Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Mexican Casserole Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Mexican Casserole

    Average Rating:

    109 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 109

    Sort by:

    • on August 30, 2011

      Keeper! Since ground beef is running around $4# around here I've been subbing beans where I can. I did that here with excellent results. Sautee'd the onion, added the Refried Beans and seasoning. In a bowl I combined the sauce, soup and lots of extra chiles (we love them). Rather than layering I rolled like Burrito's and topped with sauce mixture and cheese. Baked for 25 minutes. Delicious! Thanks for sharing. ETA: I did not use the Taco Sauce. They were wet and creamy enough.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 11, 2003

      This was a fabulous dish. We really enjoyed it and the leftovers just kept tasting better and better! We didn't have any enchilada sauce so we substituted with salsa. We completely enjoyed it and I have been sharing the recipe with others! Definately a keeper.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 11, 2013

      Made this for company. Hubby and brother-in-law raved about it. Definitely a winner that I will come back to. A few notes: 1) The picture does not look like I put much cheese on it & I really didn't; I put some cheese but put a block of cheese with a cheese grater on the table for folks to put the amount of cheese they wanted; 2) same with cilantro, I shredded cilantro and put it in a bowl as a topper; 3) I also put sour cream out for folks to add the amount of sour cream they wanted. Sides were mexicorn & jalapeno refried beans. I put tortilla chips out but folks did not want them. Hubby requested next time I do one-side tortilla chips instead of flour tortillas so I'll try that next time.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 27, 2009

      I made this for supper tonight. My husband said it was so good he could eat it for breakfast. Per other reviewers, I used 1 lb. of hamburger and 1 can of refried beans in the layers. I also added sliced jalapenos. It was spicy hot. Thanks for a super receipe Robin.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 21, 2007

      YUM! If you're craving Mexican, this will really hit the spot. Might be good with some beans, too. I didn't have enchilada sauce so I used Enchilada Sauce... it worked great. I also didn't have taco sauce so I used Taco Bell Taco Sauce - very good. I was also out of hamburger so I had to do away with our wonderful old cow, Besse ... Okay, now I'm lying. But I did do the sauces from scratch! Thanks for a great recipe we'll use again in the future.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 13, 2003

      I love it, easy, fast, cheap. I found that a whole package of tortillas was too much so I only use half. It's a once a week dish at my house

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 07, 2003

      It was great. Husband and kids loved it.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 25, 2003

      Loved this! Only had about 1lb of hamburger defrosted so I added a can of black beans to the meat layers and it turned out fabulous. Great flavor and very easy to do.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 15, 2013

      We enjoyed this. Very easy. Good flavor. Read the reviews to find a suggested baking time of 25 minutes and that was perfect! Thanks for the recipe and thanks to the othe reviewers!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 28, 2013

      Great casserole. Very easy to make and yummy going down.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 26, 2013

    • on November 23, 2012

      Delicious! My little 2 year old loved this! I used only 1 lb of meat and substituted ground turkey to make it healthier. I also used fat free soup. I think the only change I would make is next time leave out the green chiles. It's a keeper -- thank you for sharing!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 31, 2012

      For being so quick and easy, this was pretty darn good. I doubled the enchilada sauce and almost doubled the taco sauce over top and I'm glad that I did because it would have been too dry for me as written. I also added chopped cilantro over the last layer of cheese. I like a previous reviewer's mention of using beans in place of ground beef. Worth a try! Thanx!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 24, 2012

      This dish was great! I followed the recipe but added black olives and sliced jalapenos to my layers. I also used turkey meat and spinach tortillas. We will definitely be included this in our rotation. Thanks for sharing!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 25, 2011

      Very good! I did use corn shells & fried them in a bit of oil before cutting into triangles but otherwise kept to the recipe. I have a similar recipe but it does not use enchilada sauce & I think that is a good addition. We really enjoyed this! Thanks for posting :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 13, 2011

      This stuff is the bomb! Made almost exactly like the recipe. Added some chopped olives to the top, under the cheese. And used the new Roasted Taco Bell Taco Sauce drizzled on top. Definitely adding to cookbook!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 05, 2011

      very yummy! I used cream of mushroom with roasted garlic, and all other ingredients! it came out perfect! a true authentic tasting mexican dish! it you are from the south and have traveled through jackson,ms you will recognize that the dish takes very much like hot tamales!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 28, 2011

      My hubby gives it 5 stars - right up there with the orange chicken he likes so much! That right there is saying quite a lot. I myself am not wowed by mexican dishes, but this dish does pass the test for easiness. The only thing that I didn't like about this recipe was that the baking time wasn't listed. I baked mine at 375 degrees for 25 minutes and it turned out well. We made everything exactly as the recipe states and in addition to, I heated up the tortillas separately, stacked on a pizza sheet in the oven for a crispier taste. My husband complemented me on the perfectly spicy flavor (not too hot, not too mild). Will definitely be making again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 25, 2010

      This is so good and my family loves it! I wouldn't change a thing. Thanks for the post!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 16, 2010

    « Previous 1 2 3 4 5 6

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Mexican Casserole

    Serving Size: 1 (352 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 8

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 709.7
     
    Calories from Fat 348
    49%
    Total Fat 38.7 g
    59%
    Saturated Fat 17.4 g
    87%
    Cholesterol 121.6 mg
    40%
    Sodium 1940.7 mg
    80%
    Total Carbohydrate 49.9 g
    16%
    Dietary Fiber 3.9 g
    15%
    Sugars 8.0 g
    32%
    Protein 38.9 g
    77%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes