28 Reviews

This was wonderful and sooo easy!!! The entire pan was eaten up. I added a little extra salsa (I used 1 1/2 cups), extra chicken (I also added ADOBO to my chicken while it was boiling) , a small can of sliced mushrooms, and some cooked rice. The rice gave it some substance so it wasn't "dippy" I mixed everything together instead of layering it, except for the cheese, which I put on top. I also waited until the last five minutes of cook time and put the crushed doritos on top (so they didn't burn) instead of layering them on the bottom.. I will surely be making this again. It was a big hit! Thanks!!!

5 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
***Deanna*** April 18, 2012

Nachos on Steroids! This was VERY good said all 4 of us. I did mostly to recipe and I never thot a whole bag of Doritos could be so good. I did not even tell my family that I was putting those in until every one had tasted (and loved!) it. I could not find 16 oz at corner store so i used 10 oz nacho flavor & 3 oz bag of taco flavor. As you can see in the pics, I did not have any soupiness at all. In fact, I thot it could have used a little more. I think i will add 1/3-1/2 C of stock next time.**Sidenote: I had cooked 8 thighs in crockpot yesterday and deboned. I mix in about 2/3 Taco seasoning pkt to let meat marinade overnight ** I added 1/2 chopped onion, 1/5 red bell pepper, 10-12 chopped black olives and about 2/3 can corn drained in 2 layers in between chicken and soup layers. I had 8 oz bag of mexi cheese but then only 1/2 bag of Italian cheese. Oh, all soups, corn, taco seasoning was all low sodium. I think it is one you can really play around with and it would still be tasty. Thanks for a recipe that I would have never thot of. Its a keeper!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
cruisindarryl April 15, 2013

I prepared this for a group of ten coworkers. The event was a Mexican theme so the Mexican Casserole was perfect. At least three people asked me for the recipe before the night was over,

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
LexaJ July 31, 2012

This is a good dump-it-and-forget-it kind of meal. Naturally, had to change it up a bit! Sauteed bite size pieces of chicken breasts (3 very large). Mixed all the ingredients together with the chicken. (I used a 15 oz jar of chunky salsa and added 3 cups of cooked rice. Put the sliced black olives in the sauce as well.) Buttered the bottom of the pan. Crunched up the Doritos and made a layer on the bottom (about 8 ounces). Then poured the chicken and sauce mixture on top. Covered the top in a Mexican cheese blend and popped it in the oven for about 40 minutes at 350. Seemed to need that much time to get nice and bubbly. Wasn't the least bit "soupy". Served with a dollop of sour cream and sliced scallions. A simple mixed green, cucumber and avocado salad on the side - - and you have a happy Husband!!! (And you'll be pretty happy, too!!!)

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
MimiKooks October 17, 2015

I have to agree with a previous reviewer, more like a dip then a casserole. Good , but not going to be made very often in this house. Thanks for posting.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chef Shadows October 04, 2008

YUM!!! This was REALLY GOOD! In fact, I'm having leftovers right now as I type this! I didn't have Doritos on hand, so I just used plain tortilla chips. After I deboned the chicken breasts, I roasted the bones for an hour and then added it back into the broth with onion, carrot, garlic, salt & pepper and simmered it for a couple hours for chicken noodle soup!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Neeney March 24, 2015

This got eaten up very quickly by my husband and sons. It was quick to put together with fairly simple ingredients. I'll keep this recipe in mind often; especially when I have some leftover chicken. Thanx for posting this!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
*Parsley* October 20, 2014

Topped off with some sour cream and additional salsa, this was excellent. A real keeper!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Pots & Pans September 28, 2011

Made this for a recent potluck, using 4 very large, tender chicken breasts, & then I followed the recipe right on down but finished with the ripe olives! Raves from every direction, & something I'm happy to make again ~ Many thanks for posting the recipe! [Tagged & made in Please Review My Recipe]

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Sydney Mike November 03, 2010

This recipe is really good! I tried to lighten it up a bit by using baked doritos and light cream of chicken soup but it is still very high in fat. I had an 11 1/2 ounce bag of chips and that seemed to be plenty. next time I think I may go with tortillas instead, to make it a little lighter. I do like the texture tho that the doritos give. I also used sharp cheddar in place of the mexican cheese blend. I am a cheese lover and I even think they could be cut in half. That is better to me than using the light stuff anyhow. Also the only thing I would actually do to add to this recipe, aside from lightening it up, is add 1 more can of the diced green chilis. other than that this recipe is really good! thanks for sharing!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
cali~jenn January 30, 2009
Mexican Chicken Casserole