Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Mexican Calabacitas Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Mexican Calabacitas

    Average Rating:

    9 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-9 of 9

    Sort by:

    • on January 31, 2008

      One of my favorite side dishes - and very flexible. I've used all kinds of summer squash (whatever's ripe or available at the farmers' market). And I seldom finish it off in the oven, settling instead for doing it all on the stove top. I frequently use a chili-based Penzy's seasoning blend instead of the poblano chili. Thanks Sue, for a great starting-off point to guide my cooking. And now, my apologies for reviewing a recipe I didn't follow. My purpose was to encourage others not dismiss it if you're short on an ingredient or time. At least I didn't say "I followed the recipe to a T, except, except, except."

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 29, 2010

      I enjoyed this very much! I used 2 hatch chiles instead of poblano, and it was great. Used cheddar, but I think next time I will try 1/2 cheddar and 1/2 queso fresco. Thanks for posting!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 30, 2008

      I made this with recipe 279162 for supper and they complimented each other nicely! This was a great healthy Mexican side dish. I used 1/2 of a poblano because I'm not used to cooking with it and wasn't sure of the heat. Next time I'll definitely use 1 whole chile. I sprinkled some cumin and garlic salt to the mixture while it was sauteeing. This would be great with black beans added to it.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 07, 2013

      Very tasty. I used a jalapeno instead of poblano, and it still turned out great. Thank you.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 10, 2008

      This was ok. It wasn't overly exciting for us and I had quite a bit left over. I added a can of chicken broth and a few seasonings to the leftovers and it made a delicious soup. Even though we didn't think the original recipe was awesome, it led to another good meal. Thanks for sharing.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 07, 2007

      This was the side dish I served with steak Grilled Steaks (Or Chops) With Chipotle Butter. This squash was so good. This was the first time we have tried squash prepared this way. I couldn't find queso fresco cheese so used cheddar. I could eat this as a main dish. Will make again. Thanks Sue L. Bullwinkle

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 21, 2005

      this was the perfect thing for me to bring to a Mexican potluck yesterday. I used yellow squash, added cilantro, and substituted jalapeno plus green pepper for the poblano. It was very tasty, and one that will go into my keeper file!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 29, 2004

      Another great recipe, no surprise, from SueL! I had a dinner party last night with a Southwest/Mexican theme; this dish was very pretty and tasted great. I couldn't find poblanos to save my life, so I substituted a gorgeous orange jalapeno that I had. This is fancy enough for company, easy enough for every day! Thanks, Sue!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 16, 2004

      This was very good and a nice change from the traditional rice and beans. I will make this again, cutting back on the garlic slightly.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Mexican Calabacitas

    Serving Size: 1 (196 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 115.2
     
    Calories from Fat 36
    31%
    Total Fat 4.0 g
    6%
    Saturated Fat 0.5 g
    2%
    Cholesterol 0.0 mg
    0%
    Sodium 307.6 mg
    12%
    Total Carbohydrate 19.5 g
    6%
    Dietary Fiber 3.4 g
    13%
    Sugars 5.0 g
    20%
    Protein 3.7 g
    7%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    queso fresco

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites