Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Mexican Chicken Chili Soup Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Mexican Chicken Chili Soup

    Average Rating:

    39 Total Reviews

    Showing 21-39 of 39

    Sort by:

    • on February 04, 2008

      Reminded me of tortilla soup, and was looking for something more hearty and comforting. However, I love tortilla soup and it tasted very good. Next time, I'll probably add more chili powder and maybe put a jalapeno or habanero. Great with sour cream, fresh avocado and tortilla chips.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 18, 2008

      this is a hit in my house and when company comes the next day taste even better the flavors marry and yummmmo with some nice homemade garlic bread

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 17, 2008

      This soup was very tasty! I wouldn't call it chili because it had more of a liquid consistency to it. I like spice so I added extra cayenne pepper, extra fresh jalepeno, and bought diced tomatoes with jalepenos in them! It tasted great!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 17, 2007

      Taste was okay but there is WAY too much liquid!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 11, 2007

      This is so good and comforting, especially in miserable weather. I made it exactly as posted and served it with baking powder biscuits. Thanks Country Lady for such a great recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 15, 2006

      The fam raved about this one - left out the pimento and served over rice. The want this one again. Thanks for posting it !

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 28, 2006

      Great Recipe! Very easy to prepare, healthy, and it tastes good too. When I made it, I left it covered for the first 4 hours, then uncovered it and turned up the heat for the last hour to reduce it to the perfect consistency. Also used some flour to thicken it because I like my soups a little thicker.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 11, 2006

      The family loved this recipe. There were no leftovers. Served with fresh buns. I cut the recipe in half. Used leftover rotisserie chicken, 5 cups of homemade chicken broth & doubled the garlic. Used all the ingredients including the sour cream, served on top. Cooked for 4hrs. uncovered. A very nice thick soup. Thank you CountryLady. I will be making this again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 08, 2006

      This is one of our favorite "chili" recipes. As others have noted, it is not as thick as traditional chili. I am not sure if the Soup Nazi intended it as a Chili soup, or true chili, but either way, the taste is fantastic. It really is crucial to leave the lid off to cook, and to cook it for the full amount of time in order for the correct amount of liquid to evaporate off. Oh, don't forget to make some fresh rolls to go with it! YUM! Off to start a pot right now :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 20, 2005

      I made this for a family dinner when my parents came over. It was a huge hit. We all topped it with sour cream, shredded cheese, tortilla chips, and fresh lime juice. YUM. The only thing I did differently was that I boiled the chicken instead of sauteing it. I think next time I won't add as much water so it will be a little more dense, but that is a personal preference. The taste is fabulous.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 14, 2005

      This is really more of a soup than what we think of as thick chili, although it does thicken up when reheated. Excellent!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 13, 2005

      I thought this recipe was very good. I had a lot of compliments on how tasty it was. I cut the liquids in half and used only chicken broth. It was still mostly the consistency of soup rather than chili. I would maybe make a rue next time to thicken it up a little.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 13, 2005

      This is a good soup that is easy to prepare especially with the use of a lefover rotisserie chicken! It is nice to have such a tasty soup for not having to do a lot of 'babysitting'. With little kids to mind all day, it is great to start it at naptime and let it go till Daddy comes home!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 09, 2005

      This was delicious! I did omit the carrots because I forgot to buy any. My whole family enjoyed this. I thought it had a great flavor, and made the whole house smell great!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 11, 2004

      Very hearty and filling soup! All the spices in it smell so good while it's cooking. Thanks for this delicious recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 17, 2003

      This is the best chili we have ever had. It's very easy to make & the house just smelled wonderful with it simmering on the stove all afternoon.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 26, 2003

      This the best chile I've had in a long time. Instead of chicken I've also used left over turkey, it works really well. Were not big fans of cumin, so I use a heaping teaspoon of curry. You can go wrong with this chile. We found the longer it cooks the better it gets. The girlfriend kids can wait for the chile to thicken, they like it as soup.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 29, 2003

      This was a good chili, but not great IMHO. I was confounded at the huge amount of liquid for the amount of ingredients, so I used 4 cups of chicken broth and only 1 cup of water. After cooking on low for 3 hours, I still had a pot of very watery chili. It was then that I realized that this recipe is not meant to be cooked covered, but uncovered! That is the only way this dish will reduce and thicken, which it did after another 3 hours. Because of this, do not try making the chili in your crockpot because it just won't reduce and get thick.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 28, 2003

      Really good chicken chili!! and it makes a lot. Some of the veggies just disapeared into the sauce thickening it and adding to the great taste, in particular the onion, potato and carrot. (I might add more onion next time.) I used all of the ingredients listed except the sour cream topping. The only ingredient I wasn't sure of was the "pimento" pepper, I used a "red hot" pepper but am not sure it was Pimento, I am not as familiar with peppers as I would like to be, in any case it didn't really matter, the heat was just right with whatever the red one was, the jalapeno, cumin and cayenne, we also doubled the garlic. All in all a very satisfing tasty chili, thanks for sharing.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    1 2 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Mexican Chicken Chili Soup

    Serving Size: 1 (775 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 453.1
     
    Calories from Fat 82
    18%
    Total Fat 9.2 g
    14%
    Saturated Fat 1.7 g
    8%
    Cholesterol 76.2 mg
    25%
    Sodium 671.2 mg
    27%
    Total Carbohydrate 54.5 g
    18%
    Dietary Fiber 12.5 g
    50%
    Sugars 7.0 g
    28%
    Protein 40.3 g
    80%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes