Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Mexican Chicken - Paula and Jamie Deen Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Mexican Chicken - Paula and Jamie Deen

    Average Rating:

    13 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-13 of 13

    Sort by:

    • on April 21, 2010

      I may or may not make this casserole again. It was okay, but the flour tortillas got really soggy. It tasted better warmed up a couple of hours later, but the next day I had to throw it all away because they were just TOO soggy. The flavor was pretty good, but overall it just didn't fit the bill.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 29, 2009

      Five stars! With modifications. I used low-fat cream of chicken and cream of mushroom soup, as well as fat-free tortillas and low-fat Mexican cheese blend, which severely cut calories and fat (in fact, when I calculated this recipe in Weight Watchers using the low-fat or fat-free subs, it's only 5 points per serving!). I didn't have cooked chicken on hand, so I threw three chicken breasts onto the George Foreman - but first I dredged them in taco seasonings! That made a huge difference I think. Then, I also added a tsp of ground cumin and a teeny pinch of cayenne to fight off any blandness from using the lower-fat subs. I also used Ro-Tel tomatoes with a little kick. My uber-picky boyfriend gobbled this up! It was fantastic! I think the seasonings really added to it. And, surprisingly (for Paula Deen), it can be made to be almost healthy! Thanks for posting this super-easy and super-tasty recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 02, 2008

      Family thought this was a little bland but that doesnt stop me from 5 starring it, because it still meets my qualifications for a repeat dinner performance... Easy, Quick and inexpensive. Next time I think I will add a can of ROTEL to add some more flavor.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 28, 2008

    • on June 17, 2008

    • on May 11, 2008

      Perfect to throw together on a busy weeknight. I also froze a second dish before baking and it was great to have on hand a few weeks later.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 05, 2008

      This was wonderful! My whole family loved this, especially my teenage sons. My husband told me to "keep this one" and make it often! They liked it topped with salsa. Thanks for sharing!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 15, 2007

      My teenagers liked this cheesy casserole. Easy to make :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 31, 2007

      I used a can of Rotel for heat. Family loved it! My husband does not like leftovers, usually, but he ate ALL of these leftovers! Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 05, 2007

      I love Paula Deen and had seen her make this on her TV show, but then forgot about it. I made it exactly as the recipe stated, but I thought it needed more spice. I added sour cream and my husband ate it plain and he really liked it. Next time, I will probably use Rotel instead of plain tomatoes and maybe add some garlic and other spices to give it a kick. Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 24, 2007

      My family loved this one. I added a little heat to spice it up but otherwise i followed the directions exactly as told. Will make it again as demanded by my guys!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 15, 2007

      I used a can of Ro'tel tomatoes & green chilies instead of plain tomoatoes. We topped our servings with sour cream, chopped onions and salsa. Served refried beans on the side. The whole family enjoyed it and it was VERY easy to make. Great recipe that I'll be using again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 14, 2007

      I made this recipe minus the mushroom soup [substituted cream of celery soup] & used shredded chicken, then followed the recipe! I kind of expected the cheede to be overpowering, but it was GREAT tasting! Many thanks for this recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Mexican Chicken - Paula and Jamie Deen

    Serving Size: 1 (289 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 8

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 476.7
     
    Calories from Fat 223
    46%
    Total Fat 24.7 g
    38%
    Saturated Fat 11.1 g
    55%
    Cholesterol 93.9 mg
    31%
    Sodium 1269.0 mg
    52%
    Total Carbohydrate 31.1 g
    10%
    Dietary Fiber 2.0 g
    8%
    Sugars 2.8 g
    11%
    Protein 31.3 g
    62%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites