Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Mexican Coleslaw Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Mexican Coleslaw

    Average Rating:

    18 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-18 of 18

    Sort by:

    • on December 27, 2011

      I loved the flavor of this. The dressing was way too wet. I ended up draining off a lot of it. Next time I'll try cutting the dressing in half.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 05, 2011

      We made this for a topping to go on our soft tacos and it was great! I don't like bell pepper so I left them out and added choppend jalapenos...yummy!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 17, 2011

      yummy! sooo similar to the coleslaw we've had at a local mexican restaurant. i always wondered how they did it! thanks a ton Mille!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 21, 2011

      This slaw was a nice, light, crunchy side for otherwise traditionally "heavy" mexican food. I loved the tart flavor of the dressing! The celery seed is a must - it adds such a great flavor!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 08, 2010

      Nice refreshing change from a traditional creamy coleslaw. I couldn't get celery seed, so I used celery salt and seeded mustard to give it the seeded effect. Will definately make again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 22, 2009

      Good stuff you got going here! I subbed cider vinegar, truvia for the sugar and celery salt for the celery seed and salt. I used red onion and added julienned sweet potato...It marinated for only an hour or two and tasted fantastic! Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 24, 2008

      Served this side salad with Chipotle Pork Roast and Mexican Rice. I had made this salad a few days ago and just added more coleslaw mix and let it marinate for a hour or so. Very good.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 23, 2008

      Our guests really liked this and so did we. The changes I made were: white wine vinegar Splenda instead of sugar peanut oil instead of veggie oil I also added mandarin oranges All salads/slaws need to be made in advance and chill overnight in order for the flavors to "marry"..Right?? Wrong..in this case anyway. This slaw was scrumptious about 2 hours after making..I was really surprised. Thanx Mille for an outstanding recipe..Chef Judi Coleman

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 12, 2006

      Never even heard of Mexican Slaw until now. And I love it!!! I love the sweet/sour taste, but thought there was too much liquid or I didn't use enough of the other ingredients. Will make again and thank you!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 21, 2006

      I've gone nearly half a century thinking I didn't like cole slaw! Turns out I was just eating the wrong kind! I really liked this and used it as a topping for Sandi (from CA)'s Fish Stick Po Boys (#190032). My husband and I thought it was awesome. I didn't have celery seed, but I'll buy some to have on hand next time. Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 07, 2006

      Really tasty salad and accompanies Mexican food beautifully. My only substitution was a red bell pepper and I might have reduced the sugar. I think I will try 1/2 c of sugar next time as it was sweeter than it had to be. Still, a tasty accompaniment to the enchiladas that we had.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 27, 2006

      I thought this was delicious! I was looking for something light to serve with chicken enchiladas. I cut back on the onion, eliminated the mustard and added some orange chunks. I had seen the oranges in another slaw recipe and I had lots of them that needed to be used. They made it very refreshing and tasty. Thanks for the recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 20, 2006

      Excellent - thank you. This was a perfect addition to our Mexican feast! My niece is going to include it with an office luncheon she is preparing. It will be perfect for summer barbecues without the worry of heat spoiling a mayonnaise-based cole slaw.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 27, 2005

      This was very good! I substituted a red pepper for the green. A nice change of pace for mayonaise based coleslaw. I will make this again! :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 29, 2004

      We've been making this recipe for years only it was called German Cole Slaw. Only difference is the dressing portions. Ours uses 1/2 cup of vinegar, oil and sugar along with dill weed, celery salt, garlic salt and celery seed, and we boil the pour over dressing for 5 minutes. It is wonderful because it keeps in the frig for days and days, getting better every day.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 19, 2004

      Nice recipe. It's quite tart, so serve it with dishes that can take it -- it would not go well with delicately flavoured dishes, and many wines don't improve with it either. However, in the right combination it is quite good.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 15, 2003

      Absolutely delicious although I changed it a bit...added cumin seed instead of celery seed and used red pepper in place of the green. Good warm, cold or room temp. A simple, impressive and healthy side dish! Lisa

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 28, 2003

      yum! I added a touch of lime juice. Great for my mexican BBQ

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Mexican Coleslaw

    Serving Size: 1 (278 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 8

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 222.1
     
    Calories from Fat 64
    28%
    Total Fat 7.1 g
    10%
    Saturated Fat 0.9 g
    4%
    Cholesterol 0.0 mg
    0%
    Sodium 329.2 mg
    13%
    Total Carbohydrate 38.7 g
    12%
    Dietary Fiber 4.9 g
    19%
    Sugars 32.0 g
    128%
    Protein 2.6 g
    5%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites