65 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

This was the most delicious cornbread I have ever eaten. I love all of the extra ingredients that gave this bread oomph- the chilies, the cheese, the creamed corn all gave this that something special that took my taste buds over the top. Really moist & flavorful. I checked mine early - it was ready about 5 or so minutes before my buzzer went off. Note:I contacted the recipe poster regarding the missing baking powder(should be 4 tsp) and salt(should be 1/4 tsp) -and she is sending in a correction.

13 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
HeatherFeather April 08, 2003

Excellent cornbread! It won best cornbread at my churches chili cook off. The only think I did different was use pepper jack instead of monterey jack. I have made it a few more times and it is great every time :o) Thanks for sharing!

4 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
ylo_roz December 15, 2009

This was a really good cornbread, but not quite as spicy as I would like. I will make this again, because it is a really good base recipe, but I will add a little pepper sauce, for heat, and maybe some chopped onion. Thanks for the great recipe.

4 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Jellyqueen August 06, 2003

This is an old standby recipe here in Arizona. I've made it many times. It's just delicious. In winter there's always that day when nothing will do but a pot of pinto beans & ham, with Mexican corn bread on the side. I cut the sugar to 1/2 cup and add 1/4 cup chopped onions, but the onions aren't necessary. I just like them.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Dustbunni April 10, 2003

The flavor is wonderful for a sweet savory cornbread. I cooked the full time (let edges pull from side of 9 x 13 pyrex) and it was a bit too moist, too easily compressible when cutting. Delicious though! I did stir in about 2 t ancho chile powder and dusted the top with red cayenne and smoked paprika. Mildly spicey and sweet and delicious. Will make again - maybe increase cornmeal and decrease white flour. It is a keeper. Thank you for posting.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Buster's friend December 12, 2013

Made half a recipe in a 9X9 and this is the BEST cornbread I have ever made. Love it. So moist and nice with great flavor.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
adopt a greyhound November 21, 2012

I made this - with 1/2 C sugar per some other reviews about too sweet.... I took it to a southwestern dinner party and everyone wanted to take leftover cornbread home. Per other review - I reminded folks to put in the fridge - based on the eggs and butter to ensure it was good the next day. Thanks for a great recipe. Husband said to save this recipe and make it again! :)

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Gidget265 May 13, 2012

OMG, this cornbread is fabulous. I would give the recipe 10 stars if possible! Incredibly moist and delicious. I've made other recipes with creamed corn and green chilis, but none were as good as this recipe. I made it exactly as directed and it was perfect. I could have eaten the entire batch all by myself, but allowed DH to have a few pieces. Excellent with Kelly's Chili

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Kathy :-( February 08, 2010

Brought this to a chili cook-off last night. Delicious! The creamed corn made it wonderfully moist. Several people asked me for the recipe. I added 3 ounces of chili peppers instead of 2. Also, I added one can of drained Rotel tomatoes. This gave it a little extra kick. Thanks for this gem. I will definitely keep this recipe.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Lizzie :) January 11, 2010

This was a delicious savoury snack. I cut down on the sugar a little, perfect to graze on when the munchies hit. Easy to prepare with on hand ingredients.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Sueie August 01, 2003
Mexican Cornbread