37 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

Amazingly good. My cakes usually turn out dry but not this one. It has so much flavor. Loved it.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
adopt a greyhound February 04, 2013

This cake is great for guests who don't eat eggs. I have used it many times, often serving with berries to bring out the chocolate flavours. I try to cut down on the sugar a bit, and have always used raspberry flavoured balsamic vinegar. I half the chocolate glaze recipe depending on whether I want a drizzled pattern or dripping glaze. The cake is a bit heavier/denser, but so so good!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Eat! Eat! You're skin and bones! November 13, 2008

darn it - I hate giving only 3 stars. The cake tastes good, but it completely fell apart. The glaze will not harden. I found the cinnamon a bit overpowering. I will try again with a bit less cinnamon because it was amazingly easy to prepare.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
sqrl February 19, 2006

Very interesting cake! Reminded me of Texas Sheet Cake my friend's mom used to make. I thought the spices were a tad too strong, but I really liked the dense, brownie-like texture. I sprinkled some toasted almond slivers on it and added some Cool Whip. And I sliced up some frozen strawberries, which were really a good foil to the spicy nature of the cake.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Napoleon Dynamite March 06, 2005

Delicious! Pleased my vegan husband and even my children enjoyed making and eating this cake. They were amazed at the addition of vinegar and cayenne. It will be a Cinco de Mayo tradition for years to come.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
bwbarakett May 06, 2015

I am not vegan, but was making this for a party that a had a vegan guest. Everyone loved it, I'm a big fan of the spicy kick. I did cut down on the liquid when I made the glaze, put in just enough so it would drizzle off the whisk-I didn't have a problem with it not hardening. I've made it 3 or four more times since the first time. The only downside to this cake, is that it has to be eaten up within a day of baking it. It just doesn't store well.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Arli October 28, 2014

Wonderfully deep, spicy-sweet flavor! Instead of the glaze, I made a cream cheese frosting with lime juice. It was incredible with the spice of the cayenne - complimented it perfectly. I make cakes monthly for the birthdays at work and this month's cake was a HUGE hit. I made the original exactly according to the recipe and it was FABULOUS (I uploaded photos - the 2-level cake with white icing and brown lettering is the original recipe). I also made a gluten-free version, simply subbing Bob's Red Mill Gluten-Free Flour for the flour in the recipe (photos of the single-level, white-icing one dusted with cocoa powder, brown lettering). It was also REALLY good - a little less moist and soft, but the original is so moist and soft that the gluten-free was still REALLY great! This recipe is on my regular rotation now since everyone at work loved it, so much that I may make it two or three times a year - yeah, it was that popular.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
TheRedneckHippie March 02, 2014

I hate to rain on everyone's parade, but I agree that the spices in this cake were too strong. I think it was the mixture of the cinnamon, cayenne, and balsamic vinegar that upset my stomach. I would not call this kid friendly as my 6 year old did not like it. I also agree that the glaze does not harden. I won't make it again, but if I were inclined to, I would probably only add a pinch of cayenne.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Scrivener1 June 02, 2013

This is an excellent recipe! I made it as cupcakes as part of our Super Bowl extravaganza. Vegans and non-vegans alike were impressed with the taste and texture. As cupcakes, the baking time was shorter - only 20 min. I also whisked the wet ingredients together first, and sifted the dry ingredients into it. We topped them with an easy "buttercream" icing made with Earth Balance.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Marina K February 04, 2013

I'm not a vegan, so I was a little bit hesitant in trying a cake recipe without any eggs. But I was very impressed with the way this turned out! The cake turned out great! The spices really added a nice flavor without being overpowering, and the cake itself was very chocolatey. And the texture was truly awesome! Often times my cakes turn out dense and crumbly, but this one was moist and soft, and not crumbly at all. I was very impressed! I followed the recipe exactly, and it turned out great! :)

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
bakingymnast August 19, 2012
mexican chocolate cake