Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Mexican Eggplant (Aubergine) Casserole Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Mexican Eggplant (Aubergine) Casserole

    Average Rating:

    68 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 68

    Sort by:

    • on November 01, 2011

      I love eggplant and Mexican food...so I knew I had to try this dish, and what a great combo it is! It was easy to make and so delicious! I added minced garlic instead of garlic powder, and also added black beans. Definitely a keeper!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 27, 2010

      This was really good! I roasted the eggplants on my gas grill then layered them in the casserole dish with corn tortillas, following the rest of the recipe exactly. Came out delicious. Hubby loved it and it gave me another way (besides eggplant Parmesan) to use up my homegrown eggplants. Thanks.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 02, 2011

      This was fabulous! I didn't do exactly to recipe. I didn't have regular garlic powder, so I had to use garlic salt. I couldn't find spring onions, so I just used a sprinkle of dried onion. I also had to substitute two fresh jalapenos for the diced mild chiles. I saw in the other reviews that people were adding tortillas and beans, so I did. I happened to have some fabulous cooked black beans on hand (thanks to my Mexican mother-in-law) and put a lot of it into the layers. Absolutely delicious! In the future, I will probably double up the sauce, increase the tortillas, and double up the eggplant (maybe the one I bought was just too small?). That sucker was gone within about 5 minutes of being made. And yes, it did taste exactly like enchiladas!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 03, 2011

      The recipe was quick, easy and delicious! Next time I will add some chipotle pepper for some added spice. I used a 9x9 baking dish which allowed the dish to have three layers. Once the casserole was removed from the oven I let it cool for about 15minutes before serving. I did not have any problems with the casserole being runny. My hubby and I both loved it! This will stay in the rotation. I'm giving this recipe 5 stars because the recipe is very versatile, any combo of ingredients would be delicious.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 23, 2010

      Thank you so much for posting this recipe!!! What a big hit for my family of 5! I also had my parents over and my Dad couldn't get enough. I doubled the recipe and, as other reviewers, I also added a bottom layer of (Flax, oat bran and whole wheat flour) tortillas, 2 cans of black beans, 2 1/2 lbs of hamburger meat, and doubled the cumin and garlic (quadruple if doubling the recipe). I actually had to triple the sauce ingredients. I let it cool for 25 - 30 min. before cutting and it was perfect, not runny! This will definitely be a regular for us and will be what I bring to pot-luck dinners!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 07, 2010

      This was my first time cooking eggplant. It was a good dish, but next time, I'd only use cheese on top and put salt and pepper on the eggplants before putting them in the oven to give them a little more flavor. After the seasonings settled into the eggplant after a couple of days, the leftovers seemed to taste better.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 04, 2010

      This has become a family favorite! We used to think we didn't like eggplant until I've been trying recipes again with it. This is really good and we will make it again and again! I didn't use fat free cheese, but did everything else according to directions. We had sliced tomato and avocado salad along with it.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 30, 2014

      Yummy! And SO easy. I sliced and cooked 2 eggplants (good sized), but only used about 1.5. Based on some of the reviews, I doubled the cumin and garlic powder, and I added a tsp of chili powder. I used a low-fat Mexican blend cheese, the package was 2 cups. I omitted the olives because I don't care for them. The eggplant came out nice and soft (but not mushy), and the flavors were so good. I love eggplant, I think I'm going to try this same approach as a "parm" - all the taste, but not all the work. Updated: I tried this as more of a parm version. I coated the slices with a breadcrumb and cheese mixture, then used more Italian spices with the tomato sauce, and mozzarella for the cheese. I wish I could say it came out as good as the Mexican version, but it didn't. Guess I'll stick to regular eggplant parm, and use this recipe for Mexican eggplant.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 27, 2014

      This is so good! I usually avoid eggplant, but this is worth the weird vegetable! It really tastes yummy! I substituted refried beans for the green chilies to add some substance- mixed about 1/3 of a can with half a can tomato sauce. (only used 1 large eggplant, and it served 2 of us.) Thanks for posting this great recipe!<br/>*Made it again; the flavor of the sauce really makes the dish, I found that adding a bit of chili powder kicks it up. We also like to add just 1 or 2 tortillas in strips.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 28, 2013

      This was a really hearty satisfying meal without feeling too heavy. I used full fat cheese, and roasted jalapenos and anaheim chiles, Easy, quick, healthy and tasty. Thanks for posting the recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 17, 2013

      I have made this several times now, and have varied the recipe slightly each time. Made without olives, used onion instead of green onion, etc. I decided that next time I am going to "beef" it up with the addition of zucchini squash. Great recipe every time!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 21, 2013

      Very good! I made the recipe as directed except for using full fat cheese. I will make this again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 06, 2013

      This was yummy. I used 2 small eggplants that yielded 17 slices. I baked first and added a little salt, pepper, and cumin to the roasting eggplant to make sure that there was a lot of flavor. I doubled the cumin, added corn and kidney beans, and to the sauce I added 2 tbs of my own, homemade enchilada sauce. I only added cheese to the top and I added 2 layers of tortillas...which my husband said really made the recipe! I will make this again because it was good, but it probably won't go into my weekly routine b/c I wasn't super excited about the consistency of the eggplant. Maybe grilling will help firm it up some.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 04, 2013

      Scrumptious! Filling, healthful and satisfying. I used 2% sharp cheddar. Couldn't find non-fat cheese. I recommend highly!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 25, 2013

    • on May 13, 2013

      Super easy and so yummy!! The second time I made it I used a whole jar of tomato sauce (Classico Spicy Red Pepper) 24 oz. It was perfect!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 18, 2013

      Excellent recipe and easy on my budget. I love the simple ingredients and delicious flavor. Also love that you can add different things to this recipe and have a new meal each time.
      I added kidney beans.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 10, 2012

      This was really easy and really good. The only modifications made were that my cheddar was not fat-free and DH doubled the cumin and garlic powder. Perfect. DH and I ate the whole dish. DH also indicated he would have this again. A real compliment! He is interested in adding beans the next time we make it to see how it compared. Thanks for posting!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 05, 2012

      This was wonderful! Even hubby who doesn't like eggplant liked it (don't know if he even realized it was eggplant - never told him what was in it). I used half as much cheese - part lowfat, part fat free & a couple slices of processed American cheese.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 28, 2011

      This has really good flavor, but we felt the recipe was a little underdeveloped. Next time we will roll this mixture up in tortillas, maybe with a little rice. Overall, very delicious! Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2 3 4

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Mexican Eggplant (Aubergine) Casserole

    Serving Size: 1 (251 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 160.1
     
    Calories from Fat 24
    15%
    Total Fat 2.6 g
    4%
    Saturated Fat 0.5 g
    2%
    Cholesterol 4.6 mg
    1%
    Sodium 1669.6 mg
    69%
    Total Carbohydrate 24.9 g
    8%
    Dietary Fiber 8.6 g
    34%
    Sugars 13.9 g
    55%
    Protein 13.4 g
    26%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites