Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Mexican Charro Beans Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Mexican Charro Beans

    Average Rating:

    43 Total Reviews

    Showing 21-40 of 43

    Sort by:

    • on August 10, 2009

      I love this recipe. I've made it almost every weekend since I found it. Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 04, 2009

      Excellent! We have a gentleman at work that makes these every year. These aren't a match, but close. Will make again!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 10, 2008

      My family LOVED these beans easy and not too spicy!!!!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 02, 2008

      Oh man, were these ever good... no excellent. The only thing that I did differently was I used pre-cooked bacon so I added an extra 2-3 slices. I am sure had I used the good stuff and cooked it with the veggies the flavor would have been even more yummy but I used what I had. I just took a small dab of oil in the pan and sauteed' the veggies and dumped them in the crock pot which had been going all day with the sliced bacon bits. I used this for a Tex-Mex cookout and everyone raved, even my Hispanic friends who are excellent coks so I know it was good :) Thanks for an excellent recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 14, 2008

      My husband said "these are restaurant quality!" The only thing I will change is to reduce cilantro by half - it was a little overpowering for me. Otherwise these were perfect, not very spicy at all, just flavorful - I used Corona for the beer and think I will try something a little heavier next time.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 26, 2007

      I took these beans to a dinner party where the hostess was serving pulled pork tacos, guacamole, salsa, etc. While everyone loved them I found them to be sweet for some reason. Not sure if it was the beer I used, the tomatoes or what. They turn out really pretty though with the peppers ad tomatoes and all. I think you could make these into a main dish by adding cooked chorizo, sausage, leftover pork.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 04, 2006

      This is the best bean recipe ever!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 19, 2006

      I've never made charro beans, nor have I had them before. This recipe sounded interesting, and boy was I right, awesome beans. The whole family loved them. I've served them with rice and made up in burritos. These are very versatile. Definately a keeper.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 11, 2006

      My husband loves Charro Beans. I never knew how to make them till I found this recipe. These are the best and may I say better than the ones in the reataurant. Thank you for this wonderful recipe. I will be making this again and again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 19, 2006

      These are absolutely fabulous. Exactly what I was looking for and much better than any I've had in a restaurant.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 14, 2005

      I left out the beer because I didn't have any in the house and I added 2 ounces of tequila instead.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 09, 2005

      This is a 4 1/2 star. The only reason I didn't give 5 stars is that I had to do some tweaking to make it to our liking. I thought the beans were a bit runny, so I pureed about a 1/2 cup of the finished product and mixed that back in. That helped to make the beans a bit more creamy. And, of course, added more jalapeno!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 21, 2004

      Endless compliments!! I have made them for us at home, for a huge family gathering and for most recently for a gathering after a funeral. Everyones absoulutely loves them! My husband invites people to our home just so I can make these!! Thank you for the recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 01, 2003

      This is one the best recipes for beans I ever made. The flavor from the beer is exceptional!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 03, 2002

      This tasted absolutely wonderful. Tasted as good as any I have had in a Mexican restaurant. Clara from Texas

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 10, 2012

      I made a few changes, less cilantro, onion, garlic, tomatoes, and peppers. Also I cook my bacon til crisp then add the onions, etc. But great recipe!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 16, 2011

      I love these beans! ive made them once to the following the recipe and they were awesome... altered them a bit (to fit ingre on hand) and they didnt rock so much, but im making them tonight (but no bacon, just bacon drippings :( ) according to the recipe, and cant wait for them to be done!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 29, 2011

      Yum... I was concerned how much water to use, but I just used enough to cover by a couple of inches, and it was perfect. I used a couple of teaspoons of salt and they were delicious! Thanks.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 10, 2014

      These are fantastic! I have never attempted beans before, but wanted to make some for our fajita feast. I agree with another that the bacon should be cooked to a crisp prior to adding the other ingredients. Other than leaving out the beer, I followed the recipe. I will definitely be making these again!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 27, 2013

      These are the bomb!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Mexican Charro Beans

    Serving Size: 1 (249 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 6

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 355.0
     
    Calories from Fat 42
    11%
    Total Fat 4.7 g
    7%
    Saturated Fat 1.4 g
    7%
    Cholesterol 5.4 mg
    1%
    Sodium 83.7 mg
    3%
    Total Carbohydrate 56.3 g
    18%
    Dietary Fiber 13.4 g
    53%
    Sugars 4.9 g
    19%
    Protein 18.5 g
    37%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites