how it could be any better. DH said "make sure you tell everyone how great it is" that's some compliment as he never says much. I also liked that it was pretty fast, without a long simmer time. The photo is not the prettiest but it sure tasted great

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Bonnie G #2 November 10, 2013

This was REALLY good! I followed the recipe as written, took a bit to thicken which was fine bc I had it going while I made the rest of the enchiladas. This was my first time making enchilada sauce, but I don't think I need to try any other recipes! Definitely better than anything from a can...obviously. :)

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
VJeandell September 04, 2013
Mexican Enchilada Sauce