Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Mexican Cornbread Casserole Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Mexican Cornbread Casserole

    Average Rating:

    20 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 20

    Sort by:

    • on March 19, 2010

      I made this for a pot luck banquet dinner. I thought it tasted great. I used a box of Jiffy cornbread mix instead of cornmeal. It came out great. The cornbread mixture is thin. The meat sort of sinks into the mixture. I was concerned when I was putting it together, but it came a great. 45 min cooking time worked perfectly.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 14, 2005

      This was awesome blossom! I doubled the beef part and added salsa, took the cornbread part and increased by half. Substituted cream corn with frozen corn. This looked really weird when you put it together. The batter is really thing, but then it just comes together and is crusty on top and perfect. Great recipe.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 05, 2013

      I chop at least a 1/2 LB of bacon and brown it, when making this cornbread, I use a 1/2 cup of bacon dripping instead of the oil, and sprinkle the bacon into the pan, yeah more calories but so good. I've never browned the onions with the ground beef, they just goes into the baking pan, I got this recipe from Ida Carter a hundred years ago, LOL, she was from Quanah , Texas, she was the best cook ever,

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 23, 2013

      This was a greasy greasy mexican cornbread recipe..way to much oil..disappointed

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 22, 2013

      It works! Cornbread bakes around the meat mixture beautifully.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 02, 2013

      I made this for my family and my kids loved it!! They came back for seconds and thirds. My husband is not a big corn eater so he just thought it was ok. Next time I may use less corn. I used mozzarella cheese because that's what I had and omitted the jalape?os because my kids don't like them. Excellent recipe that is now in the dinner menu rotation.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 25, 2012

      Everyone loved this dinner. I put a little enchilada sauce in with the ground beef mixture, and an extra 1/2 tsp. of baking soda in with the cornbread mixture. 45 minutes baking time was just right for a golden finish. This is comfort food and delicious!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 05, 2011

      I made this and wasn't sure what would go well with it so we had it alone the first night and my husband and I both agreed that soup beans and fried potatoes would go really well with it, so that is what we had the leftovers with the following day. Results: DELICIOUS!!! The only difference that I made to the recipe was to add some minced garlic, chilli powder, cumin, and oregano to the meat mixture. My husband and I enjoyed this dish, but our children did not. They are only 2 and 4 though, and are picky eaters like most kids their age are! I will definately make this recipe again! Thanks for sharing!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 27, 2009

      This is so similar to my mother's recipe. I love it , and the pinto beans on top just finish off the perfect meal. Left overs are the best part!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 15, 2008

      My momma makes cornbread just like this. It is fabulous. She always makes an extra pan to send home with us kids. Great recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 13, 2008

      Very good! A meal in itself.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 31, 2007

      This is almost the same recipe that I have used for years. The difference in this and my recipe is 2 teaspoons of baking soda and ¼ cup of oil. The recipe that I use also calls for using an iron skillet. The rest is the same. I also add about a ½ cup of our favorite salsa and the cheese to the meat mixture as I finish browning. I cube my cheese. If I’m feeling naughty I will add about a tablespoon of bacon grease to the oil. I add a little oil and about a tablespoon cornmeal and set the skillet in the oven for about 5 minutes before adding the two mixtures. This is one of our favorite winter dishes. Great with a good ole pot of pinto beans.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 23, 2007

      this is so yummy we have been making this for years it is great at potlucks if you spray cupcake raper really well you can do this in little cupcake too

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 31, 2006

      Yum! Yum! Yum! I also added some minced garlic to the hamburger, a little bit of Johnny's seasoning, and about a tsp of chili powder. Serve it up with Red beans and rice.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 27, 2006

      This was an interesting casserole, new concept to us. The kids did not enjoy, but the adults thought it was good.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 04, 2006

      This was really good! We had sharp cheese on hand and so we used 1/2 less than called for. I would have liked it if the bottom of it was a little less moist but my mom thought it was just right. My mom also thought that it would have been nice to use Owen's ground breakfast sausage instead of ground beef. Oh, and we left out the peppers, but I think it would have given it a nice kick if we had put it in. Overall, great recipe- we'll make it again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 15, 2005

      I haven't tried this interesting recipe, but my tastes would appreciate cumin and garlic added with the ground beef and onions.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 08, 2005

      This is the recipe my mother uses for cornbread casserole and it is delicious! If you don't like it so hot, you can use green chilis instead of jalapenos.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 13, 2003

      I didn't have any peppers on hand for this recipe, unfortunately, but I will make sure I do next time! I also found out, too late, that I had only 1/2 cup of corm meal, so I broke into a box of Jiffy corn bread mix and retrieved 1/2 cup of that. I also accidently mixed about 2 cups of the cheese into the entire cornbread mixture, as well as using my remaining cup of cheese on top of the beef and on top of the cornbread mixture, to top. It turned out quite well, actually! It was very tasty and my family really enjoyed this! We top this with taco sauce and sour cream. Yummy!!! Also great as a leftover! Thanks for posting!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 01, 2002

      I really like cornbread and this was a good one. I served it at a small pot luck dinner. What I really enjoyed as well was the left overs (not much but it was a small pot luck). I really enjoyed them as a cold dish. The flavours seemed intensified cold. Thanks Anita.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Mexican Cornbread Casserole

    Serving Size: 1 (238 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 6

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 666.9
     
    Calories from Fat 415
    62%
    Total Fat 46.1 g
    71%
    Saturated Fat 16.3 g
    81%
    Cholesterol 158.6 mg
    52%
    Sodium 1057.0 mg
    44%
    Total Carbohydrate 35.1 g
    11%
    Dietary Fiber 2.9 g
    11%
    Sugars 4.1 g
    16%
    Protein 30.2 g
    60%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites