173 Reviews

This was a good base recipe. I started with the milder version of the recipe (halved the chili powder, doubled the tomato sauce) and made several of the changes suggested by others: doubled the flour, added 1 tsp. of cumin and subbed chicken broth for the water. It was very good. I will probably up the chili powder to 2 Tbs, next time and perhaps double the garlic salt. It made enough for two pans of enchiladas.

7 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
MamaJen September 11, 2011

So glad i found this recipe! I did make a few changes though, I fallowed the steps accordingly but the sauce was just a little bland to me & i could taste the tomato a little more then i would have liked so i took the advice of another review and added a tbs of cumin which helped but still wasn't great so i added a splash of worcestershire and that seemed to do the trick! Thanks for posting i will defiantly be making this again!! :)

4 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
LilzWorld March 01, 2010

I have had this recipe in my "want to try" file for a long time. I finally made it when I needed a quick sauce to put over some frozen burritos for a meal for my kids. My teenage son commented that it was really good, which is a complement because he usually eats things so fast he hardly notices how they taste. I'm sure I will make this often since it is so tasty, easy and uses common ingredients. Thanks for posting!

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chris from Kansas March 20, 2011

THE BEST. Period. I have made this multiple times and don't even consider buying the inferior canned version. This tastes just like the sauce they use in Amy's enchiladas. I love that sauce so much that I wrote to the company to tell them to please start bottling and selling it. Well, now I don't need to! This stuff is so amazing!!!!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
rachruiz1 May 11, 2010

Impressed!! I'm a Personal Chef and must say that this is one of the BEST recipes I have come across!! Great job on this one!! My families love it so much, it's now one of the most requested sauces!! Thanks again!!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
JazzyCooking November 26, 2012

This was AMAZING!!! I used it for wet burritos. I would cut back just a lil bit on the chili powder (for my taste) and I know this is going to sound really strange but I added just a tiny bit of cinnamon to it to balance out the tomato taste. My family loved it; it was the BEST I WILL ONLY USE THIS FROM NOW ON!!!! THANK YOU FOR THE POST

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Roadrunner October 24, 2012

Made this sauce last night to use in the Enchilada casserole #21410. I agree with other poster about not liking the sauce when I made it but it was fantastic in the casserole. The sauce is easy to make and as Donna points out, adjust the spice to suit your tastes. I find canned tomato sauces lacking in sweet tomato flavor so I added a can of tomato paste to bump up the flavor. Very nice. I will use again for any red enchilada recipe.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Phunny Pharmer March 01, 2012

This is a keeper, although I did very slightly alter it to suit my taste. It also makes WAY more than I can use, so I found a solution that works for me. I take all the dry ingredients, double or triple, and put them in a spice jar. When I want to make this I can use the amount that works for me - just add a squirt of paste & the water. Canned sauce today was $1.58. My little spice jar - that will go mucho further - much less. Not to mention that in a small kitchen the spice jar takes up far less space than a can.

Don't skip the cocoa.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
ala-kat April 16, 2011

Awesome! My only complaint is that I felt like it had to be on the stove a really long time before it thickened up. The flavor was wonderful! I had enough sauce to make 4 large enchiladas and freeze the other half for later use. I'm sure I'll be using this again, it's much better than canned!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
run for your life September 01, 2010

DW and I used this for the enchilada sauce to make Easiest Beef Enchiladas Ever!, and the sauce was superb! We were all very happy with the results, so five stars it is!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
ChefMightyRich May 04, 2010
Mexican Enchilada Sauce