Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Mexican Enchilada Sauce Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Mexican Enchilada Sauce

    Average Rating:

    172 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 172

    Sort by:

    • on September 11, 2011

      This was a good base recipe. I started with the milder version of the recipe (halved the chili powder, doubled the tomato sauce) and made several of the changes suggested by others: doubled the flour, added 1 tsp. of cumin and subbed chicken broth for the water. It was very good. I will probably up the chili powder to 2 Tbs, next time and perhaps double the garlic salt. It made enough for two pans of enchiladas.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 01, 2010

      So glad i found this recipe! I did make a few changes though, I fallowed the steps accordingly but the sauce was just a little bland to me & i could taste the tomato a little more then i would have liked so i took the advice of another review and added a tbs of cumin which helped but still wasn't great so i added a splash of worcestershire and that seemed to do the trick! Thanks for posting i will defiantly be making this again!! :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 20, 2011

      I have had this recipe in my "want to try" file for a long time. I finally made it when I needed a quick sauce to put over some frozen burritos for a meal for my kids. My teenage son commented that it was really good, which is a complement because he usually eats things so fast he hardly notices how they taste. I'm sure I will make this often since it is so tasty, easy and uses common ingredients. Thanks for posting!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 11, 2010

      THE BEST. Period. I have made this multiple times and don't even consider buying the inferior canned version. This tastes just like the sauce they use in Amy's enchiladas. I love that sauce so much that I wrote to the company to tell them to please start bottling and selling it. Well, now I don't need to! This stuff is so amazing!!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 26, 2012

      Impressed!! I'm a Personal Chef and must say that this is one of the BEST recipes I have come across!! Great job on this one!! My families love it so much, it's now one of the most requested sauces!! Thanks again!!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 24, 2012

      This was AMAZING!!! I used it for wet burritos. I would cut back just a lil bit on the chili powder (for my taste) and I know this is going to sound really strange but I added just a tiny bit of cinnamon to it to balance out the tomato taste. My family loved it; it was the BEST I WILL ONLY USE THIS FROM NOW ON!!!! THANK YOU FOR THE POST

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 01, 2012

      Made this sauce last night to use in the Enchilada casserole #21410. I agree with other poster about not liking the sauce when I made it but it was fantastic in the casserole. The sauce is easy to make and as Donna points out, adjust the spice to suit your tastes. I find canned tomato sauces lacking in sweet tomato flavor so I added a can of tomato paste to bump up the flavor. Very nice. I will use again for any red enchilada recipe.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 16, 2011

      This is a keeper, although I did very slightly alter it to suit my taste. It also makes WAY more than I can use, so I found a solution that works for me. I take all the dry ingredients, double or triple, and put them in a spice jar. When I want to make this I can use the amount that works for me - just add a squirt of paste & the water. Canned sauce today was $1.58. My little spice jar - that will go mucho further - much less. Not to mention that in a small kitchen the spice jar takes up far less space than a can.

      Don't skip the cocoa.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 01, 2010

      Awesome! My only complaint is that I felt like it had to be on the stove a really long time before it thickened up. The flavor was wonderful! I had enough sauce to make 4 large enchiladas and freeze the other half for later use. I'm sure I'll be using this again, it's much better than canned!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 04, 2010

      DW and I used this for the enchilada sauce to make Easiest Beef Enchiladas Ever!, and the sauce was superb! We were all very happy with the results, so five stars it is!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 26, 2010

      OMG ~ never buy enchilada sauce again. I found a copycat recipe for Taco Bell's Enchiritos and it tasted identical using this sauce. Yum Yum Yum. I can't say enough about this recipe. Thank you so much.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 09, 2010

      OMG!!! I made this recipe because I had a pound of lean ground beef in my fridge, 7 corn tortillas in a bag and no money for the next couple of days. The sauce reminded me of the food I had in Mexico a few years back. Absolutely SUPER, easy to make, and altogether wonderful. I used a 5.5 oz can of V8 to make the paste, cut the chili powder back to 2 instead of 3 Tbsps. and cut the water by 1 cup. It's fabulous and I can't thank you enough!!!!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 30, 2010

      Thanks so much Donna, your recipe has changed my life. I now use this in almost anything Mexican I cook.. works great if you add a cup to your Mexican rice too.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 20, 2008

      I debated and debated about how to review this recipe. First I want to say that it is delicious and it seemed to get better the next day. However, I did take some liberties in how I prepared this. I was cooking some pork strips (shoulder cuts) in the crock pot, found some tomatoes that had been cooked down in the freezer so I wanted to use up both of them together. Was thinking Italian until I saw this recipe and immediately switched as I have all ingredients on hand. I omitted the water and tomatoe sauce in lieu of the cooked tomatoes. Put everything in the crock pot except the flour and cooked on low until i got home from work (9 hours or so). I then took the pork out and let it cool, prepared the flour by making a slurry with water and added that to the crock, turned it to high. I shredded the pork and made enchiladas with the pork and this lovely dark rich colored sauce. They were good that night, but even better the next day! It makes a mighty tastey enchilada. I will be passing this on to my daughter as it fixable for a vegetarian. Thank you for posting this wonderful sauce Ms Mattthews :)

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 30, 2008

      I must admit that I tasted the sauce before I put it on the enchiladas and wasn't impressed, but I didn't have any choice but to move forward with it. I'm so glad that I did because something magical happened in the oven; the enchiladas turned out great. I used Easiest Beef Enchiladas Ever!. What a winning combination! Thanks for the recipe, Donna! I will use it whenever I make enchiladas.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 15, 2014

      I liked this recipe a lot. You can't taste the cocoa exactly, but it really adds that special something to the flavor profile. I used this sauce when making the <a href="http://www.food.com/recipe/leftover-chicken-enchiladas-302370">Left Over Chicken Enchiladas Recipe"</a> - it's a good combination.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 05, 2014

      Made this sauce for our enchilada dinner tonight. I love it. Didn't change anything and really like the heat! I will make again!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 10, 2013

      This has got to be the BEST sauce I've ever had, it is sure going into my BEST of 2013 Book. Was making recipe 121147 and didn't have any canned so choose this one to try. You are so right about the cocoa being a much needed for this recipe. The only thing I did differant was cut it in half as it was just DH and me but should have made the full amount to have on hand. Next time I'll also try the cumin but don't know how it could be any better. DH said "make sure you tell everyone how great it is" that's some compliment as he never says much. I also liked that it was pretty fast, without a long simmer time. The photo is not the prettiest but it sure tasted great

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 04, 2013

      This was REALLY good! I followed the recipe as written, took a bit to thicken which was fine bc I had it going while I made the rest of the enchiladas. This was my first time making enchilada sauce, but I don't think I need to try any other recipes! Definitely better than anything from a can...obviously. :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 01, 2013

      Taste just like the sauce from my favorite mexican restaurant!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2 3 4 5 6 ... 9

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Mexican Enchilada Sauce

    Serving Size: 1 (165 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 3

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 72.6
     
    Calories from Fat 13
    17%
    Total Fat 1.4 g
    2%
    Saturated Fat 0.2 g
    1%
    Cholesterol 0.0 mg
    0%
    Sodium 538.1 mg
    22%
    Total Carbohydrate 14.8 g
    4%
    Dietary Fiber 4.4 g
    17%
    Sugars 3.8 g
    15%
    Protein 3.1 g
    6%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites