10 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

I've been making this recipe for a few years now. First, I always cook the onions just a bit, so they are not so "crunchy". Second, i add a can of drained black beans into the layers, as this adds a nice texture, color and more protien.

I have also made another version, I call Verde Chicken Lasagna, changing it up to use GREEN enchilada sauce, a cup of frozen corn, and 1 cup of chopped frozen spinach, plus 1/2 tsp Cumin. I make everything else as usual, but switch out the red sauce, for the green. We actually prefer the Verde version, but I am making BOTH for Bunco this week!

Oh, and we also LOVE this recipe as leftovers! We think it's even better the next day!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chef Mel in DFW Texas May 02, 2011

I hosted a PC party and my consultant recommended this recipe. It was a big hit! No leftovers :-) As soon as I received my deep covered baker I made it again. The second time I chopped the onions finer, added sliced olives, used fully cooked fajita flavored chicken strips (cubed) and used Quesadilla cheese mixed with finely shredded Colby jack. Delicious! I put it all together in the morning, covered it and put it in the fridge so I could just pop it in the microwave when I got home in the evening. I did let the baker sit out for about 15 minutes before microwaving it. Love the PC deep covered baker and this recipe.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
MGPE May 09, 2013

We love this recipe, but change a few things! We use salsa instead of the enchilada sauce--the salsa adds a little something more! We also use more cream cheese than the recipe calls for. I also use flour tortillas instead of corn! Delicious!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
jacifisher806 January 24, 2012

Love the cream cheese and cilantro. Amazing combo. lready made this 4 times in like 3 weeks. Yummy!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
MommaBenke February 18, 2011

I make this all the time.. Great when having friends over! The only thing I add is putting some fresh garlic in the cream cheese mix.. (I copied that from my PC consultant) Thanks for posting!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
CherlieBird April 26, 2010

Yummy! I got this recipe from someone who went to a Pampered Chef party. I used a spicy enchilada sauce, but I still thought it needed a little something. Next time I'll add some jalapenos or cayenne pepper or something to kick it up a notch. I also think the onions should be sauteed because they taste underdone, but that's just a personal opinion. The cilantro is king and gives the recipe it's flavor. I will add more cilantro next time as well. Very simple, and I didn't have any of the special Pampered Chef equipment, but it's not necessary. Thank you senseicheryl for posting!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
AmyZoe March 07, 2010

I just hosted a PC party and this was the featured recipe. My consultant recommended we use flour tortillas instead of corn, but otherwise we made it as written. It was a big hit. Three of my friends told me they had made it for their families within a week of the party - must have been good! One caution, the onions were still a little under-done for my preference, so check it before serving. One of my friends said she just cooked it a little longer and it was perfect. ***UPDATE: I made this again using Mexican Enchilada Sauce instead of canned enchilada sauce, and it was superb!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Gatorbek February 17, 2010

Very good Pampered Chef recipe. I'm going to try it with the refried beans layer! Fast and easy to make, as well. I cook it all in the microwave. I cook the chicken in a PC covered bake in the microwave for 10 minutes, with chicken taco seasoning on it, take it out, prepare everything else and VOILA! Or should that be OLE!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
JenniferPT August 07, 2009

This is a great recipe. I altered it just a bit by also using refried beans in the layers.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
scrmcasey May 03, 2009

I had this at a pampered chef party and it was very good.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
jtsmeenk March 07, 2009
Mexican Chicken Lasagna