Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Mexican Chicken Corn Chowder Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Mexican Chicken Corn Chowder

    Average Rating:

    19 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-19 of 19

    Sort by:

    • on January 14, 2003

      Came out wonderful (expect it was not spicy enough for my husband) :)

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 18, 2013

      This is so flavorfull and easy to make. had friends for lunch and they each had seconds'. Absolutley fabulous. Now a favorite.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 21, 2012

      This was quick and easy to adapt with ingredients that I had on hand. I added a can of black beans and used a can of diced tomatoes with zesty jalepenios in place of the chopped tomatoe and green chiles. I didn't have a can of creamed corn so I added frozen corn kernals instead. I didn't have half and half either so I thickened up some 2% milk with a flower and butter rue. I used a dash of cayenne pepper and a shake of smoked paprika instead of the tobascoe because I don't like the flavor of tobascoe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 06, 2011

      This recipe is awesome. If you want to kick up the heat, use a can of HOT jalapenos ((Hatch brand are very good) and a decent splash of Picante Sauce (such as Mi Valentina) at the end. Being lazy, I add a can of regular Rotels (with the hot Jalapenos and the Mi Valentina) and it has great heat but doesn't overwhelm the flavor. Thanks Miss Gracie

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 17, 2010

      I'm not a tomato person, but I have to say that adding the tomato was excellent! I actually had a can of Rotel on hand, so I just used that instead of the tomato and green chiles (as essentially, it is the same thing), and it turned out great!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 30, 2010

      I made this for a luncheon I catered and it was well liked by all. It was very easy and quick to make. I put mine in the crockpot to keep warm and added the chopped tomatoes just before serving. Thanks for posting!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 10, 2009

      This was good but I ended up making a few changes. After I made it according to the directions (with the exception on the tomato- I left that out to please DH and DS. I also added only about 1 1/2 cups of cheese- simply my preference), I decided it needed a bit more zip. I sauteed a fresh jalapeno (which I will add in with the chicken, onion, and garlic next time) and then added about 1/4 cup of some very hot homemade salsa. Overall, the soup was very good.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 17, 2009

      This was a really tasty soup...I made it when I came home from work and it was pretty quick to make! The kids loved it too. I kept the hot peppers out and we just added some cayenne pepper to our own bowls...yum!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 11, 2009

      Really great recipe! I did add 2 ears of fresh corn, cooked, cut off the cobb at the end. I also used a can of fire roasted tomatoes instead of a chopped fresh tomato. I used 1 cup of cream instead of half and half because that is what I had. Thin with water, if needed. I changed it a little but not enough to make any real difference.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 03, 2009

      I'm not going to rate this since I changed quite a few of the ingredients to make more of a tortilla soup but I did use this cooking method. I increased the chicken broth to 4 cups and reduced the cream to 1 cup. I omitted the corn and added chopped carrots. I used a can of Rotel instead of the tomatoes, chilies and tabasco and added some taco seaspning. The flavor was great, so spicy and creamy! I'm sure this recipe would also be good as stated.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 29, 2009

      Wow!! What a fabulous recipe. My 14 y/o son is also raving over it!! Thanks for sharing.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 04, 2009

      This soup was great! I made it for a halloween party. I doubled it and made it the day before. I added extra cumin and white pepper- Loved it! I had several recipe requests! It is a keeper! Thank you for the recipe :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 17, 2008

      My mom found this in TOH, too, and has always doubled the recipe and added 1/4-1/2 cup of chopped red bell pepper, and when we had it in the fridge, fresh chopped cilantro (garnish). Later, when I was just cooking for me, I'd still double the recipe and have it for leftovers all week--I never got tired of it. Edited to add: Mom also always adds a packet of G Washington's Golden Seasoning & Broth. (They'll tell you that you can substitute chicken bullion for it, but it's not the same at all. It almost seems silly, but that little packet makes a huge difference; we can tell when it hasn't been added.)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 21, 2007

      This soup was very creamy and rich. We enjoyed this with some broken up tortilla chips. My husband who is not a soup/stew fan even ate leftovers!! I even used fat free half and half and it still turned out great.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 27, 2007

      Very good and filling. I used two freshly-roasted poblano peppers instead of the can of chilies. Can't wait for the leftovers!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 27, 2006

      Very Yummy! I added Cayenne, Lime Juice, & Cilantro--would also be delicious with a dollop of sour cream!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 15, 2006

      This was fantastic. Great flavor and great comfort food for a winter night!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 11, 2006

      Found this recipe years ago in TOH. Was making it for first time, and a friend popped in. She tasted it and had to have the recipe. I gave it to her and her mother made it in a contest at her work and she took first place. It is a delicious recipe. Thanx for posting

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 30, 2004

      we love it - the mild mexican flavor is incredible. I add roasted poblano pepper slices with the green chilies and use a blend of mexican cheeses. Served with a salad and hot flour tortillas, it has become one of my family's favorite meals!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Mexican Chicken Corn Chowder

    Serving Size: 1 (306 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 6

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 501.7
     
    Calories from Fat 270
    53%
    Total Fat 30.0 g
    46%
    Saturated Fat 17.3 g
    86%
    Cholesterol 151.4 mg
    50%
    Sodium 957.0 mg
    39%
    Total Carbohydrate 21.7 g
    7%
    Dietary Fiber 1.7 g
    6%
    Sugars 5.0 g
    20%
    Protein 38.0 g
    76%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes