Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Mexican Chorizo Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Mexican Chorizo

    Average Rating:

    19 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-19 of 19

    Sort by:

    • on May 09, 2010

      Delicious! Wish I could give this more stars!!! I was looking for a recipe for Cinco De Mayo and decided to make something with Chorzio as most of my friends have not tasted this. Found this and knew I had to try it..come on, it's Kittencal, right ?!?! Followed the recipe exactly, would not change a thing. Loved the fact that it was fresh without any preservatives. Thank you for sharing. Used this in Chorizo Taquitos on this site.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 21, 2014

      Very easy and the flavors were great. Used this to make meatballs for Grilled Shrimp and Chorizo Skewers. Loved them.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 22, 2014

      I love chorizo and have never thought to make it myself, so when I stumbled across this recipe I was excited to give it a go! I'm on a big time diet so I opted to adjust this to make a healthier version by using ground turkey breast and olive oil to eliminate the saturated fat of the pork. The results were amazing. The spice blend is spot on! I can only imagine how wonderful it is with pork, but for now I'm happy with the ground turkey version. One note to those that may also want to use ground turkey, I found that I needed to add a little more olive oil than the amount of oil called for in the recipe to account for the lack of fat from the lean turkey. My version did not turn out dry at all I'm happy to report.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 17, 2014

      We loved this chorizo! I accidentally under seasoned it though.....I was making several different kinds of sausage last night (Italian, Chorizo and breakfast sausage). After I ground a 9 pound pork butt, I hand one bowl with three pounds and three bowls with two pounds each. I meant to use a bowl with 2 lbs of ground sausage for the seasoning and I accidentally grabbed the bowl with 3 pounds. I didn't discover my mistake until everything had been seasoned....nonetheless, we enjoyed this! The last time we read a label on chorizo it made my stomach turn (lymph nodes, salivary glands) and I knew I had to make my own. Thank you for posting this! We had chorizo, potato and egg burritos this morning.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 10, 2011

      Just perfect!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 06, 2010

      This was really yummy! I actually under seasoned it because my judgement was off on how much meat we had so I was worried it may be too bland but not at all. Had a great kick to it and evryone who tried it LOVED it. I used the pork butt since it was the cheapest cut at the store and it worked out perfectly. Seriously an easy recipe, the longest part of this process is pealing the garlic. :) Thank you for another wonderful recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 23, 2009

      I grew up in a very ethnic part of Indiana close to chicago... and this beats any store bought chorizo you can find.... it's meaty, lean and sooo yummy! My kids (and I) loved the stuff! Thank you for sharing!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 20, 2009

      Delicious. I used 1/2 ground pork and 1/2 venison. I doubled the recipe and used less oil. I had no fat. We have chorizo in mexico in a cheese dip and I cant tell the difference except for the fat. Thanks Kitt.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 14, 2009

      Unqualified: wonderful. Worth a Zantac without question! This made our eyes tear -- normally we are such wimps! -- but we wouldn't change a thing! I had previously bought pork chorizo at a Latin market, yet I could tell no difference in taste or color; I had very little fat (none to drain) from my batch! I doubled the recipe and netted 2 3/4 cups marinated pork (it maxed out my Cuisinart SmartPower Duet food processor). This became part of A Different Style Fried Rice, and we were ecstatic! Straight to our Top Favorites of 2009 cookbook. This was served with shrimp, yellow rice, onions, and cilantro. Made for ZWT5: Mexican/Tex-Mex/Southwest U.S. region.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 31, 2009

      Kittenkal has done it once again! I have many great recipes with your signature on them and this one is no exception. I used a lean ground pork that I got from the butcher and used smoked paprika instead of sweet paprika. Wonderful, simply wonderful! I haven't found chorizo in any store to match the flavor or to even come close. Thanks for sharing all your fantastic recipes!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 19, 2009

      Wonderful flavor. I used ground turkey due to dietary restrictions, other than that followed the recipe exactly. Used it to make albondigas.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 15, 2009

      Delicious. I used ground pork and kept the rest of the ingredients the same. I did use the vinegar this time, next time I will not. I didn't like the flavor of it. But no stars off the recipe, I think that it is a personal taste. This goes in the permanent file, thanks for the recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 08, 2008

      This is a great recipe! This is what chorizo supposed to taste like! Instead of pork I used ground beef and it turned out amazing! This is a keeper!!!! LOVE IT!!!!!!!!!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 15, 2008

      I mixed this up to use in my Chorizo Spinach Casserole and it was excellent! I made no changes except to use already ground pork instead of the loin. I used about 1/8 tsp cayenne (for 3/4 # pork) but I think it could have used a little more. Thanks so much for the recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 15, 2008

      I am so happy to find this recipe, I have friends that make chorizo and egg burritos for breakfast and they smell so wonderful. Well I am a picky eater I guess because once I read the ingredients from the store bought stuff and saw saliva glands as a first ingredient I backed away. This recipe is wonderful and I can't wait to try it with the different meats

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 23, 2008

      This is a wonderful recipe but I'm not going to give my review a star rating because I drastically changed it by using skinless boneless chicken breast. I followed the rest of the recipe using the chicken breast in the processor instead of pork. The flavors were really true to the store bought premade chorizo we love but the texture suffered a little. I made the chicken chorizo for 'Latin-Style Fried Rice #304638' and it was pretty good in flavor but the texture was a little grainy. Maybe I'll try it with ground turkey as another reviewer suggested and I definitely want to try this with the pork in the future...I"m sure it will be 5 stars...maybe when we have company over. Thanks for posting!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 01, 2007

      This is also my new sausage recipe! In order to cut down on the fat, I used lean (7% fat)ground turkey and omitted the oil. Because I'm on a low sodium diet, I also replaced the salt with a salt substitute. Lastly, I added a little crushed red pepper in with the mixture. It was absolutely DELICIOUS! Thank you so very much for sharing your recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 23, 2005

      This is now my new sausage recipe. I tried this with ground turkey instead the pork. I added some minced onion and 1 chipotle pepper and omitted the sugar and salt.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 26, 2004

      I doubled this recipe, and used ground pork instead of the loin, and it was wonderful. Great recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Mexican Chorizo

    Serving Size: 1 (287 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 1

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 405.1
     
    Calories from Fat 237
    58%
    Total Fat 26.3 g
    40%
    Saturated Fat 7.5 g
    37%
    Cholesterol 95.2 mg
    31%
    Sodium 944.0 mg
    39%
    Total Carbohydrate 10.4 g
    3%
    Dietary Fiber 3.4 g
    13%
    Sugars 2.4 g
    9%
    Protein 31.8 g
    63%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes