Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Mexican Cornbread Casserole Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Mexican Cornbread Casserole

    Average Rating:

    9 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-9 of 9

    Sort by:

    • on June 13, 2012

      Made this dish last night for my fiance who said this recipe even beat the one his Mom used to make him for years. I used two packets of Jiffy mix but everything else as per recipe. Added a dollop of sour cream when served made this dish perfect. I think my fiance will be asking for me to cook this again at least once a week, as he ate seconds and even contemplated thirds! :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 24, 2012

      I made a couple changes...I used ground turkey instead of ground beef and I used green chiles instead of green peppers. Was delicious :-)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 22, 2010

      I made some minor adjustments to the recipe and found it absolutely delicious! I used soy crumbles instead of ground beef for a vegetarian version. I love spicy, so I added a Serrano pepper to the meatless mixture and some cayenne pepper, and used Pepper Jack cheese. For a 9' x 13' pan, I would recommend doubling the cornbread. It was delish!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 14, 2010

      I used this recipe as the foundation for a vegetarian version, and came out with something my DH says to keep in the rotation! I didn't use the ground beef, so only the kidney beans, and used a whole 15 oz can of southwestern style tomatoes. Since I only used one mix of cornbread, and omitted the ground beef, I put it in an 8" square pan (and it just fit). Overall, a really delicious meal!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 04, 2008

      I loved this!I added an extra box of cornbread,Plus I added frozen corn to it.I also added a can of black beans instead of the kidney beans.I used the taco seasoning by Taco Bell that had chilpote peppers in it.I also used more cheese in it.I thiught that it was really good.I am really going to make this alot more.I want to thank you for a new favorite recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 29, 2007

      Loved this. I don't think it's really really quick because - have to dice fresh ingredients but worth the effort. I use ground turkey instead of beef. I used canned corn since (fresh not in season) which saved time as well. I confess to using cheddar-jack combination full fat ready-grated cheese. Didn't double corn bread recipe. Loved combination of creamy corn bread with seasoned meat and cheese! A keeper! Thank you Ewalla.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 31, 2007

      This recipe was good but mine came out pretty dry. (maybe I overcooked it) I think next time, I'll add some water to the ground been/taco seasoning just like you would for regular tacos. Maybe that will make a difference? Either way, I will be making it again! (I did use an extra box of cornbread mix as another reviewer suggested.)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 01, 2007

      We thought this was good, made as posted. Would like to double cornbread mix next time as we love cornbread but was really good as is!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 24, 2007

    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Mexican Cornbread Casserole

    Serving Size: 1 (263 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 6

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 449.3
     
    Calories from Fat 118
    26%
    Total Fat 13.1 g
    20%
    Saturated Fat 4.4 g
    22%
    Cholesterol 49.9 mg
    16%
    Sodium 1354.9 mg
    56%
    Total Carbohydrate 61.1 g
    20%
    Dietary Fiber 9.5 g
    38%
    Sugars 14.1 g
    56%
    Protein 24.1 g
    48%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    reduced-fat Mexican cheese blend

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites