Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / mexican chocolate cake Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    mexican chocolate cake

    Average Rating:

    36 Total Reviews

    Showing 21-36 of 36

    Sort by:

    • on October 25, 2007

      I'm just about to make this AGAIN and realized I haven't reviewed it yet! This cake is wonderful. Easy to make and so very good. The warmth that the cayenne brings to the chocolate makes it unforgettable to everyone that tastes it. I think I will try adding 1/4 tsp of chili powder as one reviewer suggested just to see if it can possibly get better (although I am really happy with the way it is). Definitely one of my go to recipes. I'm making it this time as cupcakes with a half strawberry on top of each with the glaze as suggested in the reviews.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 19, 2007

      excellent mix of sweet and spicy.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 24, 2007

      WOW!!! This is a fabulous recipe!! It is very easy to make, yet the taste is complex...the layers of flavor that the cinnamon, and chili lend to the chocolate are incredible (I used chipotle, my favorite!!!)...I also think that the balsamic enhanced the cocoa in a new way that I found interesting!! The amount of vanilla may seem like a lot, but the essence it brings in my opinion is essential. There is a wonderful lingering sweet heat that each moist mouthful leaves behind...my husband thought I had used an expensive liqueur to flavor the batter!! I added 1/4 cup of semi-sweet chocolate chips and had to leave out the strawberries this time because I kind of decided to make this spur of the moment while playing the ZWT3 game - it was still delicious, even "berry-less" - I used the glaze alone anyway and was not shy about pouring it all over the cake... fresh chocolate covered berries would definitely add an even greater level of decadence to this already scrumptious treat....My goodness I'm glad I tried this...I expect to make this again and again!! - Thank you so much Remembering Amy.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 10, 2007

      My boyfriend and I made this cake for our birthdays. He's not vegan (I am), and he had this comment: "So why *do* they put eggs and milk in cake?" We added a little extra cayenne pepper and omitted the strawberries (because we forgot them), but stormylee is absolutely right--they would have complemented this cake's taste perfectly. I'll probably use this recipe for cupcakes with a slice of strawberry atop each one. Thanks for this wonderful recipe! Just a little addendum: this has become standard dessert in our home. Since my first review, I've married the boyfriend (who is now vegan), and he routinely requests this cake. Over the years we've made one small change: we add 1/4 tsp chili powder in addition to the cayenne. Thanks for such a keeper!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 27, 2007

      A GREAT recipe. The easiest cake I've ever made.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 02, 2007

      This is a really delicious cake! I loved the unusual aftertaste. It was very easy to make too. I used hot chilli powder instead of cayenne pepper, margarine instead of canola oil and almond essence instead of vanilla ... came out fine. I also used soya milk for the glaze to make it more "fudgy". The only reason I'm giving it 4 rather than 5 stars is because it took a fair bit longer to cook than the recipe says.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 19, 2006

      This cake is very good with just a touch of spice beyond the chocolate flavor. We loved it and it was a welcome change to a regular chocolate cake. Highly recommended!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 01, 2006

      We're always thrilled to find a new vegan dessert, especially one with chocolate. This was so simple to make that the kids could do it. I was a bit unsure after reading the other reviews if this was supposed to have one or two layers so I used two 8" tart pans; the two ended up equaling one regular 8" layer. It's good to know that we could make this in just one pan, though it looked very elegant with the two layers. I think fruit or (foregoing the vegan part) a cream filling would be good between the layers, if you wanted to divide the batter. I only ended up using 4-1/2 to 5 Tbsp of water so as to have a thicker glaze. We didn't have strawberries on hand, but used mini-chocolate chips over the top. It was a huge hit and the family has already requested it again. Thanks so much for a great addition to our dessert rotation!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 19, 2006

      I followed to recipe exactly and did it twice since we realized we wanted more cake after we baked the first one. It turned out beautiful and no on knew it was vegan. Very wonderful recipe! thankyou

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 02, 2006

      A-MAZING!! I made this for an office birthday and no one suspected it was vegan, and I didn't bother telling them. I've made many, many non-vegan cakes for the office and this one got the most "mmmm's" and "ooohhhh's" and "YUM's"!! I doubled the recipe to make a double layer cake with whole dipped strawberries on top. A stellar presentation! Next time I will also thinly slice strawberries to layer between the cake layers. I wasn't sure that strawberries would go well with the cinnamon, but it was a great pairing. Next time I will also probably add a bit of cinn and cayenne to the frosting. Oh, and I used vanilla soy milk instead of water for both. Thanks!! It was wonderful-

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 27, 2005

      I really loved this recipe. If you love chocolate, this is your recipe. It's moist and very rich! I did however add some instant coffe in place of the water and threw in some instant coffee in the chocolete glaze as well to make it more of a mocha taste and I even added some coconut to the glaze for the heck of it. It was a hit!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 30, 2005

      I really enjoyed this cake. The first day I think the flavors were too sharp, but by the 3rd day the flavors had melded together beautifully. Very interesting and more a grownup chocolate cake. I didn't have strawberries but otherwise followed the recipe. I would recommend wrapping the cake for a couple of days before frosting and serving the cake. Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 08, 2005

      What a surprisingly great cake!! I made this cake yesterday for my Mexican born son-in-law's Birthday. He is not a desert person but when he took a bite of this cake he could not beleive how good it was. He took the rest home with my daughter. Thank you for this great recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 08, 2005

      I really didnt know what to expect when I made this cake but I am not disappointed. The taste of this cake was wonderfully unusual, and flavourful - and surprisingly, I could hardly taste the cayenne. However, I found it a tad dry, but after 2 days, the texture was much better. I did not make the glaze as I have this little quirk of wanting to taste the cake as it is the first time I bake it. I would make it again with or without the glaze...definitely!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 23, 2004

      There are just 2 of us, so I'm always on the lookout for smaller sized desserts. This is so easy, so tasty and really posh looking --we loved it! The cake is moist and has a nice depth of flavor, with the balsamic and cayenne. The strawberries in the store aren't that great yet, but they were still delicious with this cake. I used sweet balsamic as that was what I had on hand. Next time will make it with the regular. Either way, this recipe is a definite keeper. Thanks so much for sharing!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 07, 2004

      Trust me, you don't have to be vegan or care for spices to like this cake! I actually made this cake as a bit of a curiosity but it really is delectable! The spices add to the depth of the chocolate-y taste of the cake and leave a nice warm feeling in your mouth - no need to worry about your mouth burning! I omitted the strawberries as they are not in season at the moment, but they would match the flavour of this cake perfectly. And until the strawberry season rolls along, I think I'll make this in a bigger, rectangular pan and cut into bars. The cake is very moist in the middle so I'll have to make sure I get the centre pieces... Ooh yum! Thanks so much for sharing the recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    1 2 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for mexican chocolate cake

    Serving Size: 1 (180 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 6

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 458.5
     
    Calories from Fat 99
    21%
    Total Fat 11.1 g
    17%
    Saturated Fat 1.3 g
    6%
    Cholesterol 0.0 mg
    0%
    Sodium 312.1 mg
    13%
    Total Carbohydrate 87.6 g
    29%
    Dietary Fiber 5.2 g
    21%
    Sugars 54.3 g
    217%
    Protein 6.1 g
    12%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites