110 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

Keeper! Since ground beef is running around $4# around here I've been subbing beans where I can. I did that here with excellent results. Sautee'd the onion, added the Refried Beans and seasoning. In a bowl I combined the sauce, soup and lots of extra chiles (we love them). Rather than layering I rolled like Burrito's and topped with sauce mixture and cheese. Baked for 25 minutes. Delicious! Thanks for sharing. ETA: I did not use the Taco Sauce. They were wet and creamy enough.

8 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
SloppyJoe August 30, 2011

This was a fabulous dish. We really enjoyed it and the leftovers just kept tasting better and better! We didn't have any enchilada sauce so we substituted with salsa. We completely enjoyed it and I have been sharing the recipe with others! Definately a keeper.

4 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Hop June 11, 2003

Made this for company. Hubby and brother-in-law raved about it. Definitely a winner that I will come back to. A few notes: 1) The picture does not look like I put much cheese on it & I really didn't; I put some cheese but put a block of cheese with a cheese grater on the table for folks to put the amount of cheese they wanted; 2) same with cilantro, I shredded cilantro and put it in a bowl as a topper; 3) I also put sour cream out for folks to add the amount of sour cream they wanted. Sides were mexicorn & jalapeno refried beans. I put tortilla chips out but folks did not want them. Hubby requested next time I do one-side tortilla chips instead of flour tortillas so I'll try that next time.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Tejas_Ruthie March 11, 2013

I made this for supper tonight. My husband said it was so good he could eat it for breakfast. Per other reviewers, I used 1 lb. of hamburger and 1 can of refried beans in the layers. I also added sliced jalapenos. It was spicy hot. Thanks for a super receipe Robin.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
schollsusan November 27, 2009

YUM! If you're craving Mexican, this will really hit the spot. Might be good with some beans, too. I didn't have enchilada sauce so I used Enchilada Sauce... it worked great. I also didn't have taco sauce so I used Taco Bell Taco Sauce - very good. I was also out of hamburger so I had to do away with our wonderful old cow, Besse ... Okay, now I'm lying. But I did do the sauces from scratch! Thanks for a great recipe we'll use again in the future.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Empire920 August 21, 2007

I love it, easy, fast, cheap. I found that a whole package of tortillas was too much so I only use half. It's a once a week dish at my house

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Kristal Johnson December 13, 2003

It was great. Husband and kids loved it.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Nancy Owen August 07, 2003

Loved this! Only had about 1lb of hamburger defrosted so I added a can of black beans to the meat layers and it turned out fabulous. Great flavor and very easy to do.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
stacylu March 25, 2003

This was a great recipe. So excited to make it again!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
monyango88 April 29, 2015

We enjoyed this. Very easy. Good flavor. Read the reviews to find a suggested baking time of 25 minutes and that was perfect! Thanks for the recipe and thanks to the othe reviewers!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
catmaniacs June 15, 2013
Mexican Casserole