Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Mexican Chickpea Salad Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Mexican Chickpea Salad

    Average Rating:

    10 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-10 of 10

    Sort by:

    • on February 10, 2011

      First sorry I changed the lime for lemon as I thought like always I had some on hand yet I forgot last shopping they were an outrageous price so I didn't purchase any. I changed the jalapeno for cayenne powder to taste adding it to the garlic. I used unrefined extra virgin olive oil, canned chickpeas, grape tomatoes I ripened up in their box on top of the refrigerator during the winter, I changed the red onion for sweet white onion as that is what we prefer, used sea salt, plus the rest. We ate it immediately and enjoyed it even though we don't usually go for spicy! Made for Veggie Swap 31 ~ February 2011.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 01, 2011

      Healthy, fresh, easy to make and super yummy-what more could you ask for?! This salad was sooo good!
      I had cooked a mix of white beans and chickpeas and was looking for a light dinner, so this came in super handy. As I dont like cilantro, I simply left it out.
      THANK YOU SO MUCH for sharing this great recipe with us, Kat!
      Made and reviewed for my chosen chef during Veggie Swap #31 February 2011.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 25, 2010

      This chickpea dish is so flavorful! It went very well with steak from the grill tonight and another one of Katzen's recipes, Cheesy & Seedy Jalapeno Bread (Abm). The lime juice and fresh cilantro went just right with the sauteed jalapeno and garlic. We love chickpea salads; I'm sure this one will appear again at our table, especially when jalapeno's are ready in the garden, as they have so much flavor!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 21, 2010

      This is a super delicious recipe; kind of like pico de gallo flavour but with the goodness of chickpeas. I cut back on the olive oil while sauteeing the jalapeno and garlic, otherwise made exactly as stated. The flavour is so fresh and lively. I will be making again for sure. Made for Zaar Stars.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 14, 2009

      Very nice accompaniment to shrimp tacos tonight. I used 2 jalapeno's and followed the rest as stated and it was perfectly spicy.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 07, 2009

      This was so good! I added white onion (that's what I had on hand) but otherwise followed the recipe exactly. It reminded me of a pico de gallo. This would be great served inside warm tortillas! Very good and I can't wait to make it again! Thanks for the recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 26, 2009

      An amazing, easy to prepare salad! I made this this morning before leaving for work and had a spoonful and the taste was outstanding! The only thing I did different was to add dried organic cilantro and used my non refined sea salt. I will be serving this this evening with grilled chicken and asparagus. Thank you for this recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 24, 2009

      Oh my goodness, another super chickpea dish. Made for 123 and enjoyed so... much. Made as Katzen directed, but added a tag more cilantro (couldn't help myself). A real keeper, made for 123 tag. Delish.As stated on my page, I don't bother with pics when others before me have done so good at pics.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 12, 2009

      Light yet filling and easy to make! I used white onion instead of red and cut the oil in half, but made no other changes. This is a nice side dish or just by itself. Thanx for sharing!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 04, 2009

      Yum! I really enjoyed this salad! Fresh and tasty! Thanks Katzen!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Mexican Chickpea Salad

    Serving Size: 1 (181 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 213.8
     
    Calories from Fat 101
    47%
    Total Fat 11.3 g
    17%
    Saturated Fat 1.5 g
    7%
    Cholesterol 0.0 mg
    0%
    Sodium 1145.2 mg
    47%
    Total Carbohydrate 24.3 g
    8%
    Dietary Fiber 4.9 g
    19%
    Sugars 2.1 g
    8%
    Protein 5.1 g
    10%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites