Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Mexican Chicken Casserole Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Mexican Chicken Casserole

    Average Rating:

    25 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 25

    Sort by:

    • on April 18, 2012

      This was wonderful and sooo easy!!! The entire pan was eaten up. I added a little extra salsa (I used 1 1/2 cups), extra chicken (I also added ADOBO to my chicken while it was boiling) , a small can of sliced mushrooms, and some cooked rice. The rice gave it some substance so it wasn't "dippy" I mixed everything together instead of layering it, except for the cheese, which I put on top. I also waited until the last five minutes of cook time and put the crushed doritos on top (so they didn't burn) instead of layering them on the bottom.. I will surely be making this again. It was a big hit! Thanks!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 15, 2013

      Nachos on Steroids! This was VERY good said all 4 of us. I did mostly to recipe and I never thot a whole bag of Doritos could be so good. I did not even tell my family that I was putting those in until every one had tasted (and loved!) it. I could not find 16 oz at corner store so i used 10 oz nacho flavor & 3 oz bag of taco flavor. As you can see in the pics, I did not have any soupiness at all. In fact, I thot it could have used a little more. I think i will add 1/3-1/2 C of stock next time.**Sidenote: I had cooked 8 thighs in crockpot yesterday and deboned. I mix in about 2/3 Taco seasoning pkt to let meat marinade overnight ** I added 1/2 chopped onion, 1/5 red bell pepper, 10-12 chopped black olives and about 2/3 can corn drained in 2 layers in between chicken and soup layers. I had 8 oz bag of mexi cheese but then only 1/2 bag of Italian cheese. Oh, all soups, corn, taco seasoning was all low sodium. I think it is one you can really play around with and it would still be tasty. Thanks for a recipe that I would have never thot of. Its a keeper!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 31, 2012

      I prepared this for a group of ten coworkers. The event was a Mexican theme so the Mexican Casserole was perfect. At least three people asked me for the recipe before the night was over,

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 04, 2008

      I have to agree with a previous reviewer, more like a dip then a casserole. Good , but not going to be made very often in this house. Thanks for posting.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 28, 2011

      Topped off with some sour cream and additional salsa, this was excellent. A real keeper!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 03, 2010

      Made this for a recent potluck, using 4 very large, tender chicken breasts, & then I followed the recipe right on down but finished with the ripe olives! Raves from every direction, & something I'm happy to make again ~ Many thanks for posting the recipe! [Tagged & made in Please Review My Recipe]

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 30, 2009

      This recipe is really good! I tried to lighten it up a bit by using baked doritos and light cream of chicken soup but it is still very high in fat. I had an 11 1/2 ounce bag of chips and that seemed to be plenty. next time I think I may go with tortillas instead, to make it a little lighter. I do like the texture tho that the doritos give. I also used sharp cheddar in place of the mexican cheese blend. I am a cheese lover and I even think they could be cut in half. That is better to me than using the light stuff anyhow. Also the only thing I would actually do to add to this recipe, aside from lightening it up, is add 1 more can of the diced green chilis. other than that this recipe is really good! thanks for sharing!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 15, 2008

      This is so delicious!! My family had more than one helping each and my husband took some for his lunch the next day, it really is scrumtious!! I will be making this again and again!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 06, 2008

      Good solid comfort casserole! I used a can of fiesta nacho cheese soup and a can of green enchilada sauce. I didn't use the mexican cheese as my sister's don't like it too cheesy. Didn't have to use the chicken broth at all. Used black olives for presentation but think I will use the pickled jalapeno slices next time. Thnx for posting, SweetsLady.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 08, 2008

      Thanks for this recipe. The whole family LOVES it. It's so hard to find something new to do with chicken that hits the spot with everyone. Trust me, this is a BIG HIT.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 08, 2008

      This is a GREAT recipe, but it is really salty. The flavor was so good though that I didn't mind the salt too much. Next time I will get low sodium soup to prepare this one. Even the kids loved it, and they are picky about what they put in their mouth. I used tortilla chips instead of the Doritos (personal preference) and they were fine in this recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 16, 2008

      This is sooooo tasty!! What a great recipe! We live in New Mexico, so I know all about Mexican Casseroles. The only thing I did different, I used Montery Jack cheese soup and a green chili salsa from a local cafe. We really enjoyed it!! DH said I could make this anytime! Ate leftovers for 3 days, and it just gets better!!! Give it a try, ya'll, you won't be disappointed!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 06, 2008

      Aussie/NZ swap #14: This dish is tasty and easy to assemble. I made double the recipe and have the other portion frozen for another dinner! Thanks!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 18, 2008

      This is a quick easy and good dinner. I followed the ingredients per recipe. Made for BT 2008

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 19, 2008

      We just loved this recipe. It was so tasty and it is good left over too.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 13, 2008

      Made this for dinner last week, and my husband LOVED it -- I think he loves anything of SweetsLady's! :~) I used Specialty Soup Substitutes - Cream in place of the canned soups. I also only made half the recipe, as I had just half a bag of Doritos. I hadn't finished making it in time for my husband to bring a lunch to work, so I dropped off his meal while it was still warm from the oven... he tells me his co-workers were complaining that I didn't bring THEM any, LOL! Thanks for sharing, SweetsLady!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 08, 2008

      I gave the stars and never wrote my review oops! We all loved this recipe, I've made this dish 4 times now and every time we have very little left over, considering my son eats several helpings when it's first made and then makes sure he finishes the leftovers! Thanks for a wonderful recipe, I would not change a thing.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 04, 2008

      Food doesn't get better then this. Beyond tasty, and so delicious that I am at a loss for something interesting to say :D This was so super duper easy, so wonderful to smell this cooking happily at the end of the day. Followed this recipe exactly except for one change to the chicken, (I roasted my chicken earlier in the day and just added it chopped to the casserole) and I made my own salsa using fresh tomatoes, fresh cilantro and Spicy V-8. Other then that followed perfectly, and it was one of those dishes you wish you had doubled. Oh I guess one small little change was I used "Southwest Pepper Jack" soup instead of the cheddar cheese, but in the end it would be hard to tell the difference. I wish you could be here to smell the aroma coming from the house. Ummmm....Ummmmm.....good. Thanks Sweetslady! This is terrific!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 09, 2007

      Everyone loved this recipe! We used chopped jalepenos for the chilies and we put a layer of chili with beans in the middle. We did find that it stuck to the bottom of the pan, so next time perhaps we would use some nonstick cooking spray to the pan first. We topped it with a dollop of sour cream and it was delicious. Thanks S/L for another keeper! -B&B-

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 19, 2007

      My whole family LOVED this dinner and we definatly will be making it again soon! It was a very simple recipe. The only thing I didn't add was the diced green chilies or the jalapeno slices. Thank you for posting this recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Mexican Chicken Casserole

    Serving Size: 1 (190 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 12

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 457.6
     
    Calories from Fat 253
    55%
    Total Fat 28.1 g
    43%
    Saturated Fat 11.3 g
    56%
    Cholesterol 67.6 mg
    22%
    Sodium 1142.5 mg
    47%
    Total Carbohydrate 29.8 g
    9%
    Dietary Fiber 2.3 g
    9%
    Sugars 3.5 g
    14%
    Protein 21.3 g
    42%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites