Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Mexican Cornbread Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Mexican Cornbread

    Average Rating:

    64 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 64

    Sort by:

    • on April 08, 2003

      This was the most delicious cornbread I have ever eaten. I love all of the extra ingredients that gave this bread oomph- the chilies, the cheese, the creamed corn all gave this that something special that took my taste buds over the top. Really moist & flavorful. I checked mine early - it was ready about 5 or so minutes before my buzzer went off. Note:I contacted the recipe poster regarding the missing baking powder(should be 4 tsp) and salt(should be 1/4 tsp) -and she is sending in a correction.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 15, 2009

      Excellent cornbread! It won best cornbread at my churches chili cook off. The only think I did different was use pepper jack instead of monterey jack. I have made it a few more times and it is great every time :o) Thanks for sharing!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 06, 2003

      This was a really good cornbread, but not quite as spicy as I would like. I will make this again, because it is a really good base recipe, but I will add a little pepper sauce, for heat, and maybe some chopped onion. Thanks for the great recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 10, 2003

      This is an old standby recipe here in Arizona. I've made it many times. It's just delicious. In winter there's always that day when nothing will do but a pot of pinto beans & ham, with Mexican corn bread on the side. I cut the sugar to 1/2 cup and add 1/4 cup chopped onions, but the onions aren't necessary. I just like them.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 13, 2012

      I made this - with 1/2 C sugar per some other reviews about too sweet.... I took it to a southwestern dinner party and everyone wanted to take leftover cornbread home. Per other review - I reminded folks to put in the fridge - based on the eggs and butter to ensure it was good the next day. Thanks for a great recipe. Husband said to save this recipe and make it again! :)

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 08, 2010

      OMG, this cornbread is fabulous. I would give the recipe 10 stars if possible! Incredibly moist and delicious. I've made other recipes with creamed corn and green chilis, but none were as good as this recipe. I made it exactly as directed and it was perfect. I could have eaten the entire batch all by myself, but allowed DH to have a few pieces. Excellent with Kelly's Chili

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 11, 2010

      Brought this to a chili cook-off last night. Delicious! The creamed corn made it wonderfully moist. Several people asked me for the recipe. I added 3 ounces of chili peppers instead of 2. Also, I added one can of drained Rotel tomatoes. This gave it a little extra kick. Thanks for this gem. I will definitely keep this recipe.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 01, 2003

      This was a delicious savoury snack. I cut down on the sugar a little, perfect to graze on when the munchies hit. Easy to prepare with on hand ingredients.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 30, 2003

      We thought this was very good. Just be sure you put any leftovers in the fridge or it won't be any good. Thanks

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 08, 2014

      This not only tastes great but it is a very forgiving recipe. I don't usually change anything the first time I make a recipe but out of necessity (no canned creamed corn) I cut the kernels off two ears of fresh corn and scraped the milk out and added a little more salt to the recipe. I know I will be making this recipe frequently. Thank you for posting this.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 12, 2013

      The flavor is wonderful for a sweet savory cornbread. I cooked the full time (let edges pull from side of 9 x 13 pyrex) and it was a bit too moist, too easily compressible when cutting. Delicious though! I did stir in about 2 t ancho chile powder and dusted the top with red cayenne and smoked paprika. Mildly spicey and sweet and delicious. Will make again - maybe increase cornmeal and decrease white flour. It is a keeper. Thank you for posting.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 17, 2013

      Very bland tasting. It was edible, but oh-so-bland.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 02, 2013

      I made this and i have made so many cornbread recipes before and never been bowled over by any of them. This one was amazing. i substituted the canned chillis with 4 serrano red chilis finely sliced and just used 1 cup of cheddar and a bunch of spring onions sliced. Everyone who tried it wanted the recipe. i will be making this one many, many more times. thanks for posting

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 25, 2013

      Delicious! It went awesome with my chili!!!! I will definitely be making this again!!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 30, 2012

      This is so good. I made this to go along with bean soup and it was wonderful. I used a Mexican blend cheese, and my own chopped up chilies. So good. I will make this again, we loved dipping it in the soup. Thank you for sharing.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 21, 2012

      Made half a recipe in a 9X9 and this is the BEST cornbread I have ever made. Love it. So moist and nice with great flavor.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 14, 2011

      Really good! Not too sweet (but it is on the sweeter side), not too dry, just perfect... yum! But defiantly NOT spicy! I could barely taste the green chilies. I read someone's post about how they would stick with Jiffy.. yuck! This is 100 times better then Jiffy!!! No weird aftertaste! No strange film in your mouth! No comparison! I made it with Chicken Tortilla Soup and I will defiantly make it again. I think I will experiment to see if I can give it a bit more kick next time or just omit the peppers and use it as a basic cornbread recipe with honey butter. Mine baked at 300 (I have an oven thermometer because my oven is a tad off- but this baked at exactly 300) for exactly one hour and it was perfect. Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 20, 2010

      What a disapointment after reading all of the great reviews. I'm giving it 2 stars because it was edible, however, did not live up to the reviews by any means. I should have stuck with my old standby which is... Jiffy Cornbread Mix, follow the instructions on the box and then add a handfull of cheddar cheese, a handfull of frozen corn and some diced up green onions. It is quicker, taste better and the leftovers are good. We tried to eat the leftovers from this receipe a few days later and they were unedible.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 06, 2010

      I've always liked cornbread until this recipe... now I LOVE cornbread!!! The texture is amazing & oh, sooo moist! I only had chedder cheese so that's what I used & I used 1T green chili's for my weak tastebuds. Yummy, yummy!! I also used "Marshas Way of Making Cream Style Corn #143122" in place of the canned cream corn. Thanks for the great recipe!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 01, 2010

    « Previous 1 2 3 4

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Mexican Cornbread

    Serving Size: 1 (221 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 6

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 559.0
     
    Calories from Fat 231
    41%
    Total Fat 25.7 g
    39%
    Saturated Fat 14.7 g
    73%
    Cholesterol 182.9 mg
    60%
    Sodium 840.9 mg
    35%
    Total Carbohydrate 71.4 g
    23%
    Dietary Fiber 3.0 g
    12%
    Sugars 28.1 g
    112%
    Protein 14.2 g
    28%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes