32 Reviews

I really enjoy reading the ways people change up the recipe. It is GREAT to have other options that people have tried and had success with. Thanks for posting all the great add on's or substitutions you make. It helps me a lot!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
mattsgran October 13, 2012

First of all, dear reviewers out there, when you review a recipe, make it for the actual recipe. When you add salsa and taco chips, substitute ground turkey for beef, add taco seasoning, etc., you are not reviewing the recipe!

I made this exactly as written, with no substituted ingredients, for my teenaged son (who needs to lose a few pounds) and myself. It is not a "casserole," which is baked in an oven, but more on the order of Hamburger Helper. It came out as a bland greyish mess, completely unappetizing, and like something that would be served on metal trays in a prison cafeteria. I would not recommend this to anyone. My son was a good sport and ate it, but said, "not my favorite, Mom." I ended up eating the leftovers at lunch for three days so I wouldn't waste the food or the money I spent at the grocery store. The ACTUAL Weight Watchers Mexican Casserole recipe looks pretty good, so I may try that one, but do yourselves a favor out there and do not make this!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Broadway Mom August 30, 2012

I really enjoyed this. I ate it with tortilla chips. DH thought it was okay, but he doesn't like to know he's "eating healthy" LOL. Anyway, I will be making this again. Thanks so much for sharing. Made for Please Review My Recipe Tag game.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
gertc96 July 08, 2010

Made this for me and my husband. I'm making him eat healthier. I though it was pretty good, but he thought it was just ok. Added some jalapeno sour cream to give it a bit of a kick for him. Would definitely make again, though!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Concoctionista March 24, 2010

Very good and filling! I used tomatoes w/jalapenos added and WW Mexican cheese. Delish! Thanks for sharing!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
ellie_ December 14, 2009

Awesome! I did add 1/2 of a 3oz can of jalepeno's to the recipe for just that added kick. We had smaller portions and made it into tacos but I could easily see leftovers served with lettuce for a taco salad for lunch. It filled my skillet, so it's more than enough for four - if not six. Also, may try adding Rosarita 98% Fat Free Spicy Refried beans - 2pts for 1/2 cp.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
larissameyer June 01, 2009

Wonderful comfort food. Instead of using sour cream I used 1/2 cup 1 % yougurt(plain) and 1% cottaged cheese - worked well. I didn't add any cheese at the end. We really enjoyed this dish- upped the chili a bit. Definately a do again recipe

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Bergy May 12, 2009

This was good and easy to make but next time I think I would add some seasoning to the ground beef like maybe some taco seasoning. I think my family would have enjoyed it a bit more also if it had some pasta in it. I followed the recipe exactly as written other then I used regular sour cream and cheddar cheese as that is what I had on hand.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
bmcnichol April 24, 2009

This was a very filling meal! Perfect for a weeknight fast meal! Thanks Sam! :)

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Redsie April 07, 2009
Mexican Casserole - Weight Watchers