Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Mexican Chocolate Pound Cake Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Mexican Chocolate Pound Cake

    Average Rating:

    24 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 24

    Sort by:

    • on June 26, 2007

      Great pound cake with a hint of cinnamon. The consistency is something between a brownie and a cake. I cut the recipe in half and baked it in a loaf pan. Mine took 68 minutes at 350. I also made it lower-fat by cutting the butter in half and adding back the same amount of applesauce. The cake is so dense and rich that no one would guess it was lower in fat.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 03, 2010

      This is a KEEPER!!! Cut the recipe in half, and used Smart Balance w/ EggBeaters to lower the fat and cholesterol. Also only used about 1 cup of sugars. Batter seemed thin, but it baked up nice and light. Perfect base for seasonal berries topped w/ lemon cream. YUMMY!! Thanks for sharing.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 05, 2007

      This is an incredible cake with complex flavors. I made two 9x5 loaves, and they took 48 minutes to bake at 350 degrees. When you first take a bite, the cinnamon comes through, warm and homey. Then, the rich chocolate and coffee flavors emerge. I served this with a scoop of butter pecan ice cream as part of my Cinco de Mayo menu. It's a snap to make with a mixer, and will become a welcome part of my dessert indulgences! Thank you!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 14, 2007

      Yummy yummy! Perfect consistency in this cake, dense and chocolatey. I think I forgot one teaspoon of cinnamon though, because I can't taste it at all. The cake came together easily though and slices well. A great picnic cake. Thanks!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 09, 2007

      Wow! What a nice cake! I'm making a birthday cake for my dd and this one recipe made 2 - 9" rounds PLUS a mini stand-up bear. The texture is beautiful and I can't wait to decorate it now. It was an excellent and easy recipe to use in 3-D stand up pans. I had to keep an eye on my cakes because I wasn't sure how long they would take (especially the bear) but I had no trouble at all. This one is a keeper. Thanks!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 29, 2007

      Nice flavor and texture - shows off the cinnamon. Do be careful about not over baking. I cooked my cake in a bundt pan and at 55 minutes it was definately not done and at 63 minutes a bit over done. Enjoyed the cake but probably won't make it again because desserts are very much special occasions at our house and I like to try new recipes.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 24, 2014

      Forgive me if my review comes up several times... Whoops! I'm frightfully low tech, as young as I am. Bwahaha!!!<br/><br/>Okay. I made it again... and, wouldn't you know it? I forgot 1/2 cup of the flour. T_T<br/><br/><br/>This might have been a happy accident though. Last time I made it it took long to cook, but it ended up dry. This time, it also took long to cook... but the crumb was light (Deceptively light... like a blimp masquerading as a pigeon...) and moist. Holy cow!<br/><br/><br/>Yeah, this is now officially a favorite. Thank you from the bottom of our Corazones Mexicanos!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 16, 2012

      Probably a 5 without my substitution. I didn't have a pound of butter. No applesauce either. Used 1 cup spreadable fruit (strawberry) instead. The texture and everything is fabulous, but the strawberry flavor is a little off-putting, especially for teen-aged boys. Next time - use all butter. 70 minutes at 360 in a bundt pan. ***Second time - made as written. Perfect.***

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 05, 2010

      I made half a recipe for a 9X5 loaf pan and cooked for 45 min. The middle fell after cooling and the middle was not done even though I used a toothpick to test. Ended up throwing about half of it away. I did however like the cinnamon and chocolate flavor.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 29, 2010

      I made this with Mexican chocolate I got from Oaxaca CIty, it was for hot chocolate, so probably not the best or darkest necessary, the cinnamon was also from Oaxaca, but neither was enough to give this a good strong flavour that I was looking for.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 04, 2007

      This was great. It was pretty easy to make as far as cakes go. And absolutely delicious!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 23, 2007

      This came out delicious and moist with a subtle hint of cinnamon. I baked it in a stoneware bundt pan then drizzled Chocolate Kahlua Frosting on top. It was heavenly!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 18, 2007

      A very nice blend of flavours and perfect with ice cream. I was afraid it was going to run over in the 10-inch bundt pan and had a few anxious moments as it rose higher and higher but it did hold its shape. Despite all the warnings in other reviews, I managed to take this from undercooked to slightly overdone in the space of about 10 minutes. Well worth another attempt to get it perfect. Thanks! Made for ZWT3.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 15, 2007

      I don't think the eventual flavor combination was for me, but it was very easy to make and the raw batter tasted really amazing!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 10, 2006

      Great cake, and unusual! I cut the recipe in half, and baked a small tube pan and two mini-loaves. The mini loaves went about a half hour, and the small bundt pan was about 45 minutes. Gorgeous dark cake, texture just what you'd expect for regular cake - not too dense, not too airy. (I found it lighter than a regular pound cake.) Cinnamon overtones really come through without being overwhelming. I had my toothpicks at the ready so I checked a few times to make sure it wouldn't dry out - thanks for the warning! And thanks for posting - we'll be making this again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 17, 2006

      Fast and easy recipe--I used it at work for a kid's group and they just loved it!!! The staff liked it too!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 15, 2006

      Great cake!! It was a big hit tonight! Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 11, 2006

      I love this cake. Absolutely delicious. You can sense the cinnamon as soon as you bite into it and then follows the heavenly taste of dark, dark chocolate. Ahh! Made 1/2 recipe and baked in a 22 cm bundt pan for about an hour. Thank you so much for the recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 09, 2006

      Just perfect!!! Loved it! I made half of it and we eat it at once!!! I baked it for 60 minutes and they came out perfect. Thanks for such a great cake Charmie777!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 08, 2006

      Made this into 4 little loaves--froze two. The first two got eaten Immediately! The next day, another came out of the freezer, defrosted beautifully and quickly disappeared. A true keeper!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Mexican Chocolate Pound Cake

    Serving Size: 1 (2179 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 1

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 8024.0
     
    Calories from Fat 3752
    46%
    Total Fat 416.8 g
    641%
    Saturated Fat 252.5 g
    1262%
    Cholesterol 2104.3 mg
    701%
    Sodium 2572.5 mg
    107%
    Total Carbohydrate 1030.4 g
    343%
    Dietary Fiber 43.1 g
    172%
    Sugars 637.3 g
    2549%
    Protein 108.3 g
    216%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes