Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Mexican Cornbread Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Mexican Cornbread

    Average Rating:

    8 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-8 of 8

    Sort by:

    • on February 25, 2003

      I thought that this recipe was great. It had all the right flavors the only thing I changed was the jalepenos I used green chilis instead.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 15, 2009

      I've made this for a few years, and it is wonderful with tomato soup for a quick dinner. I omit the jalapeno for my wimpy guys. I use small pans so it's almost like a loaf. You can make this ahead without baking, freeze, then thaw and bake! I do this when I get the ingredients on sale -- two or three at once. Thanks for posting! The nutrition info is skewed, btw, so don't be scared; it makes 8 servings, you can rinse the sausage to get rid of fat and excess sodium, and cut back on the cheese if you wish.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 02, 2008

      Wonderful!! I make this all the time now...and EVERYONE loves it! Comes out perfect and moist everytime. I like to add a little cheese to the batter, as well as spreading it over the meat. I also use ground turkey (I put a lot of seasoning on it while it's cooking) instead of sausage.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 08, 2004

      This recipe was dry and the cornbread overwhelmed the other ingredients. Took longer than 30 minutes to bake. Next time I will use same ingredients but only one box cornbread mix and an 8x8 pan.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 31, 2004

      Very good. Took it to a Mexican party and had lots of requests for the recipe. Wondering when I can make it again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 15, 2004

      This is really good! I just happened to have 2 Jiffy cornbread mixes & a can of creamed corn (which I bought by accident a while back!) in my pantry. I made a few changes by leaving out the jalapenos (we don't care for them much); I also used Jimmy Dean reduced fat sausage to which I added the chopped onion & part of a can of leftover chopped mild green chiles. As that was cooking, I also added a few red pepper flakes, some Ancho chile powder & a little bit of red pepper powder. Very easy to put together, and very tasty -- even DH had two helpings (that hardly ever happens!!) He said it reminded him of a hot tamale. I served this with salsa & sour cream, and a green salad. I will make this again -- thanks for posting it, Vicki! -M :-)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 14, 2004

      Delicious,my family and I really enjoyed this.It is very simple to make and I did not change a thing,except I did use some monteray jack pepper cheese with the cheddar.Yummy!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 25, 2003

      Perfect Mexican Cornbread! I only used about a tablespoon of the jalepenos and the rest I made up with mild green chilis because I was afraid it would be too hot/spicy for us. It really hit the spot...it was very moist and flavorful. Thank you so much for sharing this, Vicki! I can't wait to make it again. :-)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Mexican Cornbread

    Serving Size: 1 (1949 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 1

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 5522.7
     
    Calories from Fat 2960
    53%
    Total Fat 328.9 g
    506%
    Saturated Fat 146.2 g
    731%
    Cholesterol 677.3 mg
    225%
    Sodium 13153.5 mg
    548%
    Total Carbohydrate 438.5 g
    146%
    Dietary Fiber 38.9 g
    155%
    Sugars 21.6 g
    86%
    Protein 208.3 g
    416%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites