28 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

Wow!! This is really a snap to put together & it's excellent. Thanks for a keeper!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
OrangeOctober April 11, 2008

This was really good! I threw everything in the crock pot before I went to work. I came home 9 hours later and mixed up the sour cream mixture and dinner was served in no time flat. The only problem I had was the rice was still crunchy, but I'm sure that was because it was cooked in the crock pot. I used leftover turkey and some homemade chipotle salsa. I will definitely be making this again! Thanks MEP! Amy

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
itsnevrenough January 10, 2008

I didn't care for this soup. I found it very bland. Sorry!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
trick September 27, 2007

Absolutely fantastic dish!! My family loved it. I was in a hurry so used canned chicken, added hominy as well. From grocery bags to table in 45min. I also used Newnams blackbean and corn salsa, and omg...it was wonderful. The cream was eaten with chips it was so good. The only question I had was wether it should be cooked or uncooked rice. I used brown rice and it didnt completely cook. Otherwise, great, will be a definate staple on my menu!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
niki_bouvier June 28, 2007

Excellent flavor and sooo easy. I was pressed for time, so I used a store bought "Broaster" chicken. After deboning the chicken and shredding the meat I found that I used half the chicken for this dish so I saved the rest for another recipe. Loved the Sour Cream recipe - we used lowfat sour cream and it was great! Thanks for this easy and tasty recipe.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Sharon A. H March 14, 2007

I made this the day before for a daytona race party..it never made it..LOL..it was so good we ate it for that evenings dinner..Thanks..just had to make a second one..

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
phosman646 February 17, 2007

AWESOME! I followed the recipe almost exactly, using brown rice instead. I made sure I kept the lid on for at least 30 min. to insure the rice was cooked thoroughly and it was. I didn't have an extra can of green chilies for the cream so left them out & it was still yummy! Thanks!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
fitnfamished December 12, 2006

I have had this recipe printed out for ages and finally got around to making it. I can't believe I waited so long. This is a really great soup. The flavor is wonderful and it's really filling. I made the recipe exactly as stated except I used more cilantro just because we love it. As others have said, don't skip the sauce. It's the finishing touch. Thanks for a great recipe MEP.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
HalfBakedCappy December 05, 2006

AWESOME! I - like others - poached my chicken in the broth. Be sure to add more broth if you cook your chicken this way as some will evaporate. I used a medium hot salsa and the heat was perfect for us. For the sauce I used: 1 cup of sour cream, 2 tablespoons lime juice, the whole bunch of cilantro with the 4 oz can of chilies. I let the sauce come to room temperature so the flavors would meld well. I topped the soup with shredded jack cheese before adding the sauce. DO NOT SKIP THE SAUCE! It is (IMO) what makes this GREAT recipe a 5 star winner. Thanks for sharing MEP! I can't wait to share this with others.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
JT'sMom November 15, 2006

BF made this the other night, with vegetarian chicken strips from the freezer section and vegetable broth. Instead of sour cream he used Greek yogurt. He didn't have enough salsa in the house so only added about half a jar, and he added too much cilantro to the cream sauce and did not chop it finely enough (as recipe specified). He didn't add any cilantro to his portion as he doesn't like it. Therefore I thought maybe I just shouldn't submit a review at all, but then we ate the leftovers, at which point he added extra salsa and kept the cilantro out of the cream sauce entirely. So, I decided it deserved 5 stars after all:D BF was particularly fond of this recipe, so I will be making it for him again. I like hominy too, so I might try that next time.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Kumquat the Cat's friend November 13, 2006
Mexican Chicken Soup With Cilantro-Chile Cream