Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Mexican Chef Salad Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Mexican Chef Salad

    Average Rating:

    18 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-18 of 18

    Sort by:

    • on August 07, 2012

      We loved this salad - what a great meal for a blazing hot day. Super tasty and the dressing is awesome. I did have a mini-meltdown while making it though. I am not as familiar as some with Mexican and southwest flavours so when I saw chili and cumin to taste I was at a loss as to where to start. I posted in the Q &A forum here and was given a rough ratio of 2-1 chili powder to cumin. I'm really glad I checked because I would have blithely used equal parts cumin and chili which I gather could have made this very nasty. For other 'beginner' Tex Mex cooks I used 1 Tbsp of chili (it was a mild one) and just a little over 1 tsp each of cumin and garlic powder.
      Thanks for the great meal! Made for The Bistro Babes ZWT 8

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 07, 2012

      Excellent salad. I did not have any kidney beans so I used black beans instead. Also was out of black olives. I really like the dressing with the combination of the mayonnaise and salsa, I used more cumin than suggested! Will definitely make this again. Made for ZWT8 and The Wild Bunch.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 28, 2013

      Great taco salad and very similar to the one I first tried while living in California. I am not a fan of raw tomatoes or black olives, so I did omit them and I didn't have any garbanzo beans (although I do like them) so didn't add them. I really like mixing salsa with either mayonnaise or sour cream so much better then the ones that use that sweet catalina dressing. Thanks for sharing the recipe and congrats again on your win in the football pool!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 02, 2012

      Snappy! I understand it's HOT in Mexico, but their heat can't scare me...I live in Louisiana. Just add a pool. See how helpful I am? Made for ZWT#8~Mexico/Tex-Mex.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 01, 2010

      I made this last night for dinner and we loved it. I didn't use the garbanzo beans, only since we didn't have any and I did add some avocado.....yum. We all loved this salad. I will make again, we love salads in the summertime. It was quick to fix and I almost have all the ingredients on hand always. Thank you for sharing this great salad.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 04, 2010

      I modified this too much to really rate it, but we really liked what came out. I used steak strips rather than ground beef, a whole head of green leaf lettuce, didn't have olives, bell peppers, or corn chips, only used a couple ounces of shredded cheese, and only made half of the dressing (with a reduced fat olive oil mayonnaise) for the entire salad. It lowered the calorie count significantly, which was good for us.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 10, 2009

      This was a great salad, has more ingredients than the usual Mexican salad has, this is a huge salad. We have had it for two meals and still have some left over. It would be great for a potluck.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 05, 2008

      Delicious! This is a great Mexican salad. It is great for a quick weeknight meal. I love all the ingredients in this one and the dressing is outstanding - such wonderful flavor. Thanks for sharing.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 19, 2008

      I made this last night for dinner and this was fantastic. I loved the dressing. I will definately be making this again! Thanks so much for posting!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 02, 2008

      Fast and tasty supper salad! I made pretty much as written, adding a sliced avocado and jalapeno to the mix. We are not black olive fans so I subbed kalamatas. For the chips, I made Oh-So-Good Homemade Tortilla Chips and broke them up. The dressing was a great change and complemented the salad well. This will appear again at my house. Thanks for sharing your recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 23, 2007

      Loved this salad. I too left off the garbanzo beans (personal preference, but other than that made as it. I used about a tablespoon of chili powder and 1 tsp of cumin and 1/2 teaspoon garlic salt to get the flavor I was looking for. I also left the cumin out of the dressing (personal preference.) Thanks Bayhill and congratulations on the football win.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 18, 2007

      We Loved it! I omited the garbanzo beans per request, and layered fried tortilla shells rather than the crushed chips-sort of like a quesadilla salad-we have had this twice this week-it's now a regular on our rotation! Thanks for posting, Di

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 05, 2007

      Delicious, hearty salad. The dressing was really fantastic. I loved the veggies and bean combination. I used a white onion in place of a red, but otherwise I made this just as written. Thanx for a great, simple salad meal. I'll make this again!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 24, 2007

      Very nice salad. I left out the garbanzos and added some sliced jalapenos!!! The dressing was very good!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 19, 2006

      This was SO yummy! The dressing was devine and my son ate so many chick peas from it I think he's going to explode. A keeper for sure! Perfect for a lazy weekend meal. We left out the olives and bell pepper and cooked the onion with the beef. YUM!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 28, 2005

      This was a pretty good salad. First time I have had a Mexican salad with garbanzo beans in it. We liked the dressing. Thanks Bayhill. Bullwinkle

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 24, 2005

      This was a perfect quick and easy dinner on a warm Christmas Eve night...not too heavy and so quick to throw together. We also used your Salsa Salsa Pronto. Hubby didn't care for the dressing, so he just used the salsa itself, but everything else was fantastic! Thanks for a super recipe and congrats on winning the football pool!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 19, 2005

      Tasty, easy to throw together. I left out he garbanzo beans (personal preferance). I'll be using this one again. Oh I also added a chopped avacodo. Thanks for sharing and again CONGRATS on your football pool win. (I still plan on your Chicken pot pie at some point)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Mexican Chef Salad

    Serving Size: 1 (432 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 6

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 987.5
     
    Calories from Fat 544
    55%
    Total Fat 60.4 g
    93%
    Saturated Fat 23.7 g
    118%
    Cholesterol 141.1 mg
    47%
    Sodium 1557.7 mg
    64%
    Total Carbohydrate 68.8 g
    22%
    Dietary Fiber 11.7 g
    47%
    Sugars 8.9 g
    35%
    Protein 45.4 g
    90%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites