40 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

This was easy to put together and won rave reviews at my house! I spiced it up a little and omitted the basil and oregano, to keep the theme Mexican. I also had to cook it in stages, and it still turned out well!

5 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Halla Steiner June 20, 2002

The key here is to leave it UNCOVERED and it will reduce and thicken to a chili-ish consistency. My family says, "best soup ever." (and I have a 10 year old who HATES tomatoes.)

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Niesgirl January 04, 2010

I make this all the time. I like to add a can of drained black beans and increase the chili powder to 1T. I also cut tortillas into strips, fry them and add them to the top of the soup with sour cream. Everyone loves it and it's almost better the next day.

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
tamiscott1 November 06, 2007

This is excellent stuff! If you want to take it even further, use some Masa as a thickener. This is also a soup that gets really good the second and third day!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
KerryD April 05, 2005

I have made this a couple of times and it has always been a huge hit! I gave the recipe to a friend once and they had trouble at the end of it, saying that it boiled down to only about 4 small servings. I think it depends on how you want your consistency, as it is orginally served a little more soupy vs. more like a dense chili. I always serve it a littel soupy and top with sour cream or plain yogurt and eat with tortilla chips

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
ng February 02, 2004

I have made this recipe over a dozen times. It is fantastic and very healthy. Here are my changes: 1. Two pounds of Chicken thigh filets (so much tastier than chicken breast and this much chicken balances the protein and the carbs) 2. Black beans instead of kidney (more flavor) 3. 1/4 Cup Corn-Corn is very calorically dense and one cup is way too much because there are so many better vegetables that are a fraction of the calories 4. One Zuchinni and three Carrots I love this as a soup not a stew. You can condense the flavor and still have plenty of liquid. I literally eat this every day and make it twice a week.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Doubting Thomas February 20, 2015

I have made this many times...and it is always amazing. If you change the chopped Italian parsley with the sour cream to Cilantro instead...it makes it way better.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
johnhalfpenny October 30, 2014

This is an excellent soup. It was easy to make and even my husband, who doesn't particularly like soup, found it very tasty. Note to those who don't think the basil and oregano don't add flavor: They do!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Barbara's Cafe June 11, 2014

This was okay! I am hoping it will be better tomorrow. Did pinto beans, zuchinni, and 4 oz of cream cheese.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
seal angel May 29, 2014

Loved this! I only had bone-in chicken thighs at home so cooked those in oil, onion powder and pepper, then shredded. As others suggested I used about half of the water (started with two plus the broth and added more as it cooked); I skipped the potatoes and added veggie curl pasta the last 20 minutes instead. I only had 2 1/2 hours to cook but it turned out great! I have no idea if this is better the second day as my son at every last drop the first day.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
karrcaribou March 18, 2014
Mexican Chicken Chili Soup