Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Mexican Black Beans Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Mexican Black Beans

    Average Rating:

    46 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 46

    Sort by:

    • on September 07, 2009

      So tasty! My husband loved it. The lime juice is a must and serving it with additional slices of lime is a good idea. I didn't have a jalapeno, so I added ortega diced chiles. Will definitely make this again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 27, 2010

      Fantastic Beans! I have made this recipe many times since 02/2009. However, to give it that extra wow factor I add 1/2 chopped sweet onion, 1 packet of Sazon Goya Mexican seasoning packet and I use low sodium chicken broth. Very authentic.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 20, 2011

      So easy and delicious! I made this for a party and everyone raved about it. Goes well with mexcian dishes. I omitted the jalapeno and it still had a great taste. It sounds too easy and simple but is actually very good and tastes like you went to a lot of trouble! I will definitely make this again.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 17, 2013

      This was an easy recipe to prepare and they taste great! I love black beans over all others so this was a no brainer for me to try. Thank you for sharing with us. We loved it.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 26, 2013

      Great and simple bean recipe! The only change I made was using jalapenos in a jar instead of a fresh one. I don't think I'll ever eat traditional refried beans again! Also, it's great cold (or warm) with tortilla chips as a bean dip.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 26, 2012

      Great recipe! I made it as written and thoroughly enjoyed these beans. We had enchiladas and rice to go with them. What a delight. Thanks for sharing. Made for ZWT 8.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 12, 2012

      I love black beans, and these are tasty! I added a bit more jalapeno and cheese (and maybe cumin of course just for my taste)...these are delish. I'll revisit them for sure! Thanks for sharing! *Made for ZWT8 2012*

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 01, 2012

      Flavorful and delicious. Great little kick from the jalapeno, and the addition of cilantro and lime juice add a nice pop. Thanks for sharing! ZWT8

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 05, 2012

      I followed another reviewers suggestion and added 1/2 chopped sweet onion and 1 packet of Sazon Goya Mexican seasoning packet. My family loved this. We served with chicken tacos and corn off the cob.

      Read more: http://www.food.com/recipe/mexican-black-beans-179877#ixzz1zmY4atUj

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 17, 2012

      Another wonderful dish by lazme! I cut the recipe in half and I did add some minced onion but otherwise followed the instructions. Yummy! Next time I might try using pinto beans for DH but I loved the recipe and we had none left. Thank you for submitting.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 22, 2012

      Very tasty and very easy. These would be a perfect side to a Mexican main dish. As it was, I had to change my main dish recipe based on available ingredients and served the beans with veggie burgers. The beans reheat well and I enjoyed leftovers as part of my lunch today. I will be making these again. Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 22, 2012

      I had to tell everyone else to step away from the beans.....they were all mine! Delicious! I used a jalapeno I put up from the ones I grew this summer instead of fresh, and had to use dried cilantro because my fresh in the fridge didn't look too good. Even using sub-par ingredients didn't lessen the taste of this recipe! Thanks for sharing a delicious, easy recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 06, 2011

      Yummy! These beans were amazing! I especially liked the cheese on top and the flavor of the lime. I've been looking for a perfect "refried" bean recipe for a while now and I think this is it! I did omit the cilantro (didn't look to healthy at the store) but the beans didn't seem to be missing anything. Made for PRMR.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 24, 2010

      Love these black beans! I've made them many times and they are always the highlight of the meal. You gotta make them!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 06, 2010

      Great taste! Left out the jalapeno and added 1/4 cup jar salsa at the end, ran it through the blender and made a mild bean dip for my daughter's kindergarten class!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 19, 2010

      Delish! Just like a mexican restaurant.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 09, 2010

      Except for cooking my own beans instead of using canned, I made this recipe exactly as written. Though we love black beans, these were a disappointment.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 24, 2010

    • on October 19, 2009

      Outstanding beans. I made them as a side dish to my burros and they were terrifically authentic. A must try. Thanks for posting the recipe. I prepared them as directed with the exception of backing down to half of a jalepeno because I'm a wuss.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 18, 2009

      Fantastic!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2 3

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Mexican Black Beans

    Serving Size: 1 (209 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 6

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 241.3
     
    Calories from Fat 80
    33%
    Total Fat 8.9 g
    13%
    Saturated Fat 4.1 g
    20%
    Cholesterol 16.7 mg
    5%
    Sodium 328.2 mg
    13%
    Total Carbohydrate 25.5 g
    8%
    Dietary Fiber 9.0 g
    36%
    Sugars 0.4 g
    1%
    Protein 15.3 g
    30%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes