Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / mexican chocolate cake Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    mexican chocolate cake

    Average Rating:

    35 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 35

    Sort by:

    • on February 04, 2013

      Amazingly good. My cakes usually turn out dry but not this one. It has so much flavor. Loved it.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 13, 2008

      This cake is great for guests who don't eat eggs. I have used it many times, often serving with berries to bring out the chocolate flavours. I try to cut down on the sugar a bit, and have always used raspberry flavoured balsamic vinegar. I half the chocolate glaze recipe depending on whether I want a drizzled pattern or dripping glaze. The cake is a bit heavier/denser, but so so good!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 19, 2006

      darn it - I hate giving only 3 stars. The cake tastes good, but it completely fell apart. The glaze will not harden. I found the cinnamon a bit overpowering. I will try again with a bit less cinnamon because it was amazingly easy to prepare.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 06, 2005

      Very interesting cake! Reminded me of Texas Sheet Cake my friend's mom used to make. I thought the spices were a tad too strong, but I really liked the dense, brownie-like texture. I sprinkled some toasted almond slivers on it and added some Cool Whip. And I sliced up some frozen strawberries, which were really a good foil to the spicy nature of the cake.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 02, 2014

      Wonderfully deep, spicy-sweet flavor! Instead of the glaze, I made a cream cheese frosting with lime juice. It was incredible with the spice of the cayenne - complimented it perfectly. I make cakes monthly for the birthdays at work and this month's cake was a HUGE hit. I made the original exactly according to the recipe and it was FABULOUS (I uploaded photos - the 2-level cake with white icing and brown lettering is the original recipe). I also made a gluten-free version, simply subbing Bob's Red Mill Gluten-Free Flour for the flour in the recipe (photos of the single-level, white-icing one dusted with cocoa powder, brown lettering). It was also REALLY good - a little less moist and soft, but the original is so moist and soft that the gluten-free was still REALLY great! This recipe is on my regular rotation now since everyone at work loved it, so much that I may make it two or three times a year - yeah, it was that popular.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 02, 2013

      I hate to rain on everyone's parade, but I agree that the spices in this cake were too strong. I think it was the mixture of the cinnamon, cayenne, and balsamic vinegar that upset my stomach. I would not call this kid friendly as my 6 year old did not like it. I also agree that the glaze does not harden. I won't make it again, but if I were inclined to, I would probably only add a pinch of cayenne.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 04, 2013

      This is an excellent recipe! I made it as cupcakes as part of our Super Bowl extravaganza. Vegans and non-vegans alike were impressed with the taste and texture. As cupcakes, the baking time was shorter - only 20 min. I also whisked the wet ingredients together first, and sifted the dry ingredients into it. We topped them with an easy "buttercream" icing made with Earth Balance.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 19, 2012

      I'm not a vegan, so I was a little bit hesitant in trying a cake recipe without any eggs. But I was very impressed with the way this turned out! The cake turned out great! The spices really added a nice flavor without being overpowering, and the cake itself was very chocolatey. And the texture was truly awesome! Often times my cakes turn out dense and crumbly, but this one was moist and soft, and not crumbly at all. I was very impressed! I followed the recipe exactly, and it turned out great! :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 25, 2011

    • on May 18, 2011

      A bit too spicy for me, but the rest of the gals at the Cinco de Mayo party loved it- especially 3 of them. I hate baking (unknown by the menu person) but this one was so easy to make I'd do it again. I drizzled a little of the chocolate on then left the rest in a bowl with a spoon for self service. Several gals asked for the recipe- I sent them the link.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 09, 2010

    • on January 25, 2010

      We made this for a homeschool celebration and LOVED IT!! I tried it with chili powder because I was serving it to kids, but look forward to trying it with cayenne next time. Really like how the strawberries went with it, I even added sliced strawberries to my leftover slice. YUM! Thank you for this recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 02, 2009

      I didn't add the chocolate glaze since the sugar is technically not vegan and my friend (who I was cooking for) is very strict. I also used apple sauce instead of oil out of convenience. I love the flavour of mexican chocolate and enjoyed this - it was fluffy, moist and had a pleasing kick to it. Also, this was easier to make than a lot of vegan dessert recipes out there. Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 01, 2009

      This was wonderfuly spiced. I made it for my BF on V-day to go along with the mexican theme. The next time I make this I will ommit the glaze (I didn't care for that to much). The strawberries are a great idea. Thanks for sharing. 080109- I love this cake still! I don't like overly sweet cakes so this is perfect for me. Instead of the glaze I sprinkle it with powdered sugar and add a dollop of whipped cream.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 21, 2008

      I just became vegan and have been searching for some new favorite recipes. This will definitely be one of them! I made tiny cupcakes out of the batter, used the glaze, and topped them with blueberries, raspberries, and sliced strawberries and a sprinkle of powdered sugar. Very pretty and very tasty.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 06, 2008

      This is a fantastic cake. Very easy to make. When I made the chocolate glaze, though, it never hardened for me and was a bit of a sloppy mess---but it was a delicious sloppy mess! Friends recommended serving the cake with a bottle of Cholula hot pepper sauce on the side, stating it takes the cake to a whole new level! Fantastic, thanks for sharing.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 27, 2008

      This my most favorite chocolate cake there is! I watched the movie "Chocolate" that is where I learned that cayenne pepper & chocolate go really well together. I will also put about 1 Tablespoon of cocoa powder in my chili too. That way I don't need to add sugar to cut the acid of the tomatoes.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 26, 2008

      We were split on this cake. Two of us loved it, the other four did not. Perhaps they were expecting chocolate cake, but got a surprise and they're just not into the surprise. Moist, flavorful and a tiny bit spicy.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 23, 2008

      This is a really wonderful, delicious cake which is a beautiful glossy brown. However, I find it to be a very small recipe and generally double it.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 25, 2007

      I'm just about to make this AGAIN and realized I haven't reviewed it yet! This cake is wonderful. Easy to make and so very good. The warmth that the cayenne brings to the chocolate makes it unforgettable to everyone that tastes it. I think I will try adding 1/4 tsp of chili powder as one reviewer suggested just to see if it can possibly get better (although I am really happy with the way it is). Definitely one of my go to recipes. I'm making it this time as cupcakes with a half strawberry on top of each with the glaze as suggested in the reviews.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for mexican chocolate cake

    Serving Size: 1 (180 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 6

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 458.5
     
    Calories from Fat 99
    21%
    Total Fat 11.1 g
    17%
    Saturated Fat 1.3 g
    6%
    Cholesterol 0.0 mg
    0%
    Sodium 312.1 mg
    13%
    Total Carbohydrate 87.6 g
    29%
    Dietary Fiber 5.2 g
    21%
    Sugars 54.3 g
    217%
    Protein 6.1 g
    12%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites