40 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

I found this recipe on Top Secret recipes about 4 or 5 years ago. I have been making it every fall and winter since. This is my absolute favorite soup-- and is a huge hit with my family. I triple the recipe so that I have some to freeze as quick lunch's and such. I make the recipe as given and honestly, wouldn't change a thing. I do sometimes as extra veggies, as I am a veggie lover. The flavor of the soup is always a little better day 2 or 3! But it is usually long gone in our home day 1!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Christina S. September 19, 2013

Great soup! (Even in the middle of summer here!) Tasted a lot like our chicken tortilla soup with more veggies. I didn't get to simmer the soup more than 2 1/2 hours and it still thickened up. Will make again!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
StacyMD187373 June 20, 2013

Soup has nice flavor, however, the amount of liquid needs to be reduced. Thanks for the recipe!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
hkgander May 06, 2013

I cooked my chili/soup for 2.5 hours with the lid off and it got really thick. I cooked it another two hours with partial coverage. I served with shredded cheddar and the parsley sour cream. It was delicious. I also used a whole 8 oz tomato sauce, and the whole 14 oz can of diced tomatoes. I will absolutely make this again.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
lovelysoulthief February 23, 2013

This was beyond delicious and got thumbs up all around! I used a little less water, used frozen corn and carrots, and added fresh oregano and basil near the end of the cooking time. I didn't add tomato sauce, but used a good amount of tomato paste; so it still had a lot of flavour. The long cooking time is so worth it! Definitely will be making this again. Thanks!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
yamakarasu September 08, 2012

Made it exactly as posted and it was great! Served with a nice moist cornbread but a cheese-garlic bread would be good too. A great recipe for the cottage. Thanks.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Granny T February 11, 2010

Very good soup. I boiled the chicken in the 10c water, then shredded it and added 2 cans chicken broth. Didn't have carrots, pimento, or celery, but followed the recipe otherwise. Served with Garlic Rolls. My picky little one didn't much care for it (she could see the tomatos!) but everyone else cleaned their bowl.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Amy Jo November 01, 2009

A fabulous soup. I used 4 cups chicken stock & the water until it looked right (didn't keep track). Left out the jalapenos & pimientos. Used leftover cooked chicken, putting everything into my pressure cooker for about 30 mins, as I hadn't noticed the long cooking time until too late. The result was wonderful & we're looking forward to having this again soon. Thanks for sharing this keeper.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Heydarl July 30, 2009

This is a great recipe. I didn't add nearly as much water as indicated, based on the reviews (maybe only 2 -3 cups), and that made it nice and thick. We ate half and I froze the rest.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
jane49423 January 03, 2009

My son loved it. Due to other comments about amount of liquid, I used 4 cups broth (I freeze chicken stock in 4 cup containers) and 4 c. water. I also used the entire 8 oz. can of tomato sauce--didn't see any point in saving 4 oz. of sauce. To thicken it up I used an entire pound bag of frozen corn rather than just a cup. And added a can of black beans, and I did not use the liquid of either can of beans. Finally, I seeded the jalapeno. We topped it off with shredded cheddar cheese, crumbled tortilla chips, and green onions as my son hasn't developed a taste for sour cream. I have been specifically instructed to save this recipe.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Brontewyn October 02, 2008
Mexican Chicken Chili Soup