Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Mexican Cornbread Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Mexican Cornbread

    Average Rating:

    12 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-12 of 12

    Sort by:

    • on July 14, 2002

      I do like a moist (as opposed to crumbly) tasty cornbread and this was it. I used skim milk and apple sauce instead of oil plus almost double the cream corn and it was a WOW. Really really good. Thanks NurseDi.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 16, 2003

      I made the corn bread in my cast iron skillet and it came out perfect. Very moist and delicious. Definitely a keeper. I used chopped green peppers but the next time I will use a can of green chilis instead as a matter of taste. I may also slightly increase the cheese. Thanks for sharing a great easy recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 19, 2002

      Very moist which is how we like our cornbread. I liked the mild flavor or the green chiles. Not very hot so my kids could eat this. Could easily be turned up a notch or two with some japalenos. Thanks Nurse Di.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 27, 2003

      We like our cornbread moist instead of dry and crumbly. This cornbread turned out very moist so we were happy. I used fresh chopped green chile peppers and the flavor was wonderful. I served the corn bread with beef enchiladas, salad, and your Lime Tea. An excellent meal. Thanks.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 24, 2003

      I made this over the weekend with chili, and it was wonderful...I would definately make again.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 08, 2003

      I used chopped jalapeno's to give it a little zip. I thought it was a little moister than I liked. I used 2% milk instead of buttermilk. Perhaps the buttermilk would have made it taste better.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 05, 2008

      I have been looking for a moist, flavorful cornbread with just a bit of a bite. This is it! Thanks so much.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 16, 2007

      This was a very good recipe for mexican cornbread. My family just went crazy over it. Thanks for posting a great recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 28, 2007

      Easy to make and absolutely delicious! I made two and gave one to my neighbors. They LOVED it too.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 09, 2007

      I made this for Sushiman's Mexican Standoff last night and it was the perfect cornbread to serve! Very moist! I can't get creamed corn here so I just whizzed up some canned corn in the food processor. I added some coarse paprika flakes for color. Most of the guests at our party were British (still are) and they had never had cornbread before. It was a wonderful new experience for them. I made a double batch and there's just a tiny bit leftover, so I guess you could say this was a big success!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 19, 2006

      This was good, however I wasn't sold on the texture for a cornbread...sort of too moist for me...just a personal preference. However the flavor was good and it is very easy to make. I may play with this and lower the amount of oil and/or buttermilk or increase the amount of flour slightly next time. Thanks for sharing.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 11, 2004

      Very good recipe. I thought it was a little too sweet; next time I am going to half the sugar. Also, the recipe does not call for any salt, and you have to add salt when using flour, so I added 1 tsp of salt. I like spicy, so I substituted the green pepper with two seeded chopped chipotle peppers (canned in adobo sauce), and that gave the cornbread a wonderful smokey heat. I will certainly make this again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Mexican Cornbread

    Serving Size: 1 (128 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 8

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 292.1
     
    Calories from Fat 163
    56%
    Total Fat 18.2 g
    28%
    Saturated Fat 3.9 g
    19%
    Cholesterol 61.5 mg
    20%
    Sodium 357.1 mg
    14%
    Total Carbohydrate 27.1 g
    9%
    Dietary Fiber 1.7 g
    7%
    Sugars 6.2 g
    24%
    Protein 6.7 g
    13%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites