14 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

Laura, these are outstanding! I made them for Zaar's Mexican Cook-A-Thon and thought the combination of cinnamon and chocolate would make for an interesting dessert. I was right; they're different and delicious! The cinnamon and almond flavours come through very well; while these are rich, they are also addictive and I can see that this pan won't last too long! Very easy to prepare, too. Mine were done to perfection after 22 minutes in the oven. My only suggestion to those making it is to make sure your foil overlaps the top of the pan completely; I had some foil bits on the edge get caught in the batter and had to throw a teeny bit away -- nobody wants to chew foil LOL! I'll definitely be making these again; thanks for sharing the recipe!

18 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Lennie May 06, 2002

The truly grand finale to our Cinco de Mayo party. I cooked them about 20 minutes- but I tend to like my brownies pretty soft. They were terrific, anyway and a big hit with our whole party. The cinnamon and almond flavors were what really sets them apart- I might even add a little more almond next time.

12 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Karen from Montana May 13, 2002

Wow, these are good! I actually was looking for a spicy brownie recipe, much like something I had a chocolate bar in Greenwich Village, so I adapted these. For something even more unique, try substituting 1 teaspoon of the cinnamon for 1 teaspoon of chipotle powder and a pinch of cayenne. They turned out great! The only thing I would have done differently is cooked them longer - I stopped my center at gooey rather than moist...

6 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
alliwini February 16, 2003

I had to find something to make for a women's service club party. These brownies looked very intersting so I gave them a try. Very, very good with a moist, tender texture. The chocolate, cinnamon and almond flavors were wonderful and had the ladies guessing what the secret ingredients were. I got many requests for the recipe. Thank-you for sharing a unique, delicious recipe.

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
celeste and co. February 25, 2004

THANK YOU!!! This is it - the perfect brownie! I needed a brownie w/cinnamon and heat for a Mexican dinner and thanks to Canadianchef's review, I got the nerve to replace 1 tsp. of cinnamon with 1 tsp. of cayenne pepper. It was the exact amount of heat I was looking for. Thanks again to all!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Janecooksswell September 30, 2010

I love this recipe. I add 2 tsp of cayenne pepper with the cinnamon and everyone just loves it. For me, the hardest part is having to share them . . . I want to eat them all myself!!!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
CanadianChef January 28, 2010

I wish I had NEVER found this recipe!!! These are some of the best brownies I've ever had the pleasure of eating. I cannot even describe the pure joy of biting into these. Chocolate heaven comes to mind. Love the addition of almond, think that just pushes these over the edge. The edge of ever fitting into your jeans again. Thanks for sharing this recipe. I am already looking for an excuse to make them again.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
podapo March 16, 2008

The key word here is "fudge". Very fudgey texture and rich taste. I've only eaten brownies this fudgey, never had the pleasure of making them. Will be making them more!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
CASunshine July 21, 2005

I made these this week for a friend who loves cinnamon. She thought they were fantastic, and was suprised by the almond. We both give them thumbs up.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
startnover May 28, 2005

Wow - these are so different but so good! We have a mexican party at work and I can't wait to serve these to my coworkers. The taste catches you off guard but highly addicting after the first bite! Great recipe!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
kyoung213 May 05, 2005
Mexican Chocolate Fudge Brownies