Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Mexican Chicken Chili Soup Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Mexican Chicken Chili Soup

    Average Rating:

    39 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 39

    Sort by:

    • on June 20, 2002

      This was easy to put together and won rave reviews at my house! I spiced it up a little and omitted the basil and oregano, to keep the theme Mexican. I also had to cook it in stages, and it still turned out well!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 04, 2010

      The key here is to leave it UNCOVERED and it will reduce and thicken to a chili-ish consistency. My family says, "best soup ever." (and I have a 10 year old who HATES tomatoes.)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 06, 2007

      I make this all the time. I like to add a can of drained black beans and increase the chili powder to 1T. I also cut tortillas into strips, fry them and add them to the top of the soup with sour cream. Everyone loves it and it's almost better the next day.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 05, 2005

      This is excellent stuff! If you want to take it even further, use some Masa as a thickener. This is also a soup that gets really good the second and third day!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 02, 2004

      I have made this a couple of times and it has always been a huge hit! I gave the recipe to a friend once and they had trouble at the end of it, saying that it boiled down to only about 4 small servings. I think it depends on how you want your consistency, as it is orginally served a little more soupy vs. more like a dense chili. I always serve it a littel soupy and top with sour cream or plain yogurt and eat with tortilla chips

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 30, 2014

      I have made this many times...and it is always amazing. If you change the chopped Italian parsley with the sour cream to Cilantro instead...it makes it way better.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 11, 2014

      This is an excellent soup. It was easy to make and even my husband, who doesn't particularly like soup, found it very tasty. Note to those who don't think the basil and oregano don't add flavor: They do!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 29, 2014

      This was okay! I am hoping it will be better tomorrow. Did pinto beans, zuchinni, and 4 oz of cream cheese.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 18, 2014

      Loved this! I only had bone-in chicken thighs at home so cooked those in oil, onion powder and pepper, then shredded. As others suggested I used about half of the water (started with two plus the broth and added more as it cooked); I skipped the potatoes and added veggie curl pasta the last 20 minutes instead. I only had 2 1/2 hours to cook but it turned out great! I have no idea if this is better the second day as my son at every last drop the first day.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 19, 2013

      I found this recipe on Top Secret recipes about 4 or 5 years ago. I have been making it every fall and winter since. This is my absolute favorite soup-- and is a huge hit with my family. I triple the recipe so that I have some to freeze as quick lunch's and such. I make the recipe as given and honestly, wouldn't change a thing. I do sometimes as extra veggies, as I am a veggie lover. The flavor of the soup is always a little better day 2 or 3! But it is usually long gone in our home day 1!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 20, 2013

      Great soup! (Even in the middle of summer here!) Tasted a lot like our chicken tortilla soup with more veggies. I didn't get to simmer the soup more than 2 1/2 hours and it still thickened up. Will make again!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 06, 2013

      Soup has nice flavor, however, the amount of liquid needs to be reduced. Thanks for the recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 23, 2013

      I cooked my chili/soup for 2.5 hours with the lid off and it got really thick. I cooked it another two hours with partial coverage. I served with shredded cheddar and the parsley sour cream. It was delicious. I also used a whole 8 oz tomato sauce, and the whole 14 oz can of diced tomatoes. I will absolutely make this again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 08, 2012

      This was beyond delicious and got thumbs up all around! I used a little less water, used frozen corn and carrots, and added fresh oregano and basil near the end of the cooking time. I didn't add tomato sauce, but used a good amount of tomato paste; so it still had a lot of flavour. The long cooking time is so worth it! Definitely will be making this again. Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 11, 2010

      Made it exactly as posted and it was great! Served with a nice moist cornbread but a cheese-garlic bread would be good too. A great recipe for the cottage. Thanks.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 01, 2009

      Very good soup. I boiled the chicken in the 10c water, then shredded it and added 2 cans chicken broth. Didn't have carrots, pimento, or celery, but followed the recipe otherwise. Served with Garlic Rolls. My picky little one didn't much care for it (she could see the tomatos!) but everyone else cleaned their bowl.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 30, 2009

      A fabulous soup. I used 4 cups chicken stock & the water until it looked right (didn't keep track). Left out the jalapenos & pimientos. Used leftover cooked chicken, putting everything into my pressure cooker for about 30 mins, as I hadn't noticed the long cooking time until too late. The result was wonderful & we're looking forward to having this again soon. Thanks for sharing this keeper.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 03, 2009

      This is a great recipe. I didn't add nearly as much water as indicated, based on the reviews (maybe only 2 -3 cups), and that made it nice and thick. We ate half and I froze the rest.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 02, 2008

      My son loved it. Due to other comments about amount of liquid, I used 4 cups broth (I freeze chicken stock in 4 cup containers) and 4 c. water. I also used the entire 8 oz. can of tomato sauce--didn't see any point in saving 4 oz. of sauce. To thicken it up I used an entire pound bag of frozen corn rather than just a cup. And added a can of black beans, and I did not use the liquid of either can of beans. Finally, I seeded the jalapeno. We topped it off with shredded cheddar cheese, crumbled tortilla chips, and green onions as my son hasn't developed a taste for sour cream. I have been specifically instructed to save this recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 07, 2008

      I only used 8 cups of liquid with this recipe, and threw in cooked brown rice, black beans and corn. It was very tasty!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Mexican Chicken Chili Soup

    Serving Size: 1 (775 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 453.1
     
    Calories from Fat 82
    18%
    Total Fat 9.2 g
    14%
    Saturated Fat 1.7 g
    8%
    Cholesterol 76.2 mg
    25%
    Sodium 671.2 mg
    27%
    Total Carbohydrate 54.5 g
    18%
    Dietary Fiber 12.5 g
    50%
    Sugars 7.0 g
    28%
    Protein 40.3 g
    80%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes