Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Mexican Cheese Squares Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Mexican Cheese Squares

    Average Rating:

    12 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-12 of 12

    Sort by:

    • on April 21, 2003

      Beachgirl, these were a wonderful appy for Easter Sunday, a huge hit!! We tried some while still quite hot, they were good but tried them again later, cold, they were marvelous!! Had to run the recipe for all our guests. Simple to make and mouth watering delicious, just enough kick. Thanks for sharing.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 03, 2003

      I made these when I was testing appetizers for a party coming up next month. I have to admit, when I put this together and saw the proportions, I was dubious; that's a LOT of cheese! I only wanted to try a half recipe to start, and I made it in a small (5" x 7") Pyrex dish; that made it about 1" deep, which seems about right. It did turn out VERY tasty, and not too spicy. But with all that cheddar, it came out a bit greasy; I'm wondering: Does anyone have a suggestion to make it less so? Maybe adding breadcrumbs or something? Also, "well-drained" for the diced chilis is a bit of an understatement; next time, I'll try blotting them on a paper towel, I think. One last thing: I used fresh jalapeƱo, chopped fine, instead of pickled, and I mixed the cayenne in with the chilis, since I didn't trust myself to "sprinkle" 1/4 tsp. evenly... Overall, I give it 3 stars, which to me means "pretty darn good!"

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 29, 2003

      I made three larger pans of these for a party of 75 and each time I changed it a bit, I added more chilies each time. I would call it a quiche. All in all a easy, fast, crowd pleaser. It's a keeper.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 21, 2003

      These are so good - everyone loved them! I like that they freeze well so I can have some on hand. I think they are best at room temperature or just warm. You can take them from the freezer to the oven and just heat until defrosted & warm- I recommend a conventional oven rather than a Microwave. I used hot red pepper flakes for the cayenne & fresh Jalapeno peppers chopped. Thankyou Beachgirl for a recipe I'll be making for my Christmas stash of Appies

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 03, 2003

      Thank you Thank You Thank You!!! Had just printed this recipe out and that night we had a group of friends stop by after the football game for some cocktails. Whipped these up and put them on a tray with some grapes and everyone loved them. They seem to go with everything from wine to beer. This was a life saver and will be made over and over. Thanks again for this recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 27, 2005

      This was great! I have made it a couple of times using a variety of cheeses each time, last time I even added some chopped ham. I do find that I add at least 8 eggs. I serve it with salsa and sour cream - YUM!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 19, 2004

      These are great. Super easy to make. My husband and daughter loved them. Nice side to Mexican meal. Thank you!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 15, 2004

      oh my gosh..this is soooo good. I cut the cheese back to 3c and used southwestern eggbeaters..easy and delicious.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 22, 2006

      I thought these were okay - but missing a little something. I added some diced tomato for color and a 1/2 tsp of cumin. It reminded me of a crustless quiche.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 23, 2005

      I made this for a bridal shower last night and it was a big success. I used 2 cans of chilies instead of 1, 8 eggs instead of 6, and used an 8x11 baking dish. I am not a fan of jalapenos in any way, shape or form, so naturally I did not use those. I will definitly make this recipe again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 29, 2004

      Satisfied my need for chilies. Wonderful taste. Thank you! Margie

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 11, 2003

      I was trying this out for a party. I liked, but I think something is missing or I need to adjust this recipe, but I'm not sure how yet.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Mexican Cheese Squares

    Serving Size: 1 (44 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 15

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 154.5
     
    Calories from Fat 108
    70%
    Total Fat 12.0 g
    18%
    Saturated Fat 7.0 g
    35%
    Cholesterol 116.3 mg
    38%
    Sodium 216.3 mg
    9%
    Total Carbohydrate 1.3 g
    0%
    Dietary Fiber 0.1 g
    0%
    Sugars 0.7 g
    2%
    Protein 10.2 g
    20%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes