69 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

I love eggplant and Mexican food...so I knew I had to try this dish, and what a great combo it is! It was easy to make and so delicious! I added minced garlic instead of garlic powder, and also added black beans. Definitely a keeper!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
chaiandallthatjazz November 01, 2011

This was really good! I roasted the eggplants on my gas grill then layered them in the casserole dish with corn tortillas, following the rest of the recipe exactly. Came out delicious. Hubby loved it and it gave me another way (besides eggplant Parmesan) to use up my homegrown eggplants. Thanks.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Goody2shz September 27, 2010

This was fabulous! I didn't do exactly to recipe. I didn't have regular garlic powder, so I had to use garlic salt. I couldn't find spring onions, so I just used a sprinkle of dried onion. I also had to substitute two fresh jalapenos for the diced mild chiles. I saw in the other reviews that people were adding tortillas and beans, so I did. I happened to have some fabulous cooked black beans on hand (thanks to my Mexican mother-in-law) and put a lot of it into the layers. Absolutely delicious! In the future, I will probably double up the sauce, increase the tortillas, and double up the eggplant (maybe the one I bought was just too small?). That sucker was gone within about 5 minutes of being made. And yes, it did taste exactly like enchiladas!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Alicia4097 February 02, 2011

The recipe was quick, easy and delicious! Next time I will add some chipotle pepper for some added spice. I used a 9x9 baking dish which allowed the dish to have three layers. Once the casserole was removed from the oven I let it cool for about 15minutes before serving. I did not have any problems with the casserole being runny. My hubby and I both loved it! This will stay in the rotation. I'm giving this recipe 5 stars because the recipe is very versatile, any combo of ingredients would be delicious.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
luvzdjello January 03, 2011

Thank you so much for posting this recipe!!! What a big hit for my family of 5! I also had my parents over and my Dad couldn't get enough. I doubled the recipe and, as other reviewers, I also added a bottom layer of (Flax, oat bran and whole wheat flour) tortillas, 2 cans of black beans, 2 1/2 lbs of hamburger meat, and doubled the cumin and garlic (quadruple if doubling the recipe). I actually had to triple the sauce ingredients. I let it cool for 25 - 30 min. before cutting and it was perfect, not runny! This will definitely be a regular for us and will be what I bring to pot-luck dinners!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
CathyNH November 23, 2010

This was my first time cooking eggplant. It was a good dish, but next time, I'd only use cheese on top and put salt and pepper on the eggplants before putting them in the oven to give them a little more flavor. After the seasonings settled into the eggplant after a couple of days, the leftovers seemed to taste better.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
kmwwht October 07, 2010

This has become a family favorite! We used to think we didn't like eggplant until I've been trying recipes again with it. This is really good and we will make it again and again! I didn't use fat free cheese, but did everything else according to directions. We had sliced tomato and avocado salad along with it.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
JeanieK April 04, 2010

We didn't like it, but I think it was mostly an aversion to the eggplant.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
sugarlovinmom October 24, 2014

Yummy! And SO easy. I sliced and cooked 2 eggplants (good sized), but only used about 1.5. Based on some of the reviews, I doubled the cumin and garlic powder, and I added a tsp of chili powder. I used a low-fat Mexican blend cheese, the package was 2 cups. I omitted the olives because I don't care for them. The eggplant came out nice and soft (but not mushy), and the flavors were so good. I love eggplant, I think I'm going to try this same approach as a "parm" - all the taste, but not all the work. Updated: I tried this as more of a parm version. I coated the slices with a breadcrumb and cheese mixture, then used more Italian spices with the tomato sauce, and mozzarella for the cheese. I wish I could say it came out as good as the Mexican version, but it didn't. Guess I'll stick to regular eggplant parm, and use this recipe for Mexican eggplant.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
WorkingMom2three April 30, 2014

This is so good! I usually avoid eggplant, but this is worth the weird vegetable! It really tastes yummy! I substituted refried beans for the green chilies to add some substance- mixed about 1/3 of a can with half a can tomato sauce. (only used 1 large eggplant, and it served 2 of us.) Thanks for posting this great recipe!<br/>*Made it again; the flavor of the sauce really makes the dish, I found that adding a bit of chili powder kicks it up. We also like to add just 1 or 2 tortillas in strips.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
J-Lynn March 27, 2014
Mexican Eggplant (Aubergine) Casserole