Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Mexican Eggplant (Aubergine) Casserole Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Mexican Eggplant (Aubergine) Casserole

    Average Rating:

    68 Total Reviews

    Showing 41-60 of 68

    Sort by:

    • on July 03, 2009

      I don't like to rate recipes when I can't make them exactly as written, but wanted to comment on this one....YUM! I didn't have 15oz tomato sauce, used diced tomatoes and small tomato sauce instead. Also, didn't have green onions, but sauteed diced reg onions with the cumin and garlic. Lastly, didn't have sliced black olives, instead used 2 ears of corn, cut off cob and a can of drained black beans. SO YUMMY! I cannot wait to get to grocery to get the correct ingreds and make again, thanks, Engrossed!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 16, 2009

      This turned out great. I added slightly more spices because I like spicy. I thought it would be ruined. I had chicken in the oven at 350. I put the eggplant in with it on same temp for about 30min. Then my daughter called early to be picked up. So I finished it up with the toppings and placed it back in the oven and turned the oven off. One hour later, the meal was still very warm and both were delicious.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 25, 2009

      This was very good. I took the advice of other posters and added a can of drained black beans to the sauce, which I highly recommend! I think 2 cans of drained black beans would be even better. In the end my family voted that I not make this again; they think eggplant goes better in Italian vs. Mexican dishes. However, my DH and I agreed that if and when we decide to go vegetarian, this would become a once a month meal. I made this the night before, kept in the fridge w/ foil on top, and popped in the oven when I got home from work. Because it was cold to start, it took longer than 30 minutes to cook properly (more like 45 minutes).

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 14, 2009

      This was really good. I started to give it 4 stars, but added the 5th star because it got my 4-year-old to eat eggplant. Alert the media! Next time I think I'll add a layer of fat-free refried beans in there just to beef (or, more accurately, bean) it up a bit. I used soy cheese, but I bet cottage cheese would be a good sub for the first cheese layer. This will be a great recipe to have on hand come summer!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 04, 2008

      wonderful. i will never buy it frozen again!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 04, 2008

      This was so good and a complete change of pace for our family! I used a combination of cheddar and monterey jack cheeses(not fat free). Next time I think I will try to add some spicy sausage. Thanks for posting this one!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 02, 2008

      This was a very good eggplant recipe! I used 2 large eggplants and 2 chopped jalapenos from our garden. I used 2 cups of Mexican blend cheese because we like it cheesy! I will be making this again! Thank you.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 10, 2008

      This was my first time making eggplant, and I have to confess I was a bit surprised at how much I liked it :) I added fresh minced garlic, black beens, and fresh chopped tomatoes to the veggie mixture, omitting the black olives (personal preference). I also omitted the middle layer of cheese, just sprinkling a little bit across the top. Thank you for making my quest to like eggplant a lot easier!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 24, 2008

      Yummy!!!!!! Hmm it's so good...I added some black beans and red peppers...will certainly make again...Thank you for posting...

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 07, 2008

      Yum, yum, yum. This was so good. I love how simple the dish is and it tastes great. This is the first time I have used eggplant in a Mexican dish and was so pleased. Easy and delicious, a perfect combination.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 14, 2008

      I love eggplant and Mexican and this recipe is the perfect combination of both, not to mention it was simple and healthy! Woe - this dish is the entire package! I used slightly less than 6 ounces of fat-free cheese, but otherwise remained unchanged. Next time I'd add some cayenne for a little kick, or maybe red pepper flakes. My eggplant was almost mushy after 25 min at 450, so next time I'll check it after 15-20 minutes as I'd prefer mine with a little more bite. I'll be making this one again! Made for Zaar Stars tag game.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 29, 2008

      I had some reservations about this recipe but I had everything at home except the eggplant so I thought I'd give it a try. This was really good and super healthy, something I felt good about making for dinner! Thanks very much for posting!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 02, 2008

    • on April 01, 2008

      This was a very easy dish. I think I needed more eggplant, as there was a lot of sauce. We ate this in tortillas. Definitely will make this again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 04, 2008

      Very,very good!!As usual,i made it lower fat by hand blending 1/2 cheese+1/2 nonfat cott.Cheese,this did not change the flavor at all

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 18, 2008

      This is a GREAT recipe. We love eggplant. This recipe is easy, plus delicious. I found I was out of tomato sauce. So I used a can of Rotel tomatoes & 1/2 can of diced tomatoes in tomato juice mashing them with my hand blender.This worked great,made the rest as suggested. I will definitely be making this again & often!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 15, 2008

      OH MY GOD! THIS IS GREAT! Be more than 5 stars if I could rate! Threw chillis in with seeds too! Added to the OLE effect, TRUE! Thanks for a recipe that's different as well! Will I be making this again soon! Only time will tell! GREAT recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 30, 2007

      This was really good. I added a can of black beans and some chili powder to the sauce. I did everything else exactly the way instructed and it was soo tasty. I will make this again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 19, 2007

      Now this was tasty! Perfect blend of flavors and very easy to put together. Thanks for the recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 18, 2007

      I loved this! we had toms, eggplants, and chilies, coming out of the garden by the bucket. This is a perfect recipe for potlucks, and sharing with the neighbors. Thanks ;-)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Mexican Eggplant (Aubergine) Casserole

    Serving Size: 1 (251 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 160.1
     
    Calories from Fat 24
    15%
    Total Fat 2.6 g
    4%
    Saturated Fat 0.5 g
    2%
    Cholesterol 4.6 mg
    1%
    Sodium 1669.6 mg
    69%
    Total Carbohydrate 24.9 g
    8%
    Dietary Fiber 8.6 g
    34%
    Sugars 13.9 g
    55%
    Protein 13.4 g
    26%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites