22 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

I suggest specifying unbleached flour, the rolls turned out great, put steam in the oven by ice cubes in the broiler pan, in the bottom; adds to the crispness of the roll.

6 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Don Schueler March 06, 2003

Great!!! I'm not a good one with dough, but they turned out fine. I followed the rise time, but I think I should have let the dough rise more. Will try again. It's hard to find true bolillos here.

5 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
chattycathy642 November 14, 2002

Yum! Thanks so much for the recipe Bergy! I've been feeling all mexico-y lately, eating fresh corn tortillas and pineapple, and all that was missing was the bolillos... these have the perfect flavour and texture, just like the real thing :) I was a bit worried about the dough, as it took forever to rise, but all was well in the end. Also, I could only get 8 small rolls out of it - I will definately double the recipe next time. The dough was a pleasure to work with, and the rolls were a pleasure to eat. Thankyou!!!

5 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
pollen April 18, 2002

I made no changes to this recipe and they turned out delicious. The dough was so soft and the house smelled incredible while these baked! They bolillos were still soft a few days later, definitely a new favorite recipe!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
peanutswifelin January 01, 2011

Another fine Bergy recipe made with tremendous success and rave reviews. I used a KitchenAid stand up mixer to prep the dough and my husband declared my version of bolillos is better than the ones I usually purchase down the road at the Mexican bakery. Served with my posted molletes recipe and you can be sure I will make another batch soon! Thank you!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
COOKGIRl September 09, 2010

SO good! I didn't use the cornstarch mixture, instead opting to spray with water before, and mid-bake. I made two batches and only sprayed one, and the one that I didn't spray actually came out with a much crisper crust! If you are opting to forgo the cornstarch, I would not recommend plain water in place. Overall, these bolillos are incredible! They are super soft and chewy on the inside, and crispy on the outside, just like the ones in Mexican bakeries.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Ana M. March 06, 2014

Thanks! I also tried your recipe and the rolls turned out very great. I didn't use the cornstarch mixture to glaze them, I just put water to steam in the oven and they really were crispy . I also tried with whole-wheat flour: great!! Thanks again

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Sandrakavital October 11, 2005

These were awesome. Only problem I had was covering the rolls with plastic wrap to rise. Plastic wrap stuck to the dough which made them collapse . Any suggestions? Thanks

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
lorribielski January 29, 2015

One thing there's not enough in this world...homemade bread. (nod your head up and down)

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
gailanng January 08, 2015

I want to know if it's bread flour or AP flour that's being used and how many ounces of Active Dry Yeast I need. Someone please help :)

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Roxxy Nox June 13, 2012
Mexican Bolillos, Crusty Oval Rolls