10 Reviews

First sorry I changed the lime for lemon as I thought like always I had some on hand yet I forgot last shopping they were an outrageous price so I didn't purchase any. I changed the jalapeno for cayenne powder to taste adding it to the garlic. I used unrefined extra virgin olive oil, canned chickpeas, grape tomatoes I ripened up in their box on top of the refrigerator during the winter, I changed the red onion for sweet white onion as that is what we prefer, used sea salt, plus the rest. We ate it immediately and enjoyed it even though we don't usually go for spicy! Made for Veggie Swap 31 ~ February 2011.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
UmmBinat February 10, 2011

Healthy, fresh, easy to make and super yummy-what more could you ask for?! This salad was sooo good!
I had cooked a mix of white beans and chickpeas and was looking for a light dinner, so this came in super handy. As I dont like cilantro, I simply left it out.
THANK YOU SO MUCH for sharing this great recipe with us, Kat!
Made and reviewed for my chosen chef during Veggie Swap #31 February 2011.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Lalaloula February 01, 2011

This chickpea dish is so flavorful! It went very well with steak from the grill tonight and another one of Katzen's recipes, Cheesy & Seedy Jalapeno Bread (Abm). The lime juice and fresh cilantro went just right with the sauteed jalapeno and garlic. We love chickpea salads; I'm sure this one will appear again at our table, especially when jalapeno's are ready in the garden, as they have so much flavor!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Brooke the Cook in WI June 25, 2010

This is a super delicious recipe; kind of like pico de gallo flavour but with the goodness of chickpeas. I cut back on the olive oil while sauteeing the jalapeno and garlic, otherwise made exactly as stated. The flavour is so fresh and lively. I will be making again for sure. Made for Zaar Stars.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Deantini March 21, 2010

Very nice accompaniment to shrimp tacos tonight. I used 2 jalapeno's and followed the rest as stated and it was perfectly spicy.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
RedVinoGirl September 14, 2009

This was so good! I added white onion (that's what I had on hand) but otherwise followed the recipe exactly. It reminded me of a pico de gallo. This would be great served inside warm tortillas! Very good and I can't wait to make it again! Thanks for the recipe!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
4QTpies July 07, 2009

An amazing, easy to prepare salad! I made this this morning before leaving for work and had a spoonful and the taste was outstanding! The only thing I did different was to add dried organic cilantro and used my non refined sea salt. I will be serving this this evening with grilled chicken and asparagus. Thank you for this recipe!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
cabosun June 26, 2009

Oh my goodness, another super chickpea dish. Made for 123 and enjoyed so... much. Made as Katzen directed, but added a tag more cilantro (couldn't help myself). A real keeper, made for 123 tag. Delish.As stated on my page, I don't bother with pics when others before me have done so good at pics.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
BakinBaby June 24, 2009

Light yet filling and easy to make! I used white onion instead of red and cut the oil in half, but made no other changes. This is a nice side dish or just by itself. Thanx for sharing!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
*Parsley* June 12, 2009

Yum! I really enjoyed this salad! Fresh and tasty! Thanks Katzen!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Sharon123 June 04, 2009
Mexican Chickpea Salad