Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Mexican Chicken Casserole Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Mexican Chicken Casserole

    Average Rating:

    17 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-17 of 17

    Sort by:

    • on February 24, 2011

      Super Simple. I have to say, as funky as it seems (and my wife wanted to call a therapist for me when she saw the Doritos) I have to say this is so delicious. My 17 year old went for 3 helpings. Very simple recipe! Thanks!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 24, 2008

      This is good any old time at my house. We loved it! Thanks MOmmyMakes!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 26, 2006

      This was delicious! I made a few changes. I used Mexican Blend cheese, added canned sliced mushrooms and canned corn and I used only half a can of broth. Super comfort food!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 24, 2014

      I have been making a similar casserole for years...I put the tortilla chips in a large casserole..I put the soups, chicken broth (I make my own with slow cooked chicken, carrots, celery, and better than bullion chicken stock base) and rotel tomatoes in a fairly large pot..add one large sweet yellow onion chopped in large pieces a pound of velvetta cubed, a teaspoon of chili powder and a teaspoon fo garlic powder..heat untill cheese melts stirring so it wont burn..put chicken pieces around on top of chips and pour soup mixture over chips and chicken...bake at 350 degrees. until bubbly.add a bit of shreaded cheddar the last ten minutes..( I serve the mexican rice on the side.)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 07, 2014

      I've made this recipe twice now. The first time I didn't really like it, it was too spicy and I messed up the rice so it was hard to chew (bad, I know). I just made it again tonight and it turned out great! I spread the cooked rice on the bottom of a 13x9'' pan, then added the chicken and soup mix over it. I added velveeta and just a little shredded sharp cheddar cheese over top, I then baked it at 350 for 30 minutes, added the doritos and baked 5 minutes more. My husband and I added a tiny bit of sour cream each and that was it! So good.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 06, 2013

      My kids loved this dish. I added 1 tsp garlic powder to the soup mix and used a Mexican blend instead of Velveeta. Finally, I topped each dish with sour cream to help balance the heat. It was great! Thanks for sharing the recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 19, 2009

      My family has been making this recipe for over 30 years. This is the first I've seen it served over rice though, will have to try. My Mom likes to make it really spicy so she uses taco flavored doritos. I made this for a church potluck and from then on every time we had a potluck everyone was asking for it.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 14, 2007

    • on September 29, 2007

      This was very tasty! Instead of the mushroom soup, I used cheddar cheese soup. I also used a mexican style shredded cheese instead of the Velveeta. I also used diced tomatoes and green peppers(which was by accident-and warning-if you do use this, it will be very spicy!) Instead of the nacho cheese flavored tortilla chips, I used Spicy nacho. Overall, both my fiance' and I loved the dish, thanks mommymakes!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 19, 2007

      What a great recipe. My family flipped over it. I used roasted chicken to save time. It also has a better flavor.I sub. the cream of mushroom for cheddar cheese soup. It made a 9x13 pan full. MDH had seconds for a bedtime snack. Thanks for sharing. I will keep this at the top of my list.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 26, 2007

      We loved this! It tasted almost like chicken nachos. This dish was very easy to make. I did not have velveeta so I used a Mexican Cheese Blend. This is a definite keeper. Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 05, 2006

      Loved this one a bit too much! Couldn't help but go back for seconds and thirds! One addition I made that I think really added to this recipe was strips of flour tortilla, I cut them up in bite size pieces. So good. And I'm not sure how you shred velveeta cheese, it's pretty soft, lol I used a brand of tomatoes and chilies called Ro-tel, the best! Thanks for a great recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 07, 2005

      I liked this, though I didn't follow the recipe to a T. My son said it was too cheesy. Is there such a thing??

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 05, 2005

      Terrific Casserole! I love King Ranch Chicken, but DH won't eat it because he finds the tortillas too filling. This recipe gives me all the great flavor of king ranch, but the rice is a wonderful alternative and even my hubby likes it. I covered the casserole as suggested to keep the chips from browning too much, and I added a small can of chopped green chilis to the chicken/rice mixture cause we really like them. I will definitely be making this again!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 29, 2005

      This recipe turned out great. It was delicious! I cut the recipe in half, using 1 can of mushroom soup in place of 2 cans of soup. It had just the right amount of "heat". It will become a staple.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 26, 2005

      I can see why this is an often requested meal in your home! This was fabulous. I made exactly as the recipe required except I cut all the ingredients in half as there are only two of us. The extra calories were worth it as it was delicious!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 03, 2005

      My PICKY kids loved this, which is really saying something! I made a few changes though: I was out of cream soup(!) so I made my own flavored white sauce, I used a Mexican mix shredded cheese instead of Velveeta, and in layering, I actually put the rice as the bottom layer of the casserole, then ONE layer of chicken, all the soup mix, and the cheese. I didn't put the Doritos on until about five minutes before it was done, so the chips did not get dark. I also only cooked it for a total of about 30 minutes. Good stuff, and easy!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Mexican Chicken Casserole

    Serving Size: 1 (344 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 8

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 566.0
     
    Calories from Fat 249
    43%
    Total Fat 27.6 g
    42%
    Saturated Fat 8.0 g
    40%
    Cholesterol 98.0 mg
    32%
    Sodium 1672.4 mg
    69%
    Total Carbohydrate 42.3 g
    14%
    Dietary Fiber 2.4 g
    9%
    Sugars 5.1 g
    20%
    Protein 35.5 g
    71%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes